skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home »Find it »General guides »Search engines
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

computer cables
  Subject Guides
General Guides
  Class Guides
    
 
  Home
  Site index
  Hours
  Contact us
  Comments
 
search engines

Directories | General Search Engines | Images | MetaSearch Engines  | Search Help | Specialty Search Engines

Search Help

If the Internet were a book, search engines would be the index.

Which search engine you use and how well you use it determines the success of your search. There are three types of search engines: directories or catalogs, general search engines or web indexes, and meta-search engines. 

Typically, a search engine works by sending out a program called a spider to fetch as many documents as possible. Another program, called an indexer, then reads these documents and creates an index based on the words contained in each document. All search engines have help screens, which have information about searching techniques.

search engine top picks  

Listed below are Auraria Librarian and staff top search engines:

About.com

about.com is a portal site that contains approximately 700 subject areas. Each subject has a subject expert; free downloads, news and other information.

all the web

A joint project of Transfer (FAST) and the Dell Computer Corporation; do a Web search that includes all media types, MP3 and FTP searching too.

Alta Vista

One of the largest and most comprehensive search engines available, Alta Vista searches the entire HTML file. Use Babel Fish to translate languages; Also search for images, MP3/audio, videos, products and entertainment.

Dogpile

Searches the Web using Yahoo!, Lycos, excite, GoTo.com, PlanetSearch, Thunderstone, Lycos, WebCrawler, InfoSeek, Excite,  AltaVista; FTP sites and Usenet news groups may also be searched.

Google

Find maps, phone numbers, U.S. Government, Linux, Apple, Universities, & BSD. Winner of the 2000 SearchEngineWatch Award.

HotBot  

HotBot enables users to sort results by date or media type such as JavaScript or Shockwave. You can also choose filters.

Metacrawler

People find, yellow pages, investor resources and a powerful meta-search engine that goes to other search engines to find a match.

Scirus

Launched by Elsevier Science, the leading international publisher of scientific information, Scirus because Focuses only on web sites containing scientific content and searches both free and journal sources.

Yahoo!

Yahoo! directory is an online guide to the World Wide Web. It is created by a staff of editors who visit and evaluate Web sites, and then organize them into subject-based categories and sub-categories.

Directories | General Search Engines | Images | MetaSearch Engines  | Search Help | Specialty Search Engines

Directories

AnyWho Directories Search for 1-800 numbers.

Argus Clearinghouse A selective collection of topical guides designed by librarians.

INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections based on Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). 

Lycos Internet guide, by subject.

Open Directory Project Sites are selected, categorized, and annotated by "volunteer editors."

Yupimsn.com Yupi.com es un Portal que ofrece su motor de búsqueda que enlaza con mas de 150 millones de páginas web, 12 canales de navegación organizados por tema (por ejemplo, noticias, deportes, entretenimiento, salud, etc.), anuncios clasificados, foros de discusión y tarjetas virtuales.

back to top

General Search Engines  

excite Concept searching is a strong feature for narrowing down the search. 

Invisible Web Calls itself "the search engine of search engines," this site indexes over 10,000 databases, archives, and search engines.

LookSmart

Teoma Teoma analyzes the Web "as it is organically organized"-in naturally-occurring communities that are about or related to the same subject-to determine which sites are most relevant".

back to top

MetaSearch Engines

Ixquick Ixquick searches many prominent engines simultaneously (in parallel). Search for web page searches, news, MP3 and pictures.

Researchville Enter your query just once, and search over 130 databases, including today's news.

Search.Com Search over 250 search engines.

Webcrawler  Search multiple engines at once: Google, FAST, Ask Jeeves and Inktomi.

Webtaxi Enhances the existing capabilities of current versions of Netscape Navigator, and was developed to offer efficient point and click access to search engines, newsgroups and thousands of hard-to-reach databases.

back to top

Search Help  

A Few Search Tips

Spelling. Spelling counts. If you spell a word incorrectly, you will only bring up other incorrectly spelled words. Also, if there are multiple spellings of a term, use all of them to bring up appropriate sites, for example: Qadhafi, Gadhafi, Qaddafi.

Help Screens. Learn to read and use help screens-they are the keys to being able to search the web effectively. 

Capitalization. Use lower case to match words in either upper or lower case. For exact matches (usually in the case of proper names, like New York) use the upper case. 

Evaluate. Know your sources for information. Who is the author or the organization represented? Be critical and double check information. 

Be Specific. Use the most specific term, for example use the term Poodle instead of dog.

Looking for Articles? Start with the Databases page at Auraria Library. Search engines are NOT very useful for finding articles in published sources.

The following sites also contain valuable help on how to effectively search the WWW! 

Guides to Specialized Search Engines

False Oracles: Consumer Reaction to Learning the Truth About How Search Engines Work

Internet Navigation

Search Engine Watch The latest news on your favorite search engines.

Searching the Internet @ Scout 

Search Tools Tips on smart searching.

back to top

Specialty Search Engines

Domain Searching

Amnesi Search for a domain name when you don't remember the exact name. 

Anonymizer Anonymously search the Net. 

AskReggie  A search engine that searches the InterNIC Whois database.

SearchEdu.com Over 20 million university and education pages indexed and ranked in order of popularity.

SearchMil.com Search for military Web pages.

Government

Federal Web Locator Search for federal agencies on the Web.

FedWorld Search federal agency Web sites.

GILS Government Information Locator Service. 

Google Uncle Sam Retrieves state and local government publications.

SearchGov.com  

Images 

Alta Vista Also search for images, MP3/audio, videos, products and entertainment.  

Colorado Digitization Project Access to digital images made available by Colorado's libraries, museums, archives and historical societies.

Fagan Finder Footage.net A powerful gateway to over 1.6 million indexed shots, which include stock, archival, and news footage. 

Gograph.com  A graphics database to several thousand animated GIF's, icons, photos, and clip art.

Google image search

Historical Photography Collection At Denver Public Library; contains more than 50,000 historic photographs online. 

Images from the History of Medicine From the National Library of Medicine.

Lycos RichMedia Search for TV, music, radio, video and FTP files.

Perseus Image Browser Located at Tufts University; the image browser allows access to more than 30,000 images in several ways.

The Picture Collection From Time, Inc., is a commercial site with pictures and images for sale. 

Smithsonian Online Collections Access to the digitized image collections from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.

Smithsonian: Science Service Historical Image Collection, 1926-1976; Collection of images with their original captions from Science Service.

UNESCO Publications - Photobank

WebSeek A video tool for the Web.

News & People 

CataList Browse any of the 27,000 public LISTSERV lists on the Internet, search for mailing lists of interest, and get information about LISTSERV host sites. 

Deja.com Search newsgroups @ google.

SpeechBot An experimental index of popular US radio shows. 

SwitchBoard Find businesses, people and email addresses.

WebCrawler People find, stock quotes and Daily Toolbox.

WebExhibits  

Software Related Engines

Adobe PDF Online From Adobe, a search engine that indexes over one million .pdf documents.

FTP Search  Search for FTP files.

Lycos MultiMedia Search for TV, music, radio, video and FTP files.

Women

FeMiNa Girls and women online.

back to top

 
end of page