skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

Domesday Book
 
Book Reviews

This guide leads you to representative databases, web sites, and paper indexes that will assist you in locating book reviews in newspapers, magazines, journals, and other publications.

If you have trouble locating book review sources, consult a reference librarian for assistance.  Keep in mind that many books are never reviewed.

Related subject guides for literary criticism: English and American Literature and Theater Resources.

Types of Book Reviews  
 
A good critical book or literary review, in addition to describing the contents of a book, will supply an analytical study of the contents. For non-fiction books, it will also discuss an author's argument, style, evidence, and conclusions. A book/literature reviewer may also compare a particular book with similar works. Book reviews and literary criticism may also judge a work's contribution to a field or knowledge base, and supply substantial biographical information about the author.
   
Popular book reviews are found in mainstream publications, ranging from Newsweek to the local newspaper. If you want popular reviews, search publications up to one year after the book was published, reprinted, or issued as a new editon. Note that some, though not all, popular book reviews may be quite short.  
   
Scholarly reviews are found in academic journals that are peer reviewed. Search publications for up to three years after the book was published when seeking scholarly reviews.  (What's a scholarly journal? Click here for a text explanation. Click here for an audio explanation).  

 

Book Review Resources: Multi-Subject Databases and print indexes leading to reviews of books on all topics.
 
Book Review Databases This cluster of databases includes Book Review Index, Book Review Digest, and others. These lead to well-known book review resources and more.
Multi-subject databases These databases not only lead you to articles on many topics but to book reviews as well.
Book Review Digest - print Print format index to reviews written from 1906 - 1982. Post-1983 this index is available via the Library's online subscription.
News and Newspaper Databases These databases lead to the New York Times, including its Book Review; The Denver Post, and hundreds of others. Almost all newspapers contain a section of book reviews.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974 Print format index. In the Reference Index collection: Z1035.A1 C64.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Useful for locating commentary on books written in the nineteenth century. See also: Internet Library of Early Journals and the Making of America from Cornell and the Making of America from the University of Michigan.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This database contains citations to articles, including book reviews, from 1890-1982.
TLS: Times Literary Supplement TLS, full-text online, covers 2000 to the present. A print format index to TLS covering 1902-1980 is located in Reference Index area. TLS also is indexed online via several databases, with the Book Review Index Online offering the longest coverage (1965-present). Accessible in bound format for most of the period 1902-1964; available on microfilm up to 2000; online from 2000 on.

 

Subject-Specific Resources: Using Article Databases to Find Book Reviews  
 
Use the Article Databases page for finding book reviews for particular subjects. Choose the appropriate database(s) by selecting your subject from the pull-down menu next to the 'List databases by subject' choice on the Article Databases page.  
  • Example 1: Choosing the subject heading 'Philosophy' will lead to such databases as the Philosophers' Index. The Philosophers' Index points to many resources of interest to the philosophy researcher, including book reviews.
 
  • Example 2: Choosing the subject heading 'Science' will lead to such databases as ScienceDirect which will contain book reviews in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences.
 
  • Example 3: Choosing the subject heading 'History' will lead to such databases as America, History, and Life and Historical Abstracts; both excellent places to find book reviews dealing with American history and world history.
 
  • Example 4: Choosing the subject heading 'Psychology' will lead to databases such as PsycInfo, which contains leads to many lengthy book reviews in the field of psychology.
 

 

Subject-Specific Book Reviews and Criticism: Using Specialized Resources  
In the table below are resources that specialize solely in book reviews and literary criticism for particular topics and topic areas.
African American/African Studies Writings

Africana Book Reviews, 1885-1945: An Index to Books Reviewed in Selected English-language Publications. Print format index located in the 2nd floor circulating collection.

Black Issues Book Review

Other Library book review resources: African American Authors

See also Literature.

Anthropology

ARD: The Anthropology Review Database

Reviews in Anthropology

Asian American Writings

Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent. Print format index in the Reference stacks.

Other Library book review resources: Asian American Writers

Children's Literature KidsReads.com.
Communications/Media Communication Book Notes Quaterly.
Economics and History EH.net. Economics and history book reviews.
Education

Education Book Reviews.

Education Review: A Journal of Book Reviews.

ERIC. Limit search to 'Book/Product' Reviews under the heading 'Publication Type.'

 

Gay/Lesbian Writings

Gay and Lesbian Review Worldwide.

Lambda Book Report.

History (see also Humanities and Economics and History)

Reviews in American History.

Reviews in History: This e-journal publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest.

Humanities

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974. Print format index. In the Reference Index collection: Z1035.A1 C65.

H-Net. An online scholarly review resource for Humanities and Social Sciences publications.

Latino/Latina American Writings/Latin American Writings

Latino and Latina Writers.Print set in the Reference stacks.

Modern Latin American Literature. (Pre-1975).

Notable Latino Writers.

Other Library resources: Hispanic American Authors

Other Library resources: Latin American Authors

Law and Politics

Law and Politics Book Review.

Perspectives on Political Science.

Literature

See also: Related subject guides for literary criticism: English and American Literature and Theater Resources.

Children's Literature Review. Print set in the Reference stacks.

Contemporary Literary Criticism. Lengthy critical excerpts.

Magill Book Reviews. Short reviews of literary works.

Masterplots collections. Print collections housed in the Reference stacks containing literary criticism. Collections specialize in various literary forms (including poetry, drama, short story) and author groups (including African American, World, and Women).

Medieval Studies Medieval Review Online.
Poetry

Contemporary Reviews of Romantic Poetry. Print volume located in the 2nd floor circulating collection.

Early Reviews of English Poets. Print volume located in the 2nd floor circulating collection.

Guide to American Poetry Explication. Print volume located in the Reference stacks.

The Romantics Reviewed: Contemporary Reviews of British Romantic Writers. Print set located in the 2nd floor circulating collection.

See also Literature.

Reviews of Reference Books

ARBA (American Reference Book Annual) Online.

Reference and Research Books News. Reviews of new reference works in all disciplines.

Reference Books Bulletin. Annually released volumes located in the 2nd floor circulating collection.

Reference Revews.

Religion

Review of Biblical Literature.

Reviews in Religion and Theology.

Science and Technology

E-Streams: Electronic reviews of science & technology references, covering engineering, agriculture, medicine, and science.

SciTech Book News

Science Fiction

Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1923-1973. Print index in the 2nd floor Circulating collection.

Survey of Science Fiction Literature: Five Hundred 2,000-word essay reviews of world-famous science fiction novels with 2,500 bibliographical references. Five volume print set in the 2nd floor Circulating collection.

Social Sciences

Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals. (1964-1974) Three volume print index located in the 2nd floor circulating collection.

H-Net. An online scholarly review resource for Humanities and Social Sciences publications.

Women

Women's Review of Books.

Other Library resources: Women authors.

See also Literature.

   

 

Other Online Book Review Sites and Publications: A Selected List  
 
Acqweb's Directory of Book Reviews on the Web.
Amazon.com. Some reviews written by experts and noted publications tucked among the reader comments.
BookSpot Book Reviews.  
Yahoo! Book Reviews.  

 

How to Write a Book Review  
 
A Concise Guide to Writing a Critical Book Review. Thanks to the University of Alberta library for creating this. This page also links to several other similar guides.

 

 

 
end of page