skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Biographies

 

Biography is defined as "an account of a person's life written, composed, or produced by another." This short guide lists representative print sources in the area of biography, including databases and Web sites that will guide you to biographical and related sources.

For starters, general biography is classified in the CT section of the Reference area and the second floor of the Library. Specific biographical materials, however, may cataloged in their assigned subject areas. For example, Notable Native Americans is shelved in the E 89 area, the Indians of North America -- Biography section.

DATABASES

To search biography-related databases, see the Biography database list.

REFERENCE MATERIALS

You can also find biographical materials on specific individuals, general biography or historical periods by doing a word search through Skyline .

General Biographical

   

American National Biography

REF CT 213.A68 1999

Current Biography Yearbook; also see Biographies Plus Illustrated

REF CT 100.C8

Index to Marquis Who's Who Publications

REF CT 210.M37

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography

REF CT 214.N277

Pseudonyms and Nicknames Dictionary

REF CT 120.P8 1982

Who Was Who

Titles cataloged in Skyline

Who's Who

Ready REF DA 28 .W6

 

Arts and Humanities

     

African-American Writers: a Dictionary

 

REF PS 153.N5A3444 2000

Asian American Biography

 

REF E 184.O6 A8253 1995

Dictionary of Hispanic Biography

 

REF CT 1343.D53 1996

Dictionary of Literary Biography

 

REF PS 129 .D49

Distinguished Asian American Political and Governmental Leaders

 

REF E 184.O6 N35 2002

Longman Dictionary of Poets: the Lives and Works of 1001 Poets in the English Language

 

REF PN 1111 .B6 1985b

Notable Native Americans

 

REF E 89 .N67 1995

Oxford Companion to English Literature

 

REF PR 19.O94 2000

Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists in the 20th Century

 

REF N 6490.P72 2000

 

 

Historical Biographies

 

The Cold War, 1945-1991: Leaders and Other Important Figures in the United States and Western Europe

 

REF D 839.5.C65 1992

Dictionary of World Biography; also known as Great Lives from History:

 

REF CT 104 .D54 1998

volume 1. Ancient World

volume 2. Middle Ages

volume 3. Renaissance

volume 4 The 17th and 18th centuries

volume 5-6  The 19th century

volume7-8-9. The 20th century

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing

 

REF D 14 .E53 1999

Historical Encyclopedia of American Women Entrepreneurs : 1776 to the Present

 

REF HF 3023.A2 O64 2000

Lifelines : Famous Contemporaries from 600 B.C. to 1975

 

REF CT 104 .W45

Supreme Court Justices : Illustrated Biographies, 1789-1993

 

REF KF 8744 .S86 1993

Who's Who in the Middle Ages

 

REF CT 114.S56 2001

Who's Who in Modern History, 1860-1980

 

REF CT 168.P34 1981

 

International Resources

 

Dictionary of International Biography

 

REF  CT 101.D5

The International Who's Who

 

REF  CT 120.I5

The International Who's Who of Women

 

REF  CT 3235 .T58

Who's Who in the World

 

REF  CT 120.W5

Who's Who in the Middle East (also called The Middle East and
North Africa)

 

Ready REF >DS 49 .M5

 

Science and Technology

 

African American Firsts in Science and Technology

REF Q 141 .W43 1999

American Women in Science: a Biographical Dictionary

REF Q 141.B254 1994

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists

REF Q 141 .B528 2000

Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists

REF Q 141.B53 1994

Dictionary of Scientific Biography

REF Q 141 .C55

Encyclopedia of World Scientists

REF Q  141.O25 2001

International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists

REF Q 141 .O27 2002

Who's Who in Science and Engineering

REF Q 141.W576

 

Social Sciences

 

American Environmental Leaders : From Colonial Times to the
Present

REF GE 55 .B43 2000

Biographical Dictionary of Modern Peace Leaders

REF JX 1962.A2 B56 1985

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology

REF BF 109.A1B56 1997

Citizen Action Encyclopedia: Groups and Movements That Have
Changed America

REF JS 303.5 .H35 2002

Columbia Dictionary of Political Biography

REF D 108.C65 1991

Cops, Crooks, and Criminologists: An International Biographical
Dictionary of Law Enforcement

REF HV 7911.A1A94 2000

Encyclopedia of Lawmen, Outlaws, and Gunfighters

REF F 596 .M48 2003

Environmental Activists

REF GE 55 .E57 2001

Who's Who in Finance and Industry

REF HF 3023.A2 W5

WEB SITES

Academy of Achievement
Biography -- At Infoplease.com.
Biography Center
Biographical Dictionary
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774 to Present
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Dead People Server

Distinguished Women of Past and Present

Encyclopedia of Soviet Writers

NASA Astronaut Biographies

National Inventors Hall of Fame

Nobel Prize Internet Archive

Poets Corner
Presidents of the United States of America

Prominent African Americans

Who Named It?

Women in Architecture and Interior Design

Women's International Center

 
end of page