Books, government publications, cd-roms, videos, maps, journals, internet resources.
Skyline online library catalog -- books, government publications, cd-roms, videos, maps, journals, internet resources. Keywords: geographic information systems. Can limit to location and format.
Journal Databases -- Specialized subjects
BIOSIS (Ebsco) (Can search this and Ebsco databases above simultaneously.)
Index to biological and biomedical journal literature. Includes abstracts. For 1949 -1994, see Biological Abstracts in print, Auraria Library, 1st floor. (Call Number: INDEX QH 301 .B37)
Coverage: abstracts 1995-
Engineering Village (Elsevier)
Engineering Village 2 offers resources in the applied science and engineering fields. It provides access to Compendex and INSPEC.
Coverage: about 1969-
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
A multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes TOXLINE and Conference Papers Index.
Coverage: 1967-
GEOBASE (OCLC)
Citations from worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology. Updates monthly.
Coverage: 1980-
GeoRef (Ebsco) (Can search this and Ebsco databases above simultaneously.)
Citations for U.S. and international journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and maps in Geology and the Earth Sciences.
Coverage: North American geology from 1785-; international geology from 1933-
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Includes articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and a few in the fine arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication
Note: Links in e-mails sent by this database will not allow access from off campus. From off campus re-search the database for the specific article.
Web of Science (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. Tutorial on how to use WOS. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge.
Journal Databases -- Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
(Can search this and Ebsco databases above simultaneously.)
OneFile (includes Academic and General) (Gale / Infotrac)
U.S. Government Internet Sites for Data
Better Assessment Science Integrating Point & Nonpoint Sources (BASINS) (EPA) -- BASINS is a multi-purpose environmental analysis system that integrates a geographical information system (GIS), national watershed data, and state-of-the-art environmental assessment and modeling tools into one convenient package.
EarthExplorer (USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science Center, EROS).
Query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey.
EPA Geospatial Data Access Project
EPA Region 8 (Denver) source page for GIS data. Links to federal and state sources of GIS data.
geodata.gov : U.S. maps and data; "your one stop for federal, state, and local geographic data." Includes biology, environment, geology, hurricanes, inland water, oceans.
GIS Data Depot
National Atlas.
National Geospatial Data Clearinghouse --
The Geospatial Data Clearinghouse is a collection of over 250 spatial data servers,
that have digital geographic data primarily for use in Geographic Information Systems
(GIS), image processing systems, and other modelling software. These data collections
can be searched through a single interface based on their descriptions, or "metadata."
NBII Metadata Clearinghouse (USGS).
The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Clearinghouse is an initiative to help you locate, evaluate, and access biological data and information from a distributed network of cooperating data and information sources. The Clearinghouse also provides access to software tools to use in analyzing, integrating, and applying biological data. The NBII Metadata Clearinghouse contains standardized metadata-based descriptions of biological data sets and information products. Metadata descriptions follow the NBII's Biological Data Profile of the Federal Geographic Data Committee's (FGDC's) Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata.
SEDAC: Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
University of Virginia Scholars' Lab Digital Resources
Water Resources Maps and GIS Information (USGS)
Water Resources NSDI Node (USGS) -- GIS datasets.
Wetlands Geodatabase: Wetlands Digital Data. (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)
Colorado Internet sites for GIS Data
GIS Mining Data -- Colorado Division of Reclamation Mining and Safety.
Southwest Region Internet Road Map of Natural Resource Data and Information (University of New Mexico)
CD-ROMS with GIS data in Auraria Library -- the U.S. government produces many CD-ROMS with data in a GIS format. Go to Skyline Catalog, and limit by Location to Government Publications and by format to CDROM/DVD TEXT. These can be checked out. Examples:
Bottom photographs from the Pulley Ridge deep coral reef. U.S Geological Survey, 2004.
GOVPUB CD-ROM I 19.76:2004-1228/DVD
Global GIS Database: Digital atlas of Africa. USGS Flagstaff, AZ, Field Survey, 2001.
GOVPUB CD-ROM I 19.121:62-B
Salmonid habitat restoration planning rsource for San Mateo and Santa Cruz counties. U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Coastal Services Center, 2004.
GOVPUB CD-ROM C55.54:SA3/DVD
|