skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
U.S. Company and Industry Information

This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on U.S. company and industry information, available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. It also suggests a research strategy or plan of action you can follow while doing intensive research or simply looking for information on a topic.

Article databases
Companies major database: Hoover's Online
Industries major database: Business and Company Resource Center
Business major database: Business Source Premier
Industrial Psychology major database: PsycINFO

 

TIP: Company Information

When searching for information on a particular company, first determine if it is either public or private. If it's a private company, finding information on it can be difficult. To find out if a company is public or private, check the resouces indicated above, many of which will indicate if a company is one or the other.

TIP: Industry Information

When searching for industry information, be aware that many databases and directories make use of industrial codes, from the NAICS ( North American Industry Classification System)and/or the SIC Manual (Standard Industrial Classification) code systems. Each industry is assigned a numerial code by these sytems. see also the NAICS/SIC Correspondence Tables.

Directories and Indexes in Print
U.S. Company Directories United States Corporate Directories
International Business Directories Directories designed for "International Business"
Industrial Statistics United States Industry Statistic Periodicals
Value Line Investment Survey Value Line in different formats throughout the library
Business Ratios Ratio analysis
Colorado Company and Industry Information Denver and Colorado company directories
Business Periodical Indexes Print indexes available for older material

 

Books, media, etc: Library Catalogs

Use Skyline Auraria Library's online catalog to locate materials Auraria Library owns. If you cannot locate materials within Skyline, search Colorado's union catalog Prospector.

If you are still having difficulty locating items for your research, use WorldCat to search for books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials. Request items we do not own through the ILLiad InterLibrary Loan system. If you are a first time user you will need to register. Registration and delivery is free for all students.

If Auraria Library does not have the item, we can get it!

Internet Resources

Big Charts | Bloomberg | Business.com | CEO Express | EDGAR | Corporate Grantmaker Search | Guidestar | Idealist | International Trade Administration | Librarians' Index to the Internet | Price's List of Lists | Standard and Poors Industry Surveys | Statistical Abstracts of the United States | Small Business Administration | SBA Online Women's Business Center | U.S. Census Bureau | Yahoo! Finance |

Other Business Subject Guides

 

 
end of page