skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 

Anthropology 3390-Understanding Cultures


Books

Skyline - Search for items in Auraria Library
Prospector - Search for books in local libraries (quick delivery).
WorldCat - Books and media available worldwide. Free delivery (1 - 2 weeks) is available.

Reference books and annual reviews can be valuable resources for gathering background information. Browse Skyline by keyword for specific topics or limit broader topics by the type of item.

World Culture Reference Works

Countries and Their Cultures. These volumes are organized by country, with historical, ethnic and cultural background. Associated with eHRAF.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Hard copy available in reference stacks: GN307.E53. These volumes are organized by cultural group. Associated with eHRAF.

Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities. Available in reference stacks: GN495.4.E63. This resource is more political and historical as well as dealing with terminology.

Handbook of North American Indians. Available in reference stacks: E72.2.H36 . Extensive information compiled by Smithsonian Institute.

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Available in reference stacks: E77.G15. Cultural information plus bibliography by region.

Back to Top

Finding Journal Articles

The easiest way to find articles related to your subject is to use online databases. Different databases are owned by different companies and have different interfaces. They all typically have a box for you to insert search terms. Most of them use the Boolean operators "and," "or," "not" in order to refine your search. Here are a few ways to search for articles:

1. Quick Search. This is the first box on the library home page. "Quick Search" is a single search box that will provide you with results from our Top Twelve databases. JSTOR is included on the list. It makes searching the library's online content more like searching the Internet with Google or Yahoo! Federated searching is a means of cross searching more than one online library resource at the same time. In order to get better results, click on the "Advanced Search" button and narrow your search by subject. You can also change the search to full text or keyword, if you like.

2. World Cultures eHRAF is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

3. JSTOR provides access to archived articles, some dating back to the early twentieth century. It does not have current articles.

4. ProjectMuse provides access to current articles in the humanities, including anthropology.

5. Google Scholar might help you trace an author's work or find obscure articles. Make sure to use the link from the library website.

Back to Top

Finding the full text of article

Many scholarly journal articles are not full text online. Others may be available full text, but not through the database you are using. Use Goldrush and Skyline to determine availability of the article. Some journals are only available online, these will be indicated in Skyline (example). Other journals are only available in the library. These are on the first floor Periodicals area.

  • Links within the database. Most databases have a GR Linker (to Goldrush). Others, such as SciFinder, have their own link for finding full text. Click on these links to search for full text.
  • Goldrush - provides links to databases that index or have full text of the journal.
  • Periodical Title search in Skyline - local journal holdings and online links if available.
  • interlibrary loan- If the library does not have access to the article, use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy. The article will be mailed to you.

Back to Top

Citations

Many databases allow you to export citations in whatever format you choose, including AAA. Use these shortcuts, if the databases allow. If you find an article online in a pdf format, cite it as if it were a printed copy, as the pdf shows you exactly what the printed version looked like.

Back to Top

 
end of page