skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

theater
 
Theatre


This guide recommends research resources for the study of Theater, including performance, production techniques, and playwriting, as well as criticism and commentary on playwrights and dramatic writings.

Also use this guide to learn how to find plays and audition pieces in the Library's collection and beyond.

Article Databases  
The database links below will help you find journal and newspaper articles related to your Theater topic.
 
Multi-subject databases Academic Search Premier and others.
Theater databases Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Others.
News and Newspaper databases Lexis Nexis and others.
Literature Databases MLA Bibliography and others.
Communication databases Communications and Mass Media Complete and others.

 

Finding Plays and Monologues in the Library: Representative Types of Plays.  
Click on the sample suject headings in the grid below to find plays in the Auraria Library representing those headings.
 
American Drama American Drama - 20th Century
American Drama - African American Authors American Drama- Women Authors
Children's Plays Drama - Collections
Drama Man Woman Relationships Drama - Medieval
Drama - Gay English Drama
Greek Drama Monologue Collections and Dialogue Collections
Musicals One-Act Plays
Television Plays  

 

Finding Plays in the Library's Collection Using Play Indexes and the Library's Catalog: Skyline  
Plays in the Library's collection can sometimes be found through a simple Author (playwright's name) or Title search in Skyline, the Library's catalog. If the play you're interested in doesn't appear through that method, find out what collection the play you want is included in using one of the indexes below. Once you've determined the name of the collection (example: Best American Plays) search for the collection in Skyline by the title of the collection.
 
Play Index. This online index makes it possible to more easily identify plays for production, class performance, or study by a variety of criteria including: number of female/male characters; total cast size; genre; and topic, as well as title and playwright . Once the Index identifies a play, it shows full publication details so that you know if the play is just available as a single play or also part of a collection, either of which the Library may own. Identifying plays in collections is useful since it's not always easy to find, using a library catalog, what plays may be 'hidden' inside a collection of plays. See also the free site Dooley's.com. The print version of the Play Index, updated only through 2002, is in the Library's Reference stacks at REF Z 5781.P53.
Inter-Play: An Online Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals  
Other play indexes (in print format, located in the Library) These indexes, including, help identify and locate plays by subject, title, etc.
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Between 1900 and 1985. READY REF PN1655.Z9 O87 1988. An index to play collections searchable by author and title.
Theatre in Video. Includes BBC Shakespeare plays. This is an online collection of full-length stage plays, plays re-shot for film, and documentaries.

 

Finding Full-Text Plays Online
The majority of playscripts aren't available full-text online at no charge. But some are!
 
Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Electronic Text Archives and Plays Online
Historical Database of Folk Play Scripts. A database of full scripts and text fragments for about more than 200 British and Irish folk plays.
eServer Drama Collection.
Project Gutenberg. Includes texts in the 'public domain.'

 

Books  
The catalogs below will help you identify books and media items related to your Theater/drama topic.
Skyline Skyline is the Library's catalog. It points you to the Library's books, DVD and VHS recordings, sound recordings, government publications, and more. There are several ways to search including Keyword searching. Examples: stage lighting; acting; stanislavsky; children's plays; playwriting
Prospector Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library owns a particular book. Campus students and faculty members can order the book at no charge through Prospector if it's available at another library.
NetLibrary The Library subscribes to this database of online, full text books.

Books shelved on the second floor may be checked out of the Library. Within each collection area, library materials are arranged and located by Library of Congress call numbers .  Most of the library materials in the areas of theater and related areas are assigned the call numbers as listed:

  • Costume - GT 500-2370
  • The Monologue - PN 1530
  • The Dialogue - PN 1551
  • The Performing Arts - PN 1560-1590
  • Drama History in General; composition of Plays - PN 1600-1988
  • Dramatic Representation: Acting, Stagecraft, etc. - PN 2000-3307
  • Collections of General Dramatic Literature - PN 6110.5-6120
  • Clothing and Dress - TX 340

Tip: Link to the guide 'Find Books, Videos, and DVD's' to learn how to request  books and other materials not available at Auraria Library using either the Interlibrary Loan Illiad service; in-Library requests at the Interlibrary Loan service window; WorldCat; or Prospector.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories, How-To Books, and Companions
 
Acting: 'How to' Books
Dramatists Sourcebook. Theatre Communications Group. Annual. The annual 'bible' of opportunities for playwrights. REF PN2289 .D73.
Playwriting books
Stage design: 'How to' Books
Summer Theater Directory. Dorset Theatre Festival and Colony House. Annual. REF PN2289 .S8
Theater encyclopedias
Theater companions
Theater dictionaries
Theater production and direction: 'How to' Books

 

Criticism and Reviews  
 
American Drama Criticism: Interpretations, 1890-1977. REF PS332.Z9 A54 An index that leads you to criticism on American plays that's been published in books and periodicals.
Books There are many books of criticism on particular authors or particular plays. Do a keyword search combining the name of an author (playwright) with the word 'criticism.' You can also try combining the title of a play with the word 'criticism.' Examples: chekhov criticism or romeo juliet criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticisim Auraria Library subscribes to this database of full text literary criticism.
Critical Survey of Drama. 8 Volumes. Frank N. Magill, ed. REF PN1625 .C68 2003 Provides biographical/critical overviews of major authors.
European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975. PN1721 .P3 1977 An index that leads you to criticism on European plays that's been published in books and periodicals.
Theater Review Archives from The New York Times. The NYTimes.com archive offers free access to most theater reviews published since 1996. Reviews of other selected shows dating back to 1905 are also available. Browse shows by show title or show year.
Lexis Nexis Use to locate theater reviews from the New York Times and other national and international newspapers.  Choose the News category 'Arts & Sports News.' Then choose the news source 'book, movie, music and play reviews.'
Literature Databases Scholarly writings on dramatic works in such databases as the MLA Bibiliography and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Literature: English and American: Critical Sources Guide created by Auraria Library literature specialist.
Masterplots II. Drama Series, Frank N.Magill, ed.. REF PN 6112.5 M37 1990 Covers more than 300 20th century plays,mostly in English. Each listing supplies plot summary, critical analysis, and further references.
News and Newspapers Reviews and discussions of plays often appear in newspapers.
The New York Times Theatre Reviews, 1920-1970. REF PN2266 .N48 Print reprints of New York Times theatre reviews in the Library's reference collection, arranged chronologically.

 

Internet Resources  
   
AmericanTheater Web American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
Backstage.com .BackstageJobs.com
Colorado Dramatists Colorado Theatre Guild
Complete Guide to the Alexander Technique Costume sites
CurtainUp: The Internet Theater Magazine of Reviews, Features, Annotated Listings Dooley's.com: Character (Cast Number) Search. Search for plays by number/type of cast members.
Internet Broadway Database International Theatre Design Archive
Make-Up-FX Musicals101.com: The Cyberencyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film
Obies Award Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923.
Playbill Ringling Collection: Images of 19th Century Actors and Actresses.
Theatre History on the Web Theater Scrapbooks
Tony Awards  

 

Theater Organizations
 
Actor's Equity Association
American Association of Community Theatre
American Federation of Television and Radio Artists
Dramatists Guild: The Professional Association of Playwrights, Composers, and Lyricists
New Dramatists
Screen Actor's Guild
SSDCOnline: The Society for Stage Directors and Choreographers
Stage Managers' Association

 

Biography: Playwrights, Actors, and Others  
 
Biographical Databases Includes Biographies Plus; (Marquis) Who's Who, Biography and Genealogy Master Index, and others.
Books Do a Keyword search in Skyline using a name and the word 'biography.' For example: antonin artaud biography; neil simon biography
Contemporary Authors An online database of complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 90,000 authors, including playwrights, in the U.S. and around the world.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. Ref PN2220 .B6 2004. Includes biographical information.
Obituaries in the Performing Arts. Print collection in the Library's Reference stacks.
Who Was Who in the Theatre: 1912-1976. 4 Volumes. Ref PN2597 .W52. A biographical dictionary of actors, actresses, directors, playwrights, and producers of the English-speaking theatre.

 

Theater Directories, including Employment and Internship Opportunities
 
ArtSearch: Use this regularly updated online bulletin to identify long-term theater employment opportunities as well as information on summer internships and employment.
Dramatists Sourcebook. The annual 'bible' of opportunities for playwrights. In the Library's Reference Collection. REF PN2289 .D73.
HCD: Hollywood Creative Directory. Online guide to Hollywood contacts.
Summer Theatre Directory - In the Library's Reference Collection. REF PN2289 .S8.
TCG Theatre Directory - In the Library's Reference Collection. REF PN2289 .T54.
Website Listing Theaters in Denver and Boulder.

 

Buying Plays  
The sites below offer plays for sale.  
Applause Theatre and Cinema Books Baker's Plays
Drama Book Shop Dramatists Play Service
Internet Theatre Bookshop Music Theater International
Pioneer Drama Service Playwrights Canada Press
Samuel French Tams-Witmark Music Library

 

 
end of page