Search for Databases by Keyword
A multi-label database of recordings for listening and learning. Covers music from medieval times to the present. Also provides biographies and images of composers and a concise history of music by period. (Time periods covered include medieval, renaissance, baroque, pre-classical, classical, romantic, late-romantic, 20th century, and 21st century.) Music is streamed, so off-campus users need to have a minimum of a 56K modem to hear music uninterrupted by buffering. Mobile enabled.
Music Index covers international music periodicals and covers all styles and genres of music. It focuses on peer-reviewed publications, and also cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, as well as news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Formerly titled International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMPFT), the Music Database contains detailed abstracts and full text content of articles in music publications from both peer-reviewed and popular sources.
Naxos Music Library Jazz (NMLJ) is a streaming audio database that offers an extensive selection of music from jazz legends and contemporary jazz. Includes recordings and discographies of artists and musicians and groups. New albums are added weekly. Users can create playlists. Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
Naxos Music Library (NML) is an online music library offering streaming access to classical, jazz, and world music labels including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, Naxos, ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. It also contains film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content as well as spoken word (radio shows), and nature sounds (see the classical genre list). Users can create playlists. Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
Opera in Video is a near-comprehensive collection of Western operas, captured on video Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The database also includes interviews and documentaries on opera. Users can view operas in their entirety or scene by scene, read transcripts, and select and share clips.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Includes streaming videos with commentary and samples of music.
Use RILM to discover writings on music from a variety of resources, including journals, essay collections, dissertations, books, reference materials. Coverage includes diverse topics ranging from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, and from elementary music education to advanced music theory.
An international bibliography of scholarly writings and primary source documents (journal articles, reviews, news columns and advertisements) on 19th century musical history and culture including ethnomusicology, genres of music, history of musicology, instruments, music theory, notation, performance practice, theory and analysis. RIPM primarily provides abstracts; users may request copies of articles through interlibrary loan.
RBP is a monster database of rock journalism online. It is an archive of legendary interviews, classic features, and groundbreaking reviews by the best rock writers of all time. Interviews and reviews cover thousands of artists from Elvis Presley to Eminem, the Rolling Stones to the Stone Roses, and AC/DC to Amy Winehouse. Both popular and obscure artists get their due here. Enjoy!
SingersBabel offers tools to help you learn the meaning and pronunciation of texts found in oratorios, secular and sacred choral music, cantatas, art songs, and song cycles. Hear a native speaker reciting the text while seeing the original text, word-for-word translation, and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) Guide in the BabelGuide™.