skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

computer cables
 

Basic research


Twenty Minute Rule

When doing research in the library, remember the twenty minute rule: if, after twenty minutes, you are still struggling with finding something on your topic, please ask at the Reference Desk for help. 

Research is a process. When doing a research paper, you may want to follow these steps. Click on the links provided for more information:

The Topic

  • Select your topic.   You can use this link to give you some ideas for a research question.  CQ Researcher is a good database for ideas on current issues
  • Narrow your topic. The more specific (narrow) the topic is, the easier it is to do the research!  Ask for help at the Reference Desk If you are having trouble finding enough material on the topic you have chosen. 
  • Find information about your topic before you get started.  Use specialized encyclopedias and books to find...
    1. background information
    2. a general overview
    3. the history
    4. key issues

Searching for information

  • Books and media: search Skyline - Auraria Library's catalog.
  • Prospector: Find and request quick delivery for books in regional libraries on your topic.
  • Articles (in magazines, journals and newspapers):
    • Databases Go to the article database and index page and review the general databases that cover multiple subjects. These databases contain full text and scholarly, peer reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various fields.
    • Subject specialized databases (example for psychology) are also available in almost every area. These are excellent when looking for research articles or scholarly information. Start with those that are listed under the recommended heading.
  • Find statistics - provide data to back up your argument.  Statistical databases are listed on this link. To find statistics in articles use the word "statistics" in your keyword search.  Example: cell phones and statistics.
  • Search the Internet  for additional information but be critical about the sites you find. Check out these excellent resources on evaluating web sites: Widener University, Wolfgram Library and The Good, the Bad & the Ugly from New Mexico State University.

Useful Links
Boolean Searching
How to critically analyze information sources.
ILL (Interlibrary loan) - Request materials from another library.
Plagiarism It is easy to plagiarize the work of others, but just as easy not to. This guide provides information on how not to plagiarize.

Organizing the information

Export your data - email or download citations or full text from Skyline or any of the articles databases.

  • This will save you printing costs in the library.
  • Provide an electronic copy of the information you need to cite your sources later.
  • Each database uses different procedures. Look for links to export, download, save or email.
  • Save your search strategy when you save or download search results. This will let you see what terms you used and make the search easier to revise.

 

 
end of page