skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Physiology of Exercise - MSCD HPS 3340

If you are looking for information about major concepts, a book is the best place to look. We have books on metabolism, the different physiological systems, etc. If you want specific (and the most current) information on research questions, use our databases to search for journal articles.

Quick help  
 
Skyline Books/e-books/links to journals in or available through the Auraria Library
Gold Rush Where are the articles most likely to be available full text online?
Prospector Books/e-books/links to journals in other major Front Range libraries.
WorldCat Books/e-books/journal titles in libraries worldwide, including your local university or college library
 

 

Article databases and indexes
Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.
 
Sports major database: SportDiscus
Medicine recommended: Medline (Firstsearch or PubMed)
Education major databases: ERIC, Education full text
Psychology primary databases are PsycInfo, ScienceDirect
 

Most databases are not 100% full text however, so there are two or three steps to get any article.

  1. Identify the title of the journal. Be sure not to confuse this with the title of the article.
  2. Search Skyline by Periodical Title, typing in the name of the journal title. If Auraria Library has the journal, a record will appear that shows complete information (status, location, call number, format). If we don't have it, go to the next step.
  3. Search Gold Rush by Periodical Title. If Auraria Library owns a database that has full text from the journal, a record will appear that shows complete information (database name and a link to the database). If we don't have it, go to the next step.
  4. ILL (Interlibrary Loan)- getting copies of journal articles that are not full text online Some of the databases listed above contain full text articles online. Request the article through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery (ILL) via ILLIAD. This works really well, they mail you the article for free to your home. The downside is that it might take a week or two. So, give yourself time. If you don't have the time, go to Prospector and determine which library, if any, owns the journal locally. You can go to that library and make a copy of that article. Remember there is an excellent medical collection in Denver that covers physiology and medicine.

Can't find anything?

Before you look to Google for answers try the Quick Search box on the library home page. It will search 12 article databases at once.

Local Denver Resources

University of Colorado Health Science Center Denison Memorial Library (4200 East 9th, Denver, CO 80262, phone: 303-315-7460) - This is a major medical library near the Medical Center on Colorado Boulevard. It is generally open from 7 am to 10 pm Monday thru Thursday with shorter hours Friday thru Sunday. It has many of the journals indexed in Medline and SportsDiscus that the Auraria Library doesn't own.

Reference Tools

Encyclopedias, dictionaries: Tools for learning the vocabulary of a discipline.

Tip: A word search in Skyline using your term and the word "encyclopedias" will pull up specialized encyclopedias on the topic (example: physiology and encyclopedias ). Subject encyclopedias are excellent tools for providing an overview of a topic or research area in a field.  These are just a few samples. A few sample reference sources:

Encyclopedia of Human Biology REF QP11. E53

Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine REF RC1206 .O94 1994

In any library look for information on physiology in your local university, special or public library. Try browsing in the following sections of the Auraria Library.

  • RM 695-890 (Physical medicine)
  • RC1200-1245 (Sports medicine)

eBooks Electronic books that you can read on your computer. Find eBooks owned by Auraria Library by using Skyline . ( To read NetLibrary books from off-campus: sign up for a NetLibrary account from anywhere on campus. If you live outside the Metro area email the distance education librarian . )

Internet Resources

American Journal of Sports Medicine

NISMAT exercise physiology corner 

Digital Image Archive : images related to sports physiology.

Physician and Sports Medicine

SportsMedicine.com

Human Anatomy Online

Gray's Anatomy

Tip: If you are searching on the Internet, remember the Library search tips and think about the reliability and accuracy of the information.

Citation styles

Style manuals are tools for giving credit to the original authors. Use this QUICK ONLINE GUIDE to citing styles (B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library at Long Island University). The two main citing styles in use for your subject are MLA an APA. Check your syllabus for the preferred style.

Doing effective searches online

You can save time and get better information by learning how to apply Boolean logic and other search strategies to your online searches.  All online keyword searches use some form of Boolean logic.

  • Boolean Logic allows you to combine keywords to make a search more precise.  The three combinations are:  AND, OR, NOT

AND - Narrows a search
example: teenagers and exercise  -- will retrieve all articles with both teenagers and exercise in the article.

OR - Expands a search
example: teenagers or adolescents - will retrieve all articles with just teenagers, all articles with just adolescents, and all articles with both teenagers and adolescents.

NOT - Removes a term from a search
example: teenagers not adolescents  -- will retrieve all articles about teenagers but remove all articles with any mention of adolescents.  Use NOT sparingly because you often lose many useful pieces of information.

  • You can combine and, or, or not in your searches by using parentheses. 
    Example:  exercise and (teenagers or adolescents)  -- will retrieve articles on "exercise and teenagers” and "exercise and adolescents."
  • Most systems also let you limit your search by looking for exact phrases, limiting by date, company name, images, etc.  Read the help screens to see what each system let's you do.
  • CAUTION: How you use Boolean logic varies in different databases and different search engines E.G.  SOME SYSTEMS USE "+" INSTEAD OF and.   Find this information in the help screens.

For more about effective searching, ask a reference librarian or checkout this site on Boolean Searching.

 
end of page