skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

Mouse Pad
 
MSCD English 1020 - Walters

Three Rules: (1) 20-Minute Rule;   (2) Library Homepage;    (3) Save Your Citations

Housekeeping

Check Your Library Account                        Set Up Your Inter-Library Loan Account

Library Research Remotely [Wireless, Off-Campus Access]

Start My Research

The starting place for your library research is with the "research question." A well articulated, focused question is essential for an effective search of article databases and library catalogs. If you need assistance please ask at the Reference desk.

Search Concepts  (Keywords, Boolean, Wildcard and Proximity Searching)

Style Guides and Manuals

Style Manuals [abridged - online]

Find Articles By Subject

You can search for articles using databases or indexes. Many provide the full text of the article. Most databases can be accessed 24 x 7.   Here are three databases to get you started.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
OneFile (InfoTrac)
LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis)

Find a Journal By Title

Do a Journal Finder Search in Skyline. If Auraria owns the title, try an Online search!

Find a Journal By Title

 

 

Online ReferenceScoping Out Your Research Project:

America's Newspapers [Newsbank]

Ethnic Newswatch [ProQuest]

CQ Researcher

Lexis-Nexis Environmental

FirstGov.gov

Public Affairs Information Service [PAIS]

Class Guides, Subject Guides, General Guides [a few examples]

Women's Studies

Immigration and Ethnicity

Public Affairs

Google Scholar (Google Advanced Search):

Google Scholar Journal Editions freely available to Auraria Library patrons will have a link labelled "Auraria Library Resources". When you locate an unaccessible article here first check to see if other editions of the same item are available here. Then note the citation and use our journal finder in Skyline as another way to see what is available through Auraria Library.

 

Off-Campus Searching In Advanced Google Scholar

Google Scholar

 

 

 

 

Internet Search Engines [Other Than Google]

Ask.com               Vivisimo.com              Kartoo.com       Search Engine Watch

There are four types of search engines:

  • Directories or catalogs:     Skyline
  • General search engines    Ask.com
  • Meta search engines:       Kartoo
  • Cluster search engines:    Vivisimo
A search engine works by sending out a program called a spider to fetch as many documents as possible. Another program, called an indexer, then reads these documents and creates an index based on the words contained in each document.   For more information try  SearchEngineWatch

Evaluating Websites:

(1) Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply and Questions to Ask (by Joe Barker, University of California at Berkeley)

(2) The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: Why Its a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources (by Susan Beck, New Mexico State University Library).

(3) Widener University, Wolfgram Library

 

Think About Colorado Resources

The Colorado Historical Society, Western History Department of the Denver Public Library, Colorado State Demography Office, the Colorado Legislative Research Council, The Colorado Digitization Project, the telephone directory, experts in your area of inquiry, listservs on the Internet, brainstorming with your colleagues and professors and your Auraria Reference Librarian!

 

Library Orientation Tour

QUESTIONS? Come to the reference desk or contact us at (303-556-2585) or e-mail
me at:  William.Tietjen@cudenver.edu

Good luck with your research!                 Return to Top

 
end of page