Search for Databases by Keyword
Audiobooks in most subject categories. To download these audio books you must create and be logged into a free personal account and have specific software installed. Download directions.Note: Limited to one simultaneous user.
This streaming video collection contains these Shakespeare plays, all with closed captions available: All's Well that Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, As You Like It, The Comedy of Errors, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Henry IV - Parts 1 & 2, Henry V, Henry VI - Parts 1, 2, & 3, Henry VII, Julius Caesar, King John, King Lear, Love's Labour's Lost, Macbeth, Measure for Measure, Merchant of Venice, Merry Wives of Windsor, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Much Ado About Nothing, Othello, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, Romeo & Juliet, Taming of the Shrew, The Tempest, Timon of Athens, Titus Andronicus, Troilus & Cressida, Twelfth Night, and Two Gentlemen of Verona.
A multi-label database of recordings for listening and learning. Covers music from medieval times to the present. Also provides biographies and images of composers and a concise history of music by period. (Time periods covered include medieval, renaissance, baroque, pre-classical, classical, romantic, late-romantic, 20th century, and 21st century.) Music is streamed, so off-campus users need to have a minimum of a 56K modem to hear music uninterrupted by buffering. Mobile enabled.
Online collection of videos (CTIV) available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes counseling sessions/demonstrations, consultations, interviews, lectures and presentations. Online transcripts and video clip-making tools are also provided.
This multi-subject database supplies hundreds of streaming video documentaries from such distributors as Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Terra Nova Films, Fanlight, Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV, National Film Board of Canada, and others, on topics in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, arts, and professional studies.
Award-winning streaming video documentaries including coverage of race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, dance, literature, and more. Synchronized, searchable transcripts run alongside each video.Users can create, annotate, and organize clips.and include links to other content. Permanent URLs let users cite and share whole videos, playlists, and custom clips.
Online 24/7 access to more than 22,000 educational films and 229,000 video clips covering a wide spectrum of subject disciplines. Many of these streaming videos are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments. Tens of thousands of streaming educational videos and clips, covering most subject disciplines. The majority are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments.
JoVE is both a journal, Journal of Visualized Experiments, and a database, JoVE Science Education Database, of filmed experiments, published (peer-reviewed) in video format to make visible the subtle, intricate techniques involved in research. Subjects covered include biology, neurosciences, medicine, bioengineering, engineering, genetics, cancer research, immunology and infection, chemistry, behavior, environment, developmental biology, biochemistry, psychology, and clinical skills JoVE journal articles are indexed in PubMed Central.
Find videos ranging from documentaries and educational programming, worldwide, on a wealth of topics, to silent and foreign feature films. Distributors include The Teaching Company, Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, and others.
The National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine archive from 1888 to the present along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos, including the advertisements and letters to the editor.
Naxos Music Library Jazz (NMLJ) is a streaming audio database that offers an extensive selection of music from jazz legends and contemporary jazz. Includes recordings and discographies of artists and musicians and groups. New albums are added weekly. Users can create playlists. Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
Naxos Music Library (NML) is an online music library offering streaming access to classical, jazz, and world music labels including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, Naxos, ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. It also contains film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content as well as spoken word (radio shows), and nature sounds (see the classical genre list). Users can create playlists. Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
An extensive and growing collection of news programming of two to six minute streaming videos from the NBC News archives reaching back nearly a century. NBC Learn includes stories (full transcripts and closed captioning) from NBC Nightly News, the TODAY show, and Meet the Press, and programming from MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo networks. Video may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments. Download a special player to view videos offline.
Opera in Video is a near-comprehensive collection of Western operas, captured on video Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The database also includes interviews and documentaries on opera. Users can view operas in their entirety or scene by scene, read transcripts, and select and share clips.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Includes streaming videos with commentary and samples of music.
Provides access to streaming training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction. The majority of the videos show leading practitioners conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre- and post-discussions.