skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

bees & echinacea - credit: Herbalogic2001 (www.geocities.com/herbalogic2001)
 
Botanical Pharmacology - HES3410

This guide is your introduction to the resources at Auraria Library. It points to the best tools to find books and journal articles on your topic. Keep in mind that the reference librarians are here to help. If you can't find what you need, just ask for help!!

Getting started - the research topic

To reduce frustration:

  • focus on a specific topic.
  • if you pick a particular ailment, make sure that most of your paper is devoted to herbal remedies this condition.
  • find a subject that has been sufficiently researched. Remember that you must use at least five scholarly journal articles to support your statements.
  • make good use of the many resources at the Auraria Library, both books and internet links.

You can start by searching Skyline for subject encyclopedias.

Quick help

To find: Look in:
 
Books/e-books/links to journals in or available through the Auraria Library Skyline
Where & in what form articles from a specific journal are available Journal finder in Skyline
What database indexes a journal in my topic Gold Rush
What databases include articles on my topic Library subject guides
Where are the articles most likely to be available full text online Gold Rush
Books/e-books/links to journals in other major Front Range libraries Prospector
Books/e-books/journal titles in libraries worldwide, including your local university or college library WorldCat

Background info on your topic

Reference books such as specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries are great for finding out just what you need to support your thesis or collect background material for your research. You can search Skyline using your term and combine it with terms like encyclopedias or handbooks to pull up specialized encyclopedias (example: alternative medicine and encyclopedias). This also applies to "dictionaries" and "video". To get more results try using Boolean logic to combine terms (example: (integ* or altern* or herb* or plant*) medicin* (encyclop* or handbooks)).

  • The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine. Kristine Krapp and Jacqueline L. Longe, editors. Detroit : Gale Group, c2001. REF R733 .G34 2001
  • Concise handbook of psychoactive herbs : medicinal herbs for treating psychological and neurological problems. Marcelo Spinella. New York : Haworth Herbal Press, c2005. RM315 .S655 2005
  • Integrative medicine. David Rakel, editor. Philadelphia, PA : Saunders Elsevier, c2007. R733 .I5755 2007
  • Understanding medicinal plants : their chemistry and therapeutic action. Bryon Hanson. New York : Haworth Herbal Press, c2005. RS164 .H276 2005
  • The American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition, or in the Library at REF PE1628 .A6227 2002
  • InfoPlease.com, at the Desk Reference in the Library at REF HF5003 .I5
  • Bartleby.com a stellar collection of general reference books online.

Some of these general references will help you learn the vocabulary of your subject. For example these are all terms used in the literature to discuss botanical medicine: medicinal plants, medical botany, ethnobotany, materia medica, pharmacognosy, pharmacology, traditional medicine, phytotherapy, phytochemistry, holistic, alternative medicine, complementary medicine and so on. Find out the difference between them and whether a search on any of these will get you closer to what your goal.

Auraria Library's Online Resources and Databases

Article Databases and Indexes Once you have background information on your topic you can search for articles that relate more directly to your area of interest. You do this using online databases or indexes found at the Library. Many of these databases provide the full text of the article while some databases display a link to library holdings (Skyline) or a link to search for the full text of the article online (GRLinker aka Gold Rush).

Finding articles that are not full text online Many scholarly journal articles are not full text online. Others may be available full text, but not through the database you are using. Use Gold Rush and Skyline to determine availability of the article (example: the International Journal of Plant Sciences' Skyline record has links to databases where there is some full text, indicates that we receive it in paper and that the older issues, 1992-2003, are on microfiche here). Some journals are only available in the Library, some only online. Those in the Library are on the first floor in the Periodicals area.

  • Goldrush - provides links to databases that index or have full text of the journal.
  • Periodical Title search in Skyline - local journal holdings and online links if available.
  • Interlibrary loan - If the library does not have access to the article, use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy. The article will be mailed to you.

Some specifics

  1. Identify the title of the journal. Be sure not to confuse this with the title of the article.
  2. Search Skyline by Periodical Title (see the left column of the Library homepage). If Auraria Library has the journal, a record will appear that shows complete information (status, location, call number, format). If we don't have it, go to the next step.
  3. Search Gold Rush by 'Journal Title'. If Auraria Library owns a database that has full text from the journal, a record will appear that shows complete information (database name and a link to the database). If we don't have it, go to the next step.
  4. Request the article through interlibrary loan form (ILLiad). This works really well, they mail you the article for free to your home. The downside is that it might take a week or two. So, give yourself time. If you don't have the time, go to Prospector and determine which library, if any, owns the journal locally. You can go to that library and make a copy of that article. Remember there are two excellent special collections in Denver that cover alternative medicine.

eBooks Electronic books that you can read on your computer. Find eBooks owned by Auraria Library by using Skyline. (To read NetLibrary books from off-campus: sign up for a NetLibrary account from anywhere on campus. If you live outside the Metro area email the distance education librarian: distance at auraria dot edu.) Use the eBooks subject guide to locate other sources of eBooks. Here are a few relevant eBooks found through Skyline (available in NetLibrary).

Non-Auraria Library Resources

If you start your research with non-Library resources (like the internet or other libraries) you may become frustrated because you can't access the whole article, or be allowed to check out the book. So when you find a resource somewhere other than through the Library, try to locate it through us before you buy it or give up. (See Finding ... ) It could be at Auraria Library (Skyline), in one of our proprietary databases (Gold Rush), in a local library from which we can easily borrow it for you (Prospector), or in some other U.S. library from which we can borrow it for you (interlibrary loan and WorldCat).

In any library Look for information on holistic medicine in your local university, special or public library. Try browsing in the following sections of the library.

  • GN296 (anthropological medicine)
  • QK99 (herbal medicine)
  • R733 (alternative medicine)
  • RS164 (folk or traditional medicine)

Local Denver Resources There are two libraries in Denver that have good collections in alternative and herbal medicine. You may use either one for a membership fee.

  • Denver Botanic Gardens Helen Fowler Library (909 York Street, Denver CO 80206, phone: 720-865-3570 ) - A large library only on plants. Any visitor may use the materials searchable on their website Library database. Any DBG member may check out materials. Remember: most cities have a botanic garden with a library, check it out.
  • University of Colorado Health Science Center Denison Memorial Library (4200 East 9th, Denver, CO 80262, phone: 303-315-7460) - A major medical library just east of Colorado Boulevard. It has an extensive special collection on "complementary and indigenous medicine". Students doing student work may use the materials there or purchase a short term use pass that will allow them to check out materials.

Tip: If you are searching on the Internet, remember the Library search tips and think about the reliability and accuracy of the information.

Look for similar libraries in your area. Try a botanical libraries list or a libraries directory. You will see that there are hundreds of botanical and horticultural libraries around the world including the Lloyd Library & Museum, the New York Botanical Garden, and the National Agricultural Library.

Associations

Herb Organizations

  • American Botanical Council ABC member benefits include access to HerbClip Online, Complete German Commission E Monographs, and Clinical Guide to Herbs. You also get a subscription to the journal Herbalgram, which contains information on new research, ethnobotany, herb legislation, regulation and marketing.
  • European Scientific Cooperative on Phytotherapy ESCOP was created to develop a coordinated scientific framework to assess and research phytomedicines and phytotherapy, to promote the acceptance of phytomedicines, especially within general medical practice, and to produce reference monographs on the therapeutic use of plant drugs.
  • Herb Research Foundation HRF provides a search service from their specialty research library containing more than 300,000 scientific articles on thousands of herbs. This organization is based in Boulder (303-449-2265). For a reasonable fee, you can also order packets on disease conditions and particular herbs. If you join, you get a subscription to Herbs for Health or Herbalgram.

Government Information and Regulators

Electronic Journals

E-journals are usually paperless journals that may or may not be freely available and may or may not be peer-reviewed. Use the Journal Finder in Skyline or OAIster.

Other Useful Resource Lists

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is very easy to avoid but just as easy to do! "Plagiarism: What It Is and How To Avoid It" created by the Indiana University Campus Writing Center provides a clear explanation of the subject.

Citation styles

Style manuals are tools for giving credit to the original authors. Use this QUICK ONLINE GUIDE to citing styles (B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library at Long Island University).

Your instructor prefers the AMA citation style wherein references are given as endnotes.

Two other citing styles acceptable to your instructor, Linda B. White, M.D., are MLA and APA.

 
end of page