skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

computer cables
 

Journal articles: how to find them


Steps for finding articles

  1. Search for articles in any of the Library's online databases or indexes.
  2. The article may be full text in the database. Click on the link to view the article. If not full text, go to step three.
  3. Click on links to search the library catalog or full text. If these links are not available, search for the article using the journal name provided in the citation.
  4. The citation includes:
    article title periodical title (journal title) author (s)
    date of publication volume(v) and issue numbers(n) page numbers of the article

See our online tutorial for a specific example.

Citation from an online database

Citation from a print index

Is the article available full text online?

Skyline (periodical title search) - Search Skyline using a periodical title search. An online link to the full text will often be part of the journal record in Skyline. Follow the link to find the issue with your article. See this example with the journal Science.

GoldRush - Search GoldRush to find if the journal is available through an Auraria Library database. Full text databases will be listed along with index only sources.

Getting the article when it's not full text online:

  1. Does the library subscribe to the journal I need?
  • Do a periodical title search in Skyline - or -
  • Search the GoldRush Database
  1. If the library does not have the journal...
  • Request the articles through Interlibrary Loan. Articles will be delivered to your computer desktop in a day or two -or-
  • Go to a local library that may have the journal you need. Search Prospector to determine which library convenient to you has the journal.
Formats of periodicals in Auraria Library Location
 
Online linked through Skyline or Goldrush
Current - most recent 3 to 5 years - original paper format (i.e. like a magazine) alphabetical on library shelves
Microfiche - transparent film alphabetical in file drawers
Microfilm - a roll of film in file drawers by call number
Bound - Several issues attached together into a book format on library shelves by call number
 
end of page