Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index." Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
Explores, in a full text report, a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Past topics are also available. Topics range from social and political issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Citations, summaries and/or full text of U.S. & international journal articles, books, dissertations, papers, and government and other reports, on many criminal justice topics. Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some data sets are available without subscription. Some datasets are available to the public. You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data.
Use International Historical Statistics to find economic, financial, and social statistics for worldwide countries and territories, often spanning centuries and beginning as early as 1750. Find data for Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania including countries whose borders have changed. Within each region are chapters on population demographics, vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel files with the ability to merge tables and edit text.
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers over 250 periodical publications + many classic texts.
Statistical data series created from more than 200,000 government and non-government datasets. Covers a wide range of business, societal and scientific topics including crime, employment and labor, economy, energy, health, households and housing, immigration, religion, transportation, environment and agriculture.
Create and save demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000.Tip: Start with the maps and tables.