skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

photo of Auraria Library in snow by Jeffrey Beall. Image posted on Flickr
 
PSY235 Human Growth and Development

A few tips for less frustration:

  • Know something about your topic. Read about it. Even just a little knowledge will help you know where to look for information.
  • The more specific the research question, the easier your search will be.
  • Revise your search often! It takes little time and the results can be really exciting.
  • Search many databases. Try some that don't seem likely. An engineering database? Why not.
  • Start your research early! That way you can procrastinate later.
  • Ask a librarian for help.

Searching databases for articles, the quick start method.

1. Click on More Search Options from the library home page.
2. Find databases by topic: select psychology from the pull down menu.
3. Pick any database, PsycInfo is the largest. PsycARTICLES and Psychology Sage are small but good.

Once in a database, start searching by entering a few terms.

3. Revise your search by trying different terms or switch to another database.
4. Collect your articles by saving the full text or the citation to your computer (or drive).

Top picks for a database search in Psychology: PsycInfo, PsycARTICLES, ScienceDirect, Medline.

The most effective database searches

You can save time and get better information by learning how to apply Boolean logic and making use of descriptors in your online searches.  All online databases use some form of Boolean logic.

  • Boolean Logic allows you to combine keywords to make a search more precise.  The three combinations are:  AND, OR, NOT

Here's what a search might look for if you wanted articles on the neurological characteristics of Asperger's syndrome. This search is in the PsycInfo database. What words did I not use? Why?

Follow the search tips provided in the database to create an even better search. Use wildcards (*) and search tools such as the thesaurus and alert services. We will go over some of this in class, but not near enough! So, play will all the features that you see listed on the screen.

Where is it and can I get it?  
 
Skyline Books, DVD's, Government Publications, Titles of journals, magazines, etc.
Prospector Books/e-books/journals/videos in other major Front Range libraries
Goldrush What databases index a journal on my topic and where are articles most likely to be available full text online
Library of Congress Classification Call Number BF for Psychology. RC for mental health, counseling, therapy
Interlibrary Loan If we don't have it - we will get it for you. Free. You just have to create a user account and let us know what you need.

 

Finding the Article

Many scholarly journal articles are not full text online. Others may be available full text, but not through PsycInfo. Use Goldrush and Skyline to determine availability of the article. Some journals are only available online, these will be indicated in Skyline (example). Other journals are only available in the library. These are on the first floor Periodicals area.

  • Goldrush - provides links to databases that index or have full text of the journal.
  • Periodical Title search in Skyline - local journal holdings and online links if available.
  • interlibrary loan - If the library does not have access to the article, use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy. The article will be mailed to you.

How to write the paper and cite sources?

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format. This web site from the Purdue Writing Center contains format examples for commonly used references. It is one of the best sites for finding APA style information online.

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association .  Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2001.  REF BF 76.7 P83.

This source describes the structure of an APA paper and detail on how to cite sources.  Numerous copies at the reference desk.  

See Style Manuals for  online versions. For help with APA style guidelines, visit APA's online resource www.apastyle.org .

 
end of page