skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Audiobooks, Podcasts, and Other Spoken Word Recordings

This guide recommends free and fee locations for spoken-word audio.

Audiobooks Owned by the Auraria Lbrary and Other Libraries Links are in the left hand columns.
 
NetLibrary Digital "eAudiobooks" via Auraria Library The Auraria Library currently owns and supplies access to approximately 170 downloadable audio books. Find audiobook titles by choosing 'audiobooks' on the right side of the NetLibrary opening page. (The Library also supplies access to more than 1600 non-audio e-books via NetLibrary.) Related Guides: NetLibrary eAudiobook FAQ and eBooks.
Colorado Public Libraries: Digital Audiobooks Find thousands of audiobooks available for free download at many Colorado public libraries. Check to see what choices your public library offers. Public libraries also offer large collections of pre-recorded audio books.
Books on CD at the Auraria Library The Auraria Library has few recorded books on CD. (Check public libraries for larger collections). To browse the Auraria Library's holdings of books on CD, go to the advanced Skyline search page. Type in the word SOUND as a keyword and choose Material Type SPOKEN CD/DVD.
Books on Cassette at the Auraria Library To browse the Library's modest and aging collection of books on tape, go to the advanced Skyline search page. Type in the word SOUND as a keyword and choose Material Type AUDIO TAPES.
Method for Searching the Auraria Library's CD and Cassette books by Specific Criteria Go to the advanced Skyline search page. Do a search by any of the criteria offered, i.e. title, author, subject, keyword, etc. Choose Material Type SPOKEN CD/DVD or AUDIO TAPES. Because the Auraria Library 'books on tape' collection is small, this search may yield no results.

 

Audiobooks Free on the Internet  
 
Gutenberg: The Audiobooks Project  
Internet Archive. Collection ranges from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry recordings, to original music contributed by users. Includes non-English audio options.  
Librivox. Provides free audiobooks from the public domain performed by volunteer readers.  
The Spoken Alexandria Project from the Telltale Weekly  
Other Resources: Note that most of the subscription/purchase audiobook services listed in the next section below, 'AudioBooks You Can Buy,' also offer some free content. Example: Free area on the Learn Out Loud site.  
Best Places to Get Free Books: The Ultimate Guide - From Friedbeef's Tech - Both audiobooks and text only books. A mixture of great and marginal recommendations.  

 

AudioBooks You Can Buy: Digital and CD  
These sites represent both audiobook producers and retail sellers.
Audible.com AudioBookStandDL.com
AudioBookStore AudioBooks Online
AudioDiversions.com AudioEditions.com
Blackstone Audio Books in Motion
Books on Tape FonoLibro - Spanish language.
Full-Cast Audio - Children's books. HarperAudio
Hay House - Self-help and more. HighBridge
iTunes Audiobooks Learn Out Loud
Listen and Live Audio Live Oak Media - Children's books.
Naxos Audiobooks New World Library
Penton Overseas, Inc. - Selection includes foreign language learning audiobooks. Recorded Books
Simply AudioBooks SoundsGood.com
Spoken Network Tantor
Taped Editions Telltale Weekly
Thought Audio - Classic literature, history, and philosophy. Writer's AudioShop
Other: Downloadable and CD Audiobooks are also available through many online booksellers and bricks and mortar booksellers that maintain websites.  

 

Finding Podcasts: Podcast Directories  
 
JuiceReceiver Podcast 411
Podcasting News Directory List Vodstock. Pointers to video podcasts and vlogs
Dogpile. Limit search to 'Audio.'  

 

Sample Non-Music Audio Links  
These directories and destinations represent a drop in the ocean of online recordings! But these will give you a feel for the universe of non-music audio pulsing through the web. Fee-based sites are in italics.
BBC Documentary Podcasts. CNN Podcasts.
Common Tone. Show presenting classical music in a light-hearted fashion. EconTalk.
Ed-Cast.org. Devoted to listing podcasts related to higher education. Fox News Podcasts.
Hospitality, Travel and Event Channel. IBizRadio. Developed to help business people easily locate and download audio/video podcasts that relate to their market of interest or industry.
iTales. An online community of storytellers and listeners. The vision for the site is to provide a vast array of stories from around the world...harnessing the talent of both amateur and professional storytellers. KCRW Design and Architecture Podcasts.
Language Learning Podcast Directory. L.A. Theatreworks.
LegalTalkNetwork. McGraw Hill's AccessMedicine Weekly Podcasts
MuseumPods. NASA Podcasts.
National Institutes of Health Research Radio. National Public Radio Podcasts.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media Philosophy Podcasts on LearnOutLoud.
Podcast Awards: People's Choice Quick and Dirty Tips: Fun Friendly Practical Advice to Help You Do Things Better
RadioClassics. Scientific American/60 Second Science Podcasts.
Slate Magazine's Daily Podcasts. TWiT - This Week in Tech.

 

Radio Stations Online  
 
Radio Locator Web-Radio

 

 
end of page