Librarians use a specialized language
to describe their scholarly activities and practices.
Listed below are some common library-related terms used
throughout our Webpages and in the Library that will assist
you in demystifying libraries and the research process.
A
B C D E
F G H
I J K
L M N
O P Q
R S T
U V W
X Y Z
A
Abstract An abstract
is a brief summary of the essential points of a book, pamphlet,
report, or article. Reading an abstract prior to pulling
an article or a book, is helpful in determining whether
or not the document will be useful in your research
Anthology A collection of pieces by more
than one author brought together as one work.
B
Bibliography A bibliography is a list
of reference materials, or works cited, such as books and
articles used for research. It is often located at the end
of an article or book. "Bibliography" may also refer to
a collection of information sources on a specific topic,
such as books and periodical articles, that are published
as a book.
Book Defined by UNESCO in 1964, a book
is a non-periodical printed publication of at least forty-nine
pages, exclusive of cover pages.
Boolean Searching Boolean searching is
a method of combining search terms in a database to limit
results using Boolean (logical) operators: AND, OR and NOT:
AND narrows a search, specifying that
both search terms must be found in the record, though
not necessarily in the same section.
OR broadens a search. Either search
term must be found somewhere in the record.
NOT narrows a search. A record is retrieved
only when the first term is present and not the second.
Bound Refers to several issues of a
periodical which are joined together under one cover.
C
Call Number A call number is made up of
a series of letters, numbers or symbols that identifies
an individual book or material and shows the order in which
the item is stored on a shelf or in a collection of materials.
The call number label is usually located on the spine of
a book. Most university, college and academic libraries
use the Library
of Congress Classification System .
Catalog A database or listing of items
(records) in a library collection. A Union Catalog enables
searching the catalogs of multiple libraries. See Skyline
or Prospector, below.
Check Out In order to borrow a book from
the library for a certain period of time, you must take
the book to the circulation desk and have it charged out
with your ID card.
Circulation Desk The circulation desk
is the place to check out, renew and return library materials.
Citation A citation is composed of author,
article title, publication name, date, volume and pages
from journals, magazines, books or government documents.
A citation is cited in a bibliography, using a specific
style
manual .
Author: Peters, Tom
Title: Make work fun
Source: Executive Excellence volume 16 no. 2,
(Feb 1999): p.9 (1 page)
Controlled Vocabulary A controlled vocabulary
is a set of standard terms used to describe the contents
of items found in a database, and is useful for drawing
together, under a single word or phrase, all the material
that is available on a particular topic. For example, the
words and phrases used by a subject specialist when creating
subject headings for an article, document, or book for a
specific index or catalog are subject headings. Articles
listed in databases such as PsycInfo and ERIC are
given subject headings by their subject specialists, or
indexers. These subject headings are then listed in a thesaurus
designed for that database. This provides consistency in
the chosen words and phrases as well as ensures better search
results on many topics.
Copyright Copyright
is a form of protection provided by the laws of the
United States (title 17, U.S. Code) to the authors of "original
works of authorship," including literary, dramatic, musical,
artistic, and certain other intellectual works. This protection
is available to both published and unpublished works.
D
Database A database is a file or collection
of bibliographic citations or records of materials stored
electronically in a manner that can be searched, retrieved
and manipulated.
Dictionary A work which defines the terms
of a language, profession, discipline, or specialized area
of knowledge. Terms are usually arranged in alphabetical
order. ABRIDGED dictionaries limit themselves to the most
commonly used words. UNABRIDGED dictionaries aim at a much
higher level of completeness.
Due Date The due date is the date before
which library materials on loan should be returned or renewed.
Materials not returned or renewed by designated due date
are subject to fines or loss of borrowing privileges.
E
Electronic Journals Sometimes referred
to as ejournals. Electronic journals are full text or abstracts
of journal articles available electronically on the Internet
or CD-ROMs.
Encyclopedia A work containing factual
articles on subjects in every field of knowledge, usually
arranged alphabetically. A SUBJECT encyclopedia is a similar
work on a single field of activity or a single subject.
An encyclopedia can be one volume or many volumes, depending
on the amount of material included.
F
Field A subdivision of the computer record
used for a defined category or purpose. An example in a
bibliographic record is the author field, where the name
of the author is located.
Full text The entire contents available
of a book, government document, or an article from a
journal magazine or newspaper.
G
Government Publication A government publication
is an official document issued by a government agency such
as a city, county, state, or federal body. Government
publications contain information covering a wide variety
of subjects.
H
Hits Results of a computer search or number of "pages"
found.
Hold To reserve a book that has been
checked out by another user. When the book is returned it
will be put on the "hold" shelf at the Auraria Library Circulation
Desk. You will be notified when the material becomes available.
HTML Hypertext Markup Language. A computer
language behind all Web documents containing the text, images
and links to other documents (such as sound, animation or
movies). Web browsers such as Internet Explorer and Netscape
are programmed to interpret HTML for display. You may view
the HTML code in Netscape by selecting "View" from the pull-down
menu then "Page Source."
Hypertext Developed by Ted Nelson in the
1960s, a path, or link
to other information and objects located on computers
connected to the World Wide Web. George P. Landow (3)
defines hypertext as "the use of the computer to transcend
the linear, bounded and fixed qualities of the traditional
written text." From Hypermedia and Literary Studies
(Paul Delany and George P. Landow, eds.Cambridge,
MA. MIT Press, 1991).
I
Index A list, in alphabetical or numerical
order, of the topics, names, geographic places or authors
that are treated or mentioned in a publication or group
of publications; also contains references to the pages where
the topics are discussed. Author, subject and title indexes
are common; the type of index depends on the type of material
covered in the publication. An index might be for a book,
an encyclopedia, a group of periodicals, newspapers, government
documents, or other item. Also, a search site that builds
a database by indexing individual words from web pages to
allow for keyword searching. Often larger and more comprehensive
than catalog or directory sites.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Interlibrary
loan is a library service allowing you to request books
and journal articles not owned by Auraria Library by filling
out the WebZap
form available on the Library web page.
Internet The Internet
is a global computer network that began as an academic
and research network financed by the U.S. government. Also
see ARPANET
.
IP Address (Internet Protocol number or
address). Every machine that is on the Internet has a unique
IP address.
J
Journal Journals report original
research, discoveries, experimentation, reviews, or essays,
and are written by and for scholars and researchers
in the field. Often published by academic or association
presses, journals are peer reviewed by an editor or specialists
in the field for accuracy.
K
Keyword Searching A type of search that
looks for words in titles, contents notes, and abstracts.
This is a useful search when your information is incomplete
or uncertain. Different electronic systems call keyword
searching by various names, such as "word" or "text searching."
L
Library of Congress Classification
System (LCSH) Books and other materials in the Auraria
Library are given subject headings from the Library of Congress
Subject Headings. The Library of Congress Subject Headings
are the large red, multi-volumed books available for
use at the Reference Desk. You may also search by Library
of Congress Subject Headings within Skyline
, Auraria Library's online catalog as well as click
on a specific heading
within Skyline to obtain more information. Also
see Controlled Vocabulary.
Library Instruction Library
instruction usually consists of a lecture, demonstration
and hands-on practice. It is a service provided by faculty
librarians and staff to show users how to use the library's
resources efficiently.
Library Web Site The Auraria
Library website is accessible at http://library.auraria.edu
. It provides information about Auraria Library
including its resources and services.
Limits Filters applied to the results
of an electronic search. Publication year or dates, additional
search terms, and the written text's language are some common
limits.
Link A unit of connectivity in hypertext;
URL imbedded in another document. Also
called hypertext link.
Loan Period This term refers to the length
of time library materials may be borrowed.
M
Magazine Magazines are usually news-oriented
and articles are written and designed to entertain or persuade,
often written by professional journalists or writers
for a general audience. Articles rarely cite sources or
contain a bibliography, and are published by commercial,
for-profit presses. Magazines are NOT peer reviewed.
Meta-site Search engine that submits a specified search
simultaneously to many different search sites.
Microfiche File-card size sheets of film
on which periodical articles and other documents have been
reproduced in miniature. The contents of microfiche can
be viewed and/or printed by inserting the sheet into a microfiche
reader/printer. Microfiche is in alphabetical order in the
microfiche cabinets located in the Periodicals Reading Room
at Auraria Library.
Microfilm A spool of film on which periodical
articles and other documents have been reproduced in miniature.
The contents of microfilm can be viewed and/or printed by
threading the spool onto a microfilm reader/printer. Microfilm
is available at Auraria Library in the Periodicals Reading
Room. You will need a call number to locate specific film.
Monograph Synonym for book.
N
O
Off-campus access When referring to the
Library's online materials and databases, this means web
access from outside the Auraria Campus computer systems.
The computer labs at the satellite campuses in the Denver
Metropolitan area (ie. Metro North or CCD's Lowry campus)
are part of the Auraria Campus systems and can access the
Library's proprietary material without adjustment.
Online Catalog See Skyline.
Overdue Overdue means the book checked
out by you is late for return. It has not been returned
to the library or renewed by the due date.
P
PDF Portable Document Format or or .pdf or pdf file is
the file format for Adobe Systems' Acrobat software. Many
government publications are now published in .pdf and require
Acrobat certain library
databases such as JSTOR
may also use .pdf to display and print articles. Viewing
a PDF file requires Acrobat Reader, which is built into
most browsers and can be downloaded
free from Adobe.
Peer Review Peer review is the process
of review by qualified outside known as "peers," (experts
in the same field) who identify manuscripts, research,
proposals, grants and other work(s) that are worthy of publication.
In the peer review process, authors submit their work to
scholarly academic journals, who in turn, send manuscripts
to an editorial board or similar group of peers to determine
the article's acceptability, validity, reproducibility of
results, grammar and scholarly use of theory. Authors
may then be asked to edit or revise before their work is
accepted for publication. Also see "Refereed", below
.
Periodicals Publications issued in successive
parts at regular intervals, including journals, magazines
and newspapers. Current periodicals are ones that have arrived
recently within the last six months to two years and are
shelved in the Periodicals
Department . Bound periodicals are back issues which
have been sent to the bindery, covered with a binding, and
placed in the stacks within the Periodicals
Department . See Serials, below.
Phrase Searching Method of keeping specific words together
by grouping them with punctuation, usually double quotes
-- for example, "chocolate chip cookies."
Primary Source Original manuscripts.
contemporary records or documents used by a researcher in
writing a book or article which would then form the secondary
literature. Letters, photographs, interviews, government
documents, historical records, and personal papers are some
examples of primary sources. See Secondary Sources
, below.
Prospector Prospector
is a unified catalog of academic, public and special
libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Through Prospector you
have access to books, sound recordings, films, videotapes
and other materials held in Colorado libraries. With a single
search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections
and have them delivered to Auraria Library. Prospector
is available through Skyline
as a menu choice or directly on the Web at Prospector
.
Q
R
Recall Recall is a service by which you
can request a book that has already been checked out by
another patron. When the book is returned to the library,
it will be held for you and you will be notified.
Record Unique unit of information contained in a database
representing one article, book or report.
Refereed A publication that has been
peer reviewed. This involves external assessment by at least
one independent reviewer. In the case of a journal article
or conference publication, the independent reviewer cannot
be a member of the editorial board. Also see
Peer-Reviewed .
Reference Desk The reference desk is
where you receive in-depth assistance from librarians in
your library research. The desk is located near the reference
collection on the first floor.
Reference Materials Reference materials
are used frequently for general information regarding a
process or a definition of a term, or background information
on a subject. Types of reference materials may include encyclopedias,
dictionaries, indexes, almanacs, handbooks, statistical
directories, biographical handbooks and other related materials.
These types of materials may not be checked
out of the library.
Relevance The method by which search results are ranked.
It differs among search engines but is usually based on
the number of times search words appear, how high they are
on the page, if they are in the title, etc.
Renew Renew is a service which allows
you to extend the loan period for the book that you have
checked out unless another user has recalled the book. You
can renew your books online and check to see how many items
you have checked out from the Library in Skyline
.
Reserves Reserves is a library service
that sets aside required reading/listening/viewing materials
assigned by the professors for their students. You may check
to see if your instructor has placed items on Reserve within
Skyline .
S
Save/Download/Email Citations, full-text
articles, and most other information that you retrieve from
the Library's electronic resources can be downloaded/saved
onto a formatted floppy disk for later use. Most of these
resources can also be emailed to any email account. For
details on how to download or email from specific sources,
see Saving Articles And Web Pages
To A Disk
Search Engine Search engines are huge
databases of Web page files that have been assembled automatically
by a machine. To create these databases, search engines
use "scouts" termed "spiders" or "robots" (bots) to crawl
through Net space from link to link, identifying pages.
Sites with no links and metatags
[undisplayed text in the HTML code of a Web page] Two
types of search engines can be used to search the Net: 1.Individual::Individual
search engines compile their own searchable databases on
the web. Google is
an example of an individual search engine; and
2. Meta:: Meta search engines do not compile databases.
Instead, they search the databases of multiple sets of individual
engines simultaneously. Metacrawler
is an example of a metasearch engine. At present, no
one search engine searches the entire Internet. Here's a
nice chart that illustrates the differences in search
engines.
Secondary Sources For librarians, bibliographic
sources in which books, articles, and other primary
sources are listed. In other fields of inquiry,
secondary sources refer to books and articles which are
written using historical record material as sources.
Serial/Journal/Magazine/Periodical Serials,
journals, magazines and periodicals are types of publications
which are usually published weekly, monthly, quarterly or
annually in successive order.Serials include Periodicals
as well as annual publications, proceedings, and transactions.
Skyline Skyline
is Auraria Library's online catalog. Skyline is an
electronic database listing all the materials owned by the
Library. Library users can search for books, periodical
titles, government documents, maps, and audio-visual materials
held by the Library. Reserve materials and circulation
records may also be viewed. Skyline is available to anyone
with Internet access.
Stacks Library shelves which hold books,
government documents or periodicals are called the stacks.
You need the Library of Congress call number of the material
to locate it in the library stacks. You can find the call
number of a book in Skyline
.
Style Manuals Specialized handbooks that
illustrate accepted forms for citing references in bibliographies,
footnotes, endnotes and research works. Some style manuals
are for general use. Others are published by professional
associations as form guides for articles in journals in
that field of knowledge and research.
Subject Headings Subject headings are
those words or phrases, assigned to a document or book,
that contain the intellectual subject of that resource.
Subject headings are used when searching by a controlled
vocabulary. The most commonly used subject headings in academic
libraries are those devised by the Library
of Congress Classification
System.
SuDocs (Superintendent of Documents) Classification
System A system
of arranging federal government publications in an
alpha/numerical order according to issuing government department
(such as Agriculture Department, Commerce Department, etc.).
T
Telnet Internet service allowing one
computer to log onto another, connecting as if not remote.
Thesaurus Specialized periodical indexes
use a controlled vocabulary (a standardized word or phrase
list). A thesaurus is an alphabetical listing of the terms
currently in use for that index. A thesaurus will also show
relationships between synonyms or related terms, as well
as hierarchical arrangements (broader terms, narrower terms).
Truncation The ability to retrieve records
of search terms that share a common root. In each database,
some sort of symbol (a colon, an asterisk, a dollar sign)
is placed at the end of the group of letters forming the
root search term. Use the longest root possible to increase
the accuracy of your search. For example: librar* will find
library, librarian, libraries, etc.
U
Union Catalog A database that contains
the holdings of multiple libraries. Examples are Prospector
and ACLIN for
Colorado libraries.
URL An acronym for "Uniform Resource
Locator," the unique address of a resource on the Internet.
World Wide Web URLs begin with "http://."
V
Volume A number of issues of a periodical,
usually a year.
For example, the volume this article appears
in is volume 62:
Journal of Environmental Health June 2000 v62
i10 p38 ("New Evidence Confirms That Earth's
Surface Temperature Is Rising" )
W
WebZap WebZap is an electronic system
for requesting books and journal articles which are not
available as part of Auraria Library's collection. Users
must complete a one time only user profile that is stored
within the WebZap system that is available for future logins.
World Wide Web Also known as the Web.
The Web is part of the Internet that uses a special language
called HTML, or hypertext markup language, to create paths
which lead to further objects and information. For
historical descriptions leading up to the Web, see W3C
.
X
Y
Z
Zine(s) "Zines (pronounced "zeens")
are cut-and-paste, sorry this is late, self-published magazines
reproduced at Kinko's or on the sly at work and distributed
through mail order and word of mouth. They touch on sex,
music, politics, television, movies, work, food, whatever."
From the Book of Zines
.
Taken in part from : Rutgers
University Libraries , Valparaiso
University Libraries , Universityof
Michigan and International
Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science .
|