skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

keyboard
 
CCD - English

Three Rules: (1) 20-Minute Rule; (2) Library Homepage;    (3) Save Your Citations
Housekeeping: Check Your Library Account
Inter-library loan:  Setting up your ILL Account

Getting Ready for Research - Take the Library Orientation Tour
(1) Library Map - 1st Floor; (2) Library Map - 2nd Floor; (3) Wireless Access
(4) Access from Off-Campus

Mapping Out Your Research Plan

The starting place for your library research is with the "research question." A well-focused question is essential for an effective search of article databases and library catalogs. Think about your topic:

  • How much do you know about your topic?
  • What are some keywords or phrases used to describe your topic?
  • Is your topic often covered by the News Media?
  • What personal interest do you have in your topic?
  • Do you have any strong philosophical, political or religious Views?

Your answers to these questions are important. They will influence how you will use different resources from general news accounts to in-depth academic journals to recently published books. Remember, If you need assistance please ask at the Reference desk or go online with Ask a Librarian or AskColorado.

 

Finding Books and Journals

Search Concepts  (Keywords, Boolean, Wildcard and Proximity Searching)

Style Guides

MLA Style Sheet [abridged version]            MLA Style [Electronic Formats]


Statistics

Statistics Resource Guide

 

Article Databases: [ Searching Multiple Journals At Once]

You can search for articles using databases or indexes. Many provide the full text of the article. Most databases can be accessed 24/7.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

OneFile (includes Expanded Academic)
(Infotrac)

Westlaw (Campus Research)

Journal Searching  [Single Journals]

Do a Journal Finder Search in Skyline. If Auraria owns the title, try an Online search!

Journal Finder

 

Scoping Out Your Research Project:

America's Newspapers [Newsbank]

Ethnic Newswatch [ProQuest]

CQ Researcher

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Bills and Legislation in the U.S. Congress [www.thomas.gov]

GAO [U S Government Accountability Office]

Public Affairs Information Service [PAIS]

Class Guides, Subject Guides, General Guides [a few examples]

Women's Studies

Public Affairs

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites:

(1) Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply and Questions to Ask (by Joe Barker, University of California at Berkeley)

(2) The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: Why Its a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources (by Susan Beck, New Mexico State University Library).

Thinking About Colorado Resources

The Colorado Historical Society; Western History Department of the Denver Public Library; the Colorado State Demography Office; the Colorado Legislative Research Council; the Colorado Digitization Project; the telephone directory, experts in your area of inquiry, listservs on the Internet, brainstorming with your colleagues and professors and your Auraria Reference Librarian!

QUESTIONS? Come to the reference desk or contact us at (303-556-2585) or e-mail me at:  William.Tietjen@cudenver.edu

Good luck with your research!                 Return to Top
 
end of page