skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

how to search databases
 
How to search databases

We focus in this section on the use of library databases rather than internet search engines. In an article index you can search very specific topics and retrieve the narrow focus that you want. You can revise your search, and save your strategy to use in combination with other ideas.

Create a search strategy.

Put your research idea in the form of a question (or at least a really good statement):

What is the relationship between levels of lead in the environment and behavioral problems in children?

Select the key terms that best define your research:

My definitive terms are lead and behavioral problems and children. But there are other terms I can use. Try making a chart of useful terms that you can search, revise it as you do your research.

lead behavior problems children
lead poisoning delinquency or delinquent child
lead exposure violence or violent youth
  aggression or aggressive adolescents
 

There are many tools for finding related terms. Databases often contain an online thesaurus and the library has print copies of many of these. Also, read about your topic and collect background information. Run a search and look at the subject headings used in a relevant article. Revise your search.

Put your terms in a search statement:

(lead exposure or lead poisoning) and (aggress* or violen* or delinquen*) and (child* or youth or adolesc*)

Most databases have an advanced search feature that lets you enter your terms, combine synonyms with or and concepts with and . Also, notice that many of the terms in the example have the same root word but a different ending. Most databases will let you put in a wildcard or truncate (*) the term to allow various endings with one root word.

Search, examine the results and revise.

Depending on the database, you may have to revise this search and make the lead term more specific: lead levels, lead contamination, lead exposure or lead poisoning. Question your strategy, spelling, or database choice if you get unexpected results! Ask someone for help! Especially a librarian.

Check the complete record of a good article and use the subject terms for a new or revised search. 

This is the basics of good search construction. It is a technique that can be used in any database, you may need to make a few adaptations depending on the format of the database.

 

 
end of page