skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
HCM 3010 Health Care Organization

Topic

  • The starting place: the research question forms the basis for an effective search.
  • Need a topic? Browse subject encyclopedias, periodicals, or the news to look for current research.
  • Refine the topic: as you read, always ask "Why?" or "How would results be different if...?"
  • Tip: in the discussion section of many research articles the author proposes further areas of inquiry. This means they are giving you ideas!
Quick Help What does the library have?
 
Skyline Find our books, DVD's, Government Publications, Titles of journals, magazines, etc.
Prospector Books/e-books/journals/videos in other major Front Range libraries
Goldrush What databases index a journal on my topic and where are articles most likely to be available full text online

 

Article databases: warning - not all of these are full-text, we will spend time in class in determining if an article is full text and if not, how to get it quickly.

Topic area - click for list of databases - there is lots of overlap! Recommended databases: Medline and CINAHL are considered the leading databases in the health/medical areas. PAIS is one of the best for public policy issues.
 
Health Administration (management) Note the business databases (Business Source Premier) and CINAHL, a nursing and allied health database.
Healthcare Industry/Hospitals A more specific mix of business and medical resources. Read descriptions and search different databases for your topic.
Medicine Databases appropriate for research in medicine, health and biosciences. Most important in this list are; Medline (FirstSearch) and Medline (PubMed). (same database but different look and functionality); Medical and Nursing Collection Full Text (Ovid)
Public Administration/Affairs PAIS is not full text, but is the best in this area. Search Skyline and Prospector for library holdings - GoldRush for full text access to articles.
Multi - subject databases Expanded Academic and Academic Search Premier are good article databases, they cover all subjects and have lots of full text. Campus Research and Lexis/Nexis are good sources for news and legal information.
   

 

Reference tools - Encyclopedias, dictionaries
 --tools for learning the vocabulary of a discipline

Tip: The library has specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries in almost every subject area. To find these do a word search using the term encyclopedias and a word for your topic.

Examples:
alternative medicine encyclopedias
drugs encyclopedias
medicine dictionaries - this is a big list! Limit to reference and you will get some of the best.
biotechnology encyclopedias
medical policy encyclopedias
healthcare industry
- especially Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac (Plunkett's also has a commercial website which can be browsed for ideas.)

Look for information on health care organization in your local university, special or public library. Try browsing in the following sections of the library.

  • RA 5-418 Medicine and state
  • RA 395 Healthcare Policy
  • RA 421-790 Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine
  • RA 971.35 Health care

Local Denver Resources There is a special medical library in Denver you may use for a membership fee. Look for similar libraries in your area.

Tip: If you are searching on the Internet, remember the Library search tips and think about the reliability and accuracy of the information.

Associations

Government Information and Regulators

Internet sites

 
end of page