Search for Databases by Keyword
PowerSearch the Gale Databases. News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Index to more than 11 million biographical sketches. Content is pulled from over thousands of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures worldwide. Some content is linked to full text.
This collection presents full text manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. The resources have been indexed to provide ready accessibility for users by person, place and subject. An interactive map encourages searches by city and region.
A full text, searchable collection of historical documents from the UK National Archives. Covers such important events as the 19th century Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Suez Crisis in 1956, the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Contents include letters, telegrams, dispatches describing important personalities or economic analysis, and large volumes, or texts of treaties. All items originally marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Defining Gender, subtitled "Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online," includes primary sources from the Bodleian Library, including ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons, pamphlets, diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books, and periodicals.
Contains more than 100,000 U.S. Government documents containing information on critical world events, foreign relations, and U.S. policy writings from post-World War II through the 21st century. Diverse contents include presidential directives, memos, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and more. There are also glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs.Most contents were previously classified and unavailable.
Bibliographic citations to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from graduate schools and universities. Indexes from 1861 onward, provides abstracts from 1980 onward, and supplies 24-page previews from 1997 until the present. Includes full-text of the University of Colorado Systems dissertations on Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System. Once you have identified the dissertation or thesis of interest, use the Interlibrary Loan link to borrow a copy.
Ethnographic materials covering all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
A rich resource for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including the American and French revolutions, British and European literature, theatre and popular entertainment, politics and religion, popular morality and social life, and exoticism and imperialism. It offers a wide variety of fully searchable newspapers and periodicals unavailable elsewhere.
The original documents in this collection related to Empire Studies span five centuries and chart the rise and fall of empires, including the history of British imperialism and colonization. Topics range from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others through decolonization in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American imperialism. Documents include manuscripts, rare printed materials, periodicals, diaries, letters, and photographs with writings by both women and men from European and non-European perspectives. Useful secondary materials include essays from leading academics in the field, interactive maps, images, and chronologies detailing cultural, economic, and political aspects of numerous empires.
English Historical Documents (EHD) is an annotated collection of full text primary source documents on British history covering the years 500 -1914, plus American history to 1776, all selected by historians. The widely varying sSo Primary sources include personal and official letters and diaries, statutes, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, pamphlets, sermons, and more. Each section of the documents and many of the documents themselves are accompanied by Editorial commentary is included. to supply context. Topics range from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious, and cultural history.
Guide/bibliography to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. It broadly covers the history of European exploration and the European encounter with native peoples. Among topics covered are: commerce, discovery, various ethnic and national groups, Jesuits, piracy, and slavery.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files, this resource covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in this period with additional content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. The threat posed by China and the Soviet Union is analyzed in detail. Other files look at the impact on The United Kingdom, U.S. and European trade, foreign relations, industrial policy, education and the media. Primary sources include diplomatic dispatches, telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, meeting minutes, conference proceedings, letters, and other ephemera. The Library has access to the first of the three sections in the database: Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964.
Full text database that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas providing perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Global Commodities provides visual, manuscript and printed materials from key libraries, companies and trade organizations around the world. These original sources record the history of fifteen major commodities (Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Opium, Oil, Porcelain, Silver and Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, Wine, and Spirits) that have changed the world.
Full text and/or cited references to scholarly literature (articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions) from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites for virtually all subject areas. Resources available to Auraria Library users have a link labeled "Auraria Library Resources".
Covering both U.S. and world history, the History Reference Center contains full text historical documents and articles from reference books, history magazines, journals, and newspapers. Additionally, it provides timelines, biographies, maps, photos, and video clips.