Class Guide
Early Childhood Education
CCD ECE 101 Tobey Stein, Instructor
This guide lists only a few of the Auraria Library’s resources. The library has two categories of materials students and practitioners of early childhood education will find useful. There are books on pedagogy for teachers as well as curriculum and reading materials for children. Check our Skyline catalog for such subjects as “early childhood education,” “child development,” “preschool children,” or “play groups.” To locate kid's books on a particular topic, add the words juvenile literature to the subject line. You may want to take a walk through call letters LT, LB1000-1100 and HQ777-778. You will find such titles as Investigating Play in the 21st Century (2nd Floor HQ782 .I62 2007) as well as Caldecott and other award winning books for children. For a more detailed list of subject classification or additional information, please consult the guides on the left side of this page.
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND HANDBOOKS
Reference books cover subjects briefly or broadly to give you topics “in a nutshell”. They can be useful in helping you select a topic or to familiarize yourself with a subject. Here are just a few notable reference titles you may find helpful…
Early Childhood Education: an international encyclopedia (REF LB1139.23 .E272 2007)
Biographical Dictionary of American Educators (REF LA2311.B54)
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development (LB15 .E473 2005)
Literacy in America (REF LC151 . L487)
FULL-TEXT DATABASES AND INDEXING SERVICES FOR JOURNAL ARTICLES
MULTI-SUBJECT INDEXES
The multi-subject indexes are appropriate for undergraduates, have full text articles, and the library is more likely to own the physical journal if full text is not available. To access Academic Search Premiere, OneFile, or Lexis/Nexis, click on Research Tools on the library home page. Then select Databases from the pull-down menu. The multi-subject indexes are highlighted in pale blue.
OTHER USEFUL DATABASES
To navigate to these databases, click on Research Tools on the library home page, select Databases from the pull-down menu. Type the name of the database on the blank line captioned “database by title”. Caution! This blank line is not for your topic.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)(Multiple sources)
Over 1.1 million abstracts of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center, and full-text of over 100,000 ED documents from 1993- . Future additions to the collection may include audio and video materials.
ERIC (CONTINUED)
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available.
EBSCO Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available.
ERIC Direct access to the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.
|
|
Education Full Text(WilsonWeb)
Leading publications in the field of education (over 700 journals). Updates monthly. Formerly known as Education Abstracts Full Text and as Education Index. Note that not all of the journals covered in this database are available online, full-text.
Coverage:abstracts 1983-, full text 1996- |
|
PsycINFO(Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines.
Coverage:1840-
JOURNALS
In addition to full-text articles brought to you by the vendors above, the Auraria Library subscribes to such journals as:
Journal of Early Childhood Research (online)
Contemporary issues in Early Childhood (online)
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy (online)
WEB RESOURCES
Awesome Stories(Awesome Stories)
Awesome Stories gathers primary-source materials and presents them in the context of a ‘story’ as a means of presenting subject-related links together in an interesting, cohesive way. Resources are from national archives, libraries, universities, and government web sites.
Pics4Learning(Tech4Learning)
A copyright-friendly image library for teachers and students. The Pics4Learning collection consists of thousands of images that have been donated by students, teachers, and amateur photographers. Pics4Learning is developed as part of the Partners in Education program by Tech4Learning, and the Orange County Public Schools Technology Development Unit.
Note:Unrestricted access
Educator's Reference Desk(Information Institute of Syracuse)
The Educator's Reference Desk provides access to the following resources: links to over 3000 resources on a variety of educational issues including internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups, more than 2000 unique lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States
About Your Library Instructor
Tobey Stein was certificated in Secondary Education and Media by the University of Colorado Denver. She has worked in the Children's Library of the Jefferson County and Westminster public libraries.
Her email is Tobey.Stein@cudenver.edu. You may contact her with questions about library-based assignments or library related questions.
|