skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

many doors
 
Career, Resume, and Employment Resources

This guide recommends online and print resources available through the Library related to identifying and pursuing career opportunities. Use the links in this guide to quickly move to recommended titles in the Auraria Library catalog and to online resources.

  This 'A' symbol indicates a resource available only to students, staff & faculty of the Auraria Campus both from on and off campus.

Career Services on Campus The career offices, one representing each school on campus, offer a wealth of services and resources, both in-person and online, related to all aspects of career research.
 
UCDHSC Career Center Tivoli Student Union ~ Rm. 260 ~ 303-556-2250
MSCD Office of Career Services Tivoli Student Union ~ Rm. 215 ~ 303-556-3664
CCD Educational OpportunityCenter Administration Bldg ~ Suite 325 ~ 303-629-9226

 

Career Guides Print and online overviews of career opportunities.
 
Multidisciplinary Career Directories Directories, such as the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, housed in the Library's Reference Collection, (REF HF5381 .E52) supply overviews of jobs including such information as: education required, expected duties, and typical salaries.
Occupational Outlook Handbook An excellent career overview directory, available online, updated annually by the U.S. Department of Labor. See also the companion guide Career Guide to Industries.
Overviews of Specific Careers/Professions The Library purchases books that highlight opportunities offered in specialized professions. Sample titles in this category include: Career Opportunities in Writing, Opportunities in Architecture Careers, Great Jobs for Biology Majors, Opportunities in Foreign Language Careers and Mastering the Job Search Process in Recreation and Leisure Services. To find books discussing a particular profession, go to the Auraria Library's Catalog, Skyline, and use these keywords: vocational guidance nameofprofession. For example:
  • vocational guidance art
  • vocational guidance social work
  • vocational guidance law enforcement
  • vocational guidance engineering
  • vocational guidance finance
  • vocational guidance hospitality
Career Briefs and Career Opportunities with a Major in... The UCDHSC Career Library and MSCD Career Services have created online descriptions of career possibilities related to specific college degrees. Useful related websites are also listed. These 'Briefs' and 'Opportunities' are not limited to UCDHSC and MSCD students; they're accessible to the public.
Books That Help Match Interests to a Career Though these books fall under a multitude of subject headings, here are some sample titles: What Color is Your Parachute?, The Mulling Factor: Get Your Life Back by Taking Control of Your Career, Zen and the Art of Making a Living: A Practical Guide to Creative Career Design, The Pathfinder: How to Choose or Change Your Career for a Lifetime of Satisfaction and Success, How to Find the Work You Love, and Reality 101. See also: books on changing careers.
Articles Discussing Careers Articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers focusing on the ins and outs of specific jobs and professions are common. Try one of the Library's multi-subject databases to locate online and print articles, such as Academic Search Premier, or consult with a librarian at the Reference Desk. When searching, use keywords such as 'careers,' 'job outlook,' or 'salaries' combined with the name of the career/job you're interested in. Example: In Academic Search Premier the keywords 'careers' and 'accounting' brought up this article: "Accounting : What's the Real World of Accounting Like?" from the Black Collegian, April 2005, Vol. 35 Issue 3, p31-38.

 

Salary/Wage Data See also: Career Guides recommended above. Most list average salaries.
 
Statistics Subject Guide: Salaries Section The Statistics Subject Guide points to websites and print resources in the Auraria Library with salary information. Item of note: JobStar Central Salary Information - This useful site links to both general and profession-specific salary data.

 

Pursuing Further Education and Training  
 
College Source Online. College Source supplies full-text searching of more than 34,700 catalogs representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.
Chronicle Vocational School Manual L901 .C61. Lateste edition in Reference. Earlier editions on 2nd floor. An annually updated directory to occupational education programs currently available in selected schools in the United States and Puerto Rico.
Guide to National Professional Certification Programs. REF HD3630.U7 B36 2001 A print directory of training and development opportunities. (Not updated by publisher after 2001; no plans to update as of 2006).

 

Resumes, Cover Letters, Interviews, and Portfolios  
 
The Library offers print and e-books with 'how to' advice and examples. Sample title: Best Resumes for College Students and New Grads.
Specialized Resume Tips The Library purchases books that pinpoint the unique requirements for applying for certain professions. Sample titles: 101 Grade A Resumés for Teachers, Resumes for Performing Arts Careers, and Resumes for Advertising Careers: with Sample Cover Letters. To find these resources go to the Auraria Library's Catalog, Skyline, and use these keywords: resumes employment nameofprofession (or fieldofstudy). For example:
  • resumes employment teachers
  • resumes employment advertising
  • resumes employment engineers
Note that specialized resume/cover letter books are not available for many professions. A general resume/cover letter book will often offer the needed advice.
Interviewing Advice These print and online books recommend techniques for successfully navigating an employment interview. Sample title: Succeeding at Interviews.
Portfolios: Advice and Samples for Specific Fields

To find books offering advice on portfolio preparation, go to the go to the Auraria Library's Catalog, Skyline, and search by Subject using the appropriate phrase below:

How to Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae This ebook offers advice on how to create the special 'resume' traditionally used in academic jobs, especially by faculty members, but also seen in other fields. Related resources: Do a keyword search in Skyline: 'curriculum vitae' or a subject search: using 'College teachers -- Employment -- United States' or 'College teaching -- Vocational guidance -- United States.'

 

Online Job Boards and Announcements See Also: The Associations section below. Professional organizations related to your field often sponsor or can identify specialized job boards or job publications which, depending on your profession, may be your best bet.
 
Denver Post/Rocky Mountain News Online Classifieds Job ads for the Denver metropolitan area.
ColoradoJobs.net Search local jobs and post your resume for free.
Craigslist Choose your city then click on the 'jobs' category
Job Boards at the UCDHSC Online Career Library This site, open to the public, lists job boards for many professions. Some are not freely accessible.
Jobing.com  
Monster.com  
The Vault Job Board  
CareerJet.com "The search engine for jobs."

 

Internships  
 
Internship Directories in the Library's Collection. Print compilations of internship opportunities.
MSCD Cooperative Education Internship Center The aim is to enhance the education of MSCD students by placing students in work experiences related to their academic major.
UCDHSC Internship and Cooperative Education Program The goal of the program is to provide degree-related work experience to students with corporations, businesses, government and non-profit agencies in the Denver metropolitan area, as well as out of state.
Web Sites Describing Internship Opportunities Internship opportunity websites identified by the MSCD Career Center.

 

Company/Organization Information  
 
U.S. Company and Industry Information This Auraria Library Subject guide leads you to resources that supply information about specific businesses.

 

Government Employment  
 
Colorado: Information About State Employment FAQ's and job announcements from the Colorado Department of Personnel and Administration
Resumes for Civil Service Jobs Books with advice and examples.
USAJOBS The official job site of the U.S. Federal Government. "Your one-stop source for federal jobs and employment information."
Government Job Finder: Where the Jobs Are in Local, State, and Federal Government Print directory to government job opportunities.
Today's Military Online military career guide.

 

Associations: Allies in Your Job Search Associations representing specific professions can have great leads on their websites for jobs, professional advancement, internships, and other career advice.
 
Associations Guide This Auraria Library Subject helps you pinpoint associations related to the profession you're interested in.

 

 
end of page