Search for Databases by Keyword
PowerSearch the Gale Databases. News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Art Index Retrospective provides peer-reviewed journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published between 1929 and 1984. An in-depth record of contemporary art history. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of high-resolution images of art, architecture, and archaeological artifacts. Each image is accompanied by descriptive information. The Auraria Library's subscription to ARTstor also offers ArchiVision (architecture) and Shared Shelf (images created and shared by campus faculty). ARTstor includes an OIV (offline image viewer). Images may be viewed and analyzed in the OIV, using features such as zooming, panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared use, or creating presentations to be delivered either online or offline. Some functionalities of ArtStor including creating folders and using the OIV are only available on laptop or desktop computer.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index." Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
Learn societal and cultural details of hundreds of nations through country-specific reports. With maps, data, photos and videos local experts document details of each country's customs, traditions, religion, and daily life including such aspects as typical greetings, marriage customs, foods eaten, music and holidays celebrated. Less detailed reports are supplied for the U.S. States and Canadian Provinces. Build your own comparison tables and graphs about international cultures.
Contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent. Many of these primary sources supply descriptions of North America's natural features and interactions among various cultural groups. Searchable by place, year, peoples, cultural/ personal events, flora, fauna, and other factors. Supplies unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples and officials, both men and women.
Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions worldwide. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Ethnographic materials covering all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
This Project, a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan, is a digital archive of ethnographic videos representing religious, ethnic, and cultural groups worldwide. The collection is designed to be a long-term preservation repository for unedited ethnographic video recordings. Content includes music, dance, everyday life, important events, and interviews. To access the videos, please create a user account. For faster sign-up, please create your account while on the Auraria campus.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
The National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine archive from 1888 to the present along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos, including the advertisements and letters to the editor.