skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
DESIGNING WATER'S FUTURE

DATABASES

Here are just a few databases on water resources and water policy available at the Auraria Library. Follow the links below and at left. To find databases from the Home Page, follow the links from "research tools" to "databases".

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management This is a multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.

Environmental Treaties This database matches environmental treaties with natural resource indicators.

P.A.I.S. International Index to public and social policy from journals, books, government publications, and other resources.

GreenFile A multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Congressional Research Service Reports on the Environment (NLE)

GeoRef Citations for U.S. and international journals, conference proceedings, books, reports,and maps in geology and the earth sciences.

Engineering Village - Compendex This database references journal articles, papers, and proceedings in the engineering disciplines, including those of hydrology and water resources management.

SAGE Journals Online - Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This collection includes environmental science, planning practice, planning theory, policy analysis, residential and community development, social, cultural and spatial dynamics, and much more to interest the water researcher.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online This is a comprehensive index for articles on architecture and design, including such topics as sustainable and renewable architecture.

Digital Dissertations (ProQuest) Index and abstracts of original research, including the disciplines of architecture, environmental design and environmental science.

WEB PAGES

Here is but a sample of pages you may find helpful.

NOAA Home Page This web site contains information and research on hydrology and water resources, publications on oceans, lakes, rivers, and coastal resources, climatological and weather data, aquaculture, fisheries, and much, much more.

World's Water This is a very interesting web site for water researchers.

Earth Trend's Water Resources This web site contains world-wide data on water resources, access to potable water, water uses, per capita statistics, water poverty, and more.

Water Resources Databases (NAL) The National Agriculture Library has put together an excellent listing of databases.

Water Librarians' Home Page I saved the best for last. This is the definitive compendium of water web sites. The web sites. selected are both informative and interesting.

BOOKS

Use our SKYLINE CATALOG to locate books in the Auraria Library. Use the handy FIND A BOOK box on the library homepage to search by keyword or subject. You will find titles like Water Manifesto, Liberation Ecologies, Water, Culture and Power, Water Wars, or Gender and Landscape.

REFERENCE BOOKS

Reference books are a good source to get a little information about a lot of topics fast-- knowledge in a nutshell. Here you will find very specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and compendiums.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society REF HM856 .E53

The Environment A-Z REF GE10 .H67

World's Water REF TD345 .W674

Water Encyclopedia REF TC403 .W38 2007

Atlas of the Environment REF G1046 .G3 L4

FILMS

Here is a mere sampling of the films owned by the Auraria Library

Thirst [videorecording] / produced and directed by Alan Snitow and Deborah Kaufman HD1691 .T57 2004  A documentary without narration that explores how water and the ownership and control of water figure into community resistance to corporations rapidly buying up local water supplies. Examines the environmental and human rights issues associated with governments and companies making the world's fresh water supply into a commodity at the expense of local communities. Visits locations in Stockton, California, Bolivia, and India. 

Drowned out [videorecording] / camera/producer/director, Franny Armstrong HD1698.I42 D76 2002   The people of Jalsindhi in central India must make a decision fast. In the next few weeks, their village will disappear underwater as the giant Narmada Dam fills. Author Arundhati Roy joins the fight against the dam and asks difficult questions: will the water go to poor farmers or to rich industrialists? What happened to the 16 million people displaced by fifty years of dam building? Follows the Jalsindhi villagers through hunger strikes, rallies, police brutality and a six year Supreme Court case. It stays with them as the dam fills and the river starts to rise.

A tour of the cryosphere [videorecording] : the earth's frozen assets  NAS 1.86:EA 7/6/DVD    The cryosphere has a global reach, extending beyond the polar regions. It consists of those parts of the Earth's surface where water is found in solid form, including areas of snow, sea ice, glaciers, permafrost, ice sheets, and icebergs. NASA Earth observing satellites are providing scientists with unparalleled insight into how the cryosphere behaves, how it is changing, and what implications whose changes have on the Earth's global systems, including weather and climate.

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

Professional organizations are good sources for current news in the field as well as a source of experts you may be able to call on for help. Once again, this is just a sample. The Encyclopedia of Associations will give you many more from which to choose.

Society of Wetland Scientists

Ground Water Protection Council Be sure to check out their e-library

Estuarine Research Foundation

American Society of Limnology and Oceanography

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
end of page