This guide is your introduction to the resources at Auraria Library.
It points to the best tools to find books and journal articles on
your topic. Keep in mind that the reference librarians are here
to help. If you can't find what you need, just ask for help!
Getting started - the research topic
Your research question is the key to reducing frustration and stress.
It needs to be well focused and specific. The topic, Chinese medicine
would be too broad. Looking at Chinese medicinal plants that would
grow in Colorado would be easier to research and more interesting
to write about! You can use the library to come up with your research
problem. Search Skyline for subject encyclopedias and browse the
current periodicals area to see what other researchers are doing.
Tip: in the discussion section of many research articles the
author proposes further areas of inquiry. This means they are
giving you ideas!
Quick help
| To
find: |
Look in: |
| |
| Books/e-books/links
to journals in or available through the Auraria Library |
Skyline |
| Where & in what
form articles from a specific journal are available |
Skyline |
| What database indexes
a journal in my topic |
Gold
Rush |
| What databases include
articles on my topic |
Library
subject guides |
| Where are the articles
most likely to be available full text online |
Gold
Rush |
| Books/e-books/links
to journals in other major Front Range libraries |
Prospector |
| Books/e-books/journal
titles in libraries worldwide, including your local university
or college library |
WorldCat |
Background info on your topic
Reference books such as specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries
are great for finding out just what you need to support your thesis
or collect background material for your research. You can search
Skyline using your term
and combine it with terms like encyclopedias or handbooks to pull
up specialized encyclopedias (example: alternative
medicine and encyclopedias). This also applies to "dictionaries"
and "video".
Auraria Library's Online Resources and Databases
Article Databases and Indexes You
can search for articles using databases or indexes. Many provide
the full text of the article while some databases display a link
to library holdings or a full text search.
Finding articles that are not full text
online Many scholarly journal articles are not full text
online. Others may be available full text, but not through PsycInfo.
Use Goldrush and Skyline to determine availability of the article.
Some journals are only available online, these will be indicated
in Skyline (example). Other journals are only available in the library.
These are on the first floor Periodicals area.
- Goldrush - provides
links to databases that index or have full text of the journal.
- Periodical Title search in Skyline -
local journal holdings and online links if available.
- interlibrary loan - If
the library does not have access to the article, use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy. The article will be mailed to you.
Some specifics
- Identify the title of the journal. Be sure not to confuse
this with the title of the article.
- Search Skyline by
Periodical Title (see the left column of the Library homepage).
If Auraria Library has the journal, a record will appear that
shows complete information (status, location, call number, format).
If we don't have it, go to the next step.
- Search Gold Rush
by 'Journal Title'. If Auraria Library owns a database that has
full text from the journal, a record will appear that shows complete
information (database name and a link to the database). If we
don't have it, go to the next step.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan form (ILLiad).
This works really well, they mail you the article for free to
your home. The downside is that it might take a week or two. So,
give yourself time. If you don't have the time, go to Prospector
and determine which library, if any, owns the journal locally.
You can go to that library and make a copy of that article. Remember
there are two excellent special collections in Denver that cover
alternative medicine.
eBooks Electronic books that
you can read on your computer. Find eBooks owned by Auraria Library
by using Skyline.
(To read NetLibrary books from off-campus: sign up for a NetLibrary
account from anywhere on campus. If you live outside the Metro area
email the the distance education librarian: .)
Use the eBooks
subject guide to locate other sources of eBooks. Here are a few
relevant eBooks found through Skyline (available in NetLibrary).
Non-Auraria Library Resources
In any library Look for information
on holistic medicine in your local university, special or public
library. Try browsing in the following sections of the library.
- GN296 (anthropological medicine)
- QK99 (herbal medicine)
- R733 (alternative medicine)
- RS164 (folk or traditional medicine)
Local Denver Resources There
are two libraries in De nver that have good collections in alternative
and herbal medicine. You may use either one for a membership fee.
Look for similar libraries in your area. Try a botanical
libraries list or a libraries
directory. Try a search on "medic* OR health".
- Denver Botanic Gardens Helen
Fowler Resource Center (909 York Street, Denver CO 80206,
phone: 720-865-3570 ) - A large library only on plants. Any visitor
may use the materials searchable on their website Library
database. Any DBG member may check out materials. Remember:
most cities have a botanic garden with a library, check it out.
- University of Colorado Health Science Center Denison
Memorial Library (4200 East 9th, Denver, CO 80262, phone:
303-315-7460) - A major medical library on 9th Street just east of Colorado
Boulevard. It has an extensive special collection, Florence G. Strauss Complementary
and Indigenous Medicine Collection, on this topic. Individuals may use the materials
there or purchase a short term use pass that will allow them to
check out materials.
Tip: If you are searching on the Internet, remember the Library
search
tips and think about the reliability
and accuracy of the information.
Associations
Government Information and Regulators
Electronic Journals
E-journals are usually paperless journals that may or may not
be freely available and may or may not be peer-reviewed. Try the
Electronic Journal Miner.
Other Useful Resource Lists
Plagiarism
Plagiarism is very easy to avoid but just as easy to do! "Plagiarism:
What It Is and How To Avoid It" created by the Indiana
University Campus Writing Center provides a clear explanation of
the subject.
Citation styles
Style manuals are tools for giving credit to the original authors.
Use this QUICK
ONLINE GUIDE to citing styles (B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
at Long Island University). The two main citing styles in use for
your subject are MLA an APA. Check your sylabus for the preferred
style.
- MLA - MLA handbook for writers of research
papers / Joseph Gibaldi. New York : Modern Language Association
of America, 1999. REF LB2369 .G53 1999
- APA - Publication manual of the American
Psychological Association. Washington, DC : American Psychological
Association, 1994. REF DESK BF 76.7 P82 1994
|