Navigating the library website:
Quick links on the library home page will provide easy access to the book catalog and article databases.
Use the Research Tools pulldown to see links to all of our search engines for books and articles.
The Library Services pull down will bring you to the Interlibrary Loan link.
Explore Research Guides for help pages and tutorials.
How do I find articles?
You can search for articles using databases or indexes. Many provide the full text of the article while some databases display a link to library holdings or a full text search.
- Criminal Justice. Use Criminology from Sage or Criminal Justice Abstricts.
- Psychology databases. PsycInfo, PsyARTICLES
- Medical and Health databases . Look for PubMed, MedlinePlus and other databases under this heading for journal articles and health/medical information.
- Multidisciplinary databases: ScienceDirect, Web of Science, and Academic Search Premier are just a few general databases that provide coverage of psychology journals. Many articles are full text. Limit to "peer reviewed" or "refereed publications" when searching for psychology research articles.
|
|
|
| |
Searching a database for articles is just like searching Google, except that the database returns journal (magazine) articles that match the words you put in.
Type words into the search boxes that best describe your research.
Revise your search as you discover good articles. Think about how the articles in your results list may relate to your question even if they are not exactly what you are looking for. Read the abstracts to find out who and what was studied. Use descriptors and limits (empirical study, case study, etc) to get better results.

What journals do we have?
The easy way to see what journals we have is to enter a journal title on the Find a journal by title search box on the library home page.
What if we don't have what you need?
Request journal articles or books using the Interlibrary Loan system. Never pay for an article online! We provide this services free for students.
Reference books:
Need some background information? Use reference books! Excellent reference books for abnormal psychology are:
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of mental disorders. Washington, DC : American Psychiatric Association, c2000.
Online version of the DSM - This catalog record provides a link to the full text of the DSM-IV and other reference tools
This handbook of mental disorders is used by professionals in mental health to diagnose and classify conditions. It provides a common vocabulary, so we know for example, what it means when an individual is diagnosed as having Social Phobia or Bipolar Disorder. Auraria Library has the most current edition available online and in print.
DSM-IV casebook : a learning companion to the Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, fourth edition.
Washington, DC : American Psychiatric Press, c1994.
Psychodynamic diagnostic manual (PDM).Silver Spring, MD : Alliance of Psychoanalytic Organizations, c2006.
"a diagnostic framework that attempts to characterize an individual's full range of functioning--the depth as well as the surface of emotional, cognitive, and social patterns".
| Quick Help |
What does the library have? |
| |
| Skyline |
Find our books, DVD's, Government Publications, Titles of journals, magazines, etc. |
| Prospector |
Books/e-books/journals/videos in other major Front Range libraries |
| Goldrush |
What databases index a journal on my topic and where are articles most likely to be available full text online |
| Library of Congress Classification Call Number |
BF - Psychology
|
|