skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Identifying Cited References

The articles, books, and other resources an author cites in his or her bibliography can be valuable research leads. These 'cited references' also allow a published scholar to determine who has consulted the scholar's work and to determine the relationship of the new scholarship to the work cited. This guide describes a number of databases that can search cited references. Two of the titles below, Web of Science and Arts and Humanities Search, are databases specifically oriented to unearthing cited references.

Multi-Subject Databases  
 
Web of Science. This citation database covers the sciences and social sciences. Tutorial on how to use WOS. Note that the 'Author Finder' leads to a citation analysis for a particular author including "H-Factor," a measure of "impact."
ScienceDirect. Covers the sciences and social sciences. Restrict your 'term' search to within 'References.' (Use the pull-down menu on the 'within' box to locate 'References.')
Google Scholar. Free online index to multi-disciplinary scholarly literature capturing cited references most heavily in the sciences, next the social sciences, and the least number in the humanities. Extraneous links show up in the cited references, but that fault doesn't detract from this sites usefulness. Search for the article or book for which your seeking related citations; if a Google Scholar citation appears, choose the 'Cited By' link.
Live Search Academic. Like Google Scholar, Live Search Academic, from Microsoft, is an oline index to scholarly literature from multiple disciplines.
Academic Search Premier Choose 'Cited References' under tab choices.
LGBT Life Choose 'Cited References' under tab choices.

 

Arts & Humanities  
 
Arts and Humanities Search This database is specifically oriented to unearthing cited references. Tips on using Arts and Humanities Search.
Communication and Mass Media Complete Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."

 

Business  
 
Business Source Premier Choose 'Cited References' under tab choices.
Management and Organization Studies - Sage  Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."

 

Sciences  
 
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Choose 'Cited References' under tab choices.
Health Sciences - Sage  Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Materials Science - Sage Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
MathSciNet Limit search to 'References.'
PubMed Central Select PMC in the drop-down databases menu next to the main search box. Click the Preview/Index tab, then set the drop down "search field" menu to Reference or Reference Author.
SciFinder Scholar "How to Identify Related Citations Help Guide in SciFinder Scholar" from the American Chemical Society.

 

Social Sciences  
 
Criminology - Sage Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
ECONLit with Full Text Choose 'Cited References' under tab choices.
Education - Sage Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Political Science - Sage Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
PsycINFO Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Psychology - Sage  Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Social Services Abstracts  Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Sociological Abstracts Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Sociology - Sage Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."
Urban Studies and Planning - Sage  Change search from being limited to 'Anywhere' to being limited to "References, RE=" Search name you wish to locate in References in this format: "Smith, A."

 

eBooks  
 
You may also have luck finding cited references in ebook compilations in which the full-text of the book, including citations within the book, are searchable. See the Library's eBook Guide for leads.  

 

Journal Rankings  
 
Eigenfactor.org. From the University of Washington. Designates the 'Article Influence' and 'Eigenfactor' for scholarly journals, popular magazines, PhD theses, and newsprint in the natural and social sciences. The Article Influence is a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations. The Eigenfactor is a measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year.  
Harzing.com. The 'Journal Quality List' is a compilation of academic journal rankings from a number of sources in areas of Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, and Marketing.  
Journal-Ranking.com. Covers the journal titles from the Science Citation Index, representing a portion of the journal titles in Web of Science.  
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank. The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database. These indicators could be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.  

 

 

 
end of page