Search for Databases by Keyword
Full access to American newspapers, magazines, and other primary source materials, from the 19th and 18th centuries. Titles include a collection of African American newspapers, the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), a number of South Carolina newspapers, The Liberator (1831-1865), and Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898. Books include a large collection of county histories, Civil War memoirs, regimental histories, and more.
PowerSearch the Gale Databases. News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
America's Historical Imprints makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
America history and life is an index to journal articles, books and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. For articles on the history of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-4. Series 1 (1691-1820) includes works imported by the colonists, to later titles published on American soil; Series 2 (1821-1837) represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history; Series 3 (1838-1852) reveals a rapidly growing nation; and Series 4 (1853-1865) focuses on the Civil War. Each series also contains news of daily life and broad subject matter, including writings on science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, entertainment, politics, and religion.
Cross-search primary source materials related to colonial America and the early Republic. Includes the papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, Dolley Madison, James Madison, Dolley Madison, John Marshall, George Washington, and others, as well as a Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Enter to see the collections available through Auraria Library.
The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Native Americans from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. The primary source documents in this collection includes maps, atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, and more drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library. Cross-searchable with the Library's subscription to The American West collection.
Presents digitized American magazine and journal articles published from colonial days to 1900. The subject content is varied. Sample contents include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine; America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the debate over slavery; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking publications like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s extraordinary holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years. Long awaited in fully searchable form, The American Slavery Collection addresses every facet of American slavery—one of the most important and controversial topics in U.S. history. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Auraria Library owns two of the "Archives Unbound" collections which were digitized from microfilm collections. Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life documents daily life in the forced U.S. internment camps. Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 presents writings and images representing the arduous travels of an estimated half a million settlers who crossed the U.S. West on trails spanning the time of the earliest wagon trains to the building of the transcontinental railroad in 1869.
Index to more than 11 million biographical sketches. Content is pulled from over thousands of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures worldwide. Some content is linked to full text.
Full text coverage of Denver's daily newspaper from June 1989 to the present. Current paper issues are housed with 1st Floor Journals. Denver Post content is also available on microfilm, on the Library's second floor, for all issues from 1895.
Written by academic specialists, the signed and original articles in this resource range from 100-word definitions to 7,000-word essays. Topics range from specific places, incidents, and institutions to broadly sweeping concepts, covering all aspects of American history and daily life including sports, diplomacy, labor, art, economics, wars, institutions, legends, places, scandals, Acts of Congress, cultural icons, government agencies and much more. Illustrations and maps are also included.
Contains more than 100,000 U.S. Government documents containing information on critical world events, foreign relations, and U.S. policy writings from post-World War II through the 21st century. Diverse contents include presidential directives, memos, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and more. There are also glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs.Most contents were previously classified and unavailable.
Bibliographic citations to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from graduate schools and universities. Indexes from 1861 onward, provides abstracts from 1980 onward, and supplies 24-page previews from 1997 until the present. Includes full-text of the University of Colorado Systems dissertations on Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System. Once you have identified the dissertation or thesis of interest, use the Interlibrary Loan link to borrow a copy.