skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

find it
 

International business


This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on international business available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. It also suggests a research strategy or plan of action you can follow while doing intensive research or simply looking for information on a topic.

Choose your topic

It is important to remember that you should choose a topic which is not only interesting to you but also appropriate to your capabilities and to the time available.

Looking through the Library's various collections of international business materials may help you decide on a topic. This information can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents, media and in the book collection on the second floor. Most materials in government documents, and all of those in the second floor book collection, can be checked out. Those in the other collections mentioned above cannot. Within each collection, materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Most of the library's materials in the areas of international business are assigned the call numbers as listed:

HD 62.4 International Management
HD2755.5 International Business Enterprises
HF1371 International Trade
HF1416 International Marketing
HF5549.5.E45 International Personnel Management
HF5686.I56 International Accounting
HG 3879 International Finance
HG4027.5 International Financial Management
 
Books how to find books, videos and other materials
Catalogs Skyline (Auraria Library Catalog), Prospector (Colorado Unified Catalog), and other local, national and international library catalogs

TIP: Use Skyline to search for books, dissertations, videos, audiorecordings and other materials in the Auraria Libary. You may use Prospector and WorldCat to request materials that the Auraria Library doesn't own.

If the materials you want are not available through any of the above sources, you can order them through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Link to the Guide Find (e)books, videos, DVD's to learn more about how to find and request materials that are not available at Auraria Library.

Article/Company databases and directories subscription databases (paid for by the Library) and print business guides and directories

DATABASES

Go to the following webpages for databases related to international business (in some instances certain databases will be listed on two or more of these webpages). Many of these databases contain information on state, national and foreign companies, as well as the industries to which they belong, and full text and/or scholarly, peer reviewed articles , which appear in leading journals and magazines. 

 
International Business major database: STAT-USA
Business major database: Business Source Premier
Finance
major database: Reuter's Business Insight
 

TIP: For databases that do not contain full text of an article, remember to check Skyline , Auraria Library's online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodical that article is in! You may also use Goldrush to search for full text of that periodical in other databases, or use ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to order it, or any other journal or magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own, from another library.

The Find Articles Guide provides additional information on locating journals and magazines.

PRINT DIRECTORIES - Company and Association Directories, Country Information Overviews, Industry Overviews/Market Reports, and Trade Information.

Company and Association Directories - Most of the directories listed below are indexed by both company name and type of industry. In many cases, the industries therein are listed numerically by industy code, using one or both of the SIC or NAICS code systems.

D & B Europa. LOCATION: REF HG4501. S366 -- Supplies short entries for 60,000 European companies. Data provided includes: names of executives, importer/exporter status, sales, number of employees, and lists of top European companies.

D & B Principal International Businesses. LOCATION: REF HF54.U5 P74

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. LOCATION: REF HG4538 .A1 D5.  

Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. LOCATION: REF HG4057.A21943.

Hoover's Handbook of World Business. LOCATION: QUICK REF HD 2755.5.H66 --Profiles hundreds of companies of global importance.

Who Owns Whom: North and South America. LOCATION: REF HG4538.W423 --Determine what foreign subsidiaries are related to US and Canadian firms, and which foreign companies own North American subsidiaries.

Country Information Overviews

Business Monitor International Guide to the World's Major Emerging Economies : Country Analysis and Forecast Reports.  LOCATION: REF HC59.7 .B867 2000.

Country Studies/Area Handbooks. LOCATION: GOVPUB U.S. D101.22:550.-- Each handbook in this series deals with a particular country, describing and analyzing its economic, military, political, and social systems. There are currently more than 100 reports, but reports are not available for every country!

Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook. LOCATION: QUICK REF G122 .C67. -- The history, geography, culture, government, politics, economics, climate, and transportation of nations worldwide.

Culturgrams. LOCATION: REF GT150 .C85 -- Covers customs and courtesies for meeting, greeting, eating, and dressing in various countries. 

Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to 84 Countries. LOCATION: REF HF5549.5 .E45 D56. -- This excellent compilation describes day-to-day business and social routines and customs for specific nations.

Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World. LOCATION: REF HF1416 .M78

Europa World Yearbook. LOCATION: QUICK REF JN1 .E85. -- Europa covers all nations and continents and provides country overviews and statistical surveys.

The Far East and Australia. LOCATION: REF DS1.F3. -- Provides country overviews and statistical surveys in these geographic areas.

The Middle East and North Africa. LOCATION: REF DS49 .M5. -- Provides country overviews and statistical surveys in these geographic areas.

Political Handbook of the World. LOCATION: QUICK REF JF37.P6. -- Describes the structure of governments and intergovernmental organizations for all countries, and supplies names of legislators and leaders.

Industry Overviews/Market Reports

European Marketing Data and Statistics. LOCATION: REF HA1107 .E87. -- This compendium of statistical information covers dozens of topic areas relating to the various European countries, including demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, consumer expenditure patterns, advertising patterns, media access, literary and education, transport infrastructure, and cultural indicators.

Eurostat Yearbook. LOCATION: REF HA1107.5 .A5 E86. -- Presents demographic, economic and social statistics for EU nations and compares them with other European countries, the U.S., Canada, and Japan.

Global Development Finance (formerly called the World Debt Tables). LOCATION: REF HJ8899 .W672. -- Offers analysis, commentary, and statistical tables pertinent to international finance for developing countries, as well as statistical tables showing the external debt of more than 130 countries.

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook. LOCATION: REF HJ101 .G68 -- Provides detailed data on revenue, grants, expenditure, lending minus repayments financing, and debt of central governments. 

International Financial Statistics - Yearbook. LOCATION: REF HG61 .I57 --  
This contains, for most countries of the world, data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

International Marketing Data and Statistics. LOCATION: REF HA42 .I56. -- This compendium of statistical information covers dozens of topic areas relating to countries around the word (including the United States), including demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, consumer expenditure patterns, advertising patterns, media access, literary and education, transport infrastructure, and cultural indicators.

Main Economic Indicators. LOCATION: REF HC10.O68 -- Supplies economic data for OECD member countries.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (MBS). LOCATION: REF HC59.A15 M6. -- MBS lists figures for industrial production, population, employment, and finance for nations worldwide.

The World Competitiveness Yearbook. LOCATION: REF HF1414.W67   Examines the "competitiveness" of each nation profiled, based on such factors as 'added value' and 'aggressiveness.'

Yearbook of Labour Statistics. LOCATION: REF HD4826.I63

Trade Information: Opportunities, Procedures, Policies, Contacts and Statistics - There are two classification systems you may encounter as you use resources for international trade: the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS codes), which is the same as the Schedule B Commodity codes, and the Standard International Trade Classification (SITC). The HS codes is an international, product-based, classification system. The SITC is a United Nations created classification system which was the basis for the HS codes. To find HS codes, see the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the U.S . The SITC can be found in the reference collection[LOCATION: REF HF1041.U56]. This volume also lists the comparable HS code for each SITC code. 

Bancomext Trade Directory of Mexico. LOCATION: REF HF3233.B36

Colorado International Trade Directory. LOCATION: REF HF1009.5.C67.-- A directory of Colorado exporters and importers, and importing and exporting services.

CRB Commodity Yearbook. LOCATION: REF HF1041.C56. -- A compendium of data on commodities, including supply, demand, production, consumption, exports, prices, and futures market information.

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook. LOCATION: REF HF91.I65. -- Presents, for more than 150 countries, figures on the value of imports from and exports to their most important trade partners.  

Export/Import Procedures and Documentation. LOCATION: REF HF1416.5 J64    

Exporters Encyclopedia. LOCATION: REF HF3011.E9. -- Includes marketing data, trade regulations, key contacts, description of communication and transportation services, and tips on business travel, for various countries around the world.

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics (formerly titled Handbook of International Trade and Development Statistics). LOCATION: REF HF1016 .U54

USA Trade (on CD-ROM). LOCATION: GOVPUB CD-ROM C 1.88/3: -- This disc has monthly import and export data for 17,000 commodities.

U.S. Exports of Merchandise (on CD-ROM). LOCATION: GOVPUB CD-ROM C3.278/3:.-- This disc contains detailed export statistics and information.

U.S. Imports of Merchandise (on CD-ROM). LOCATION: GOVPUB CD-ROM C 3.278/2:.-- This disc contains detailed import statistics and information.

Internet sources

free (non-subscription) databases, relating to: Company Information, Country Information, International Economic Data, and Trade Information

Company Information

Corporate Information -- Information on world securities markets including Company Profiles from 53 countries.

Country Information Overviews and Market and Economic Conditions

Arab Net -- Connects to all types of information resources on the following countries:Algeria, Bahrain, Comoro, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the UAE, and Yemen.

AsiaOne -- You'll find links to full text journals and newspapers in Asia, to Asian stock  information, and other general links of interest to those doing business with or traveling to Asia.

Asia-Pacific.com -- Strategic business information resources for the Asia-Pacific region.  

Background Notes -- The history, geography, culture, government, politics, economics, climate, and transportation of nations worldwide.

Canadian Business Information: Strategis  -- Contains such information as Canadian industry reports, Canadian business laws and regulations, and links to directories of Canadian companies.

Canada Statistics   -- Canadian demographic, economic, geographic, social, and cultural statistics and facts are available through this site.

Central and Eastern Europe Business Information Center [CEEBICnet]   -- Links to country information for Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Macedonia,  Serbia- Montenegro, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovak Republic, and Slovenia. 

Country Indicators for Foreign Policy -- Presents statistical information related to economic, political, social and cultural environments of countries worldwide.  Users need to register for access to this database. The registration, and the database itself, is free!

Country Studies/Area Handbooks -- Each report in this series deals with a particular country, describing and analyzing its economic, military, political, and social systems. There are currently more than 100 reports, but reports are not available for every country. These are also available in print in the government publications collection (look for these in Skyline - click on "Word", and enter the following: country study [name of the country you are interested in].

CORDIS -- Information about research and development projects in European countries; sponsored by the European Commission.

Currency Converters -- Historic and current exchange rates for 164 currencies.

Eldis Country Profiles   -- Find links to statistics and full text reports relating to a wide variety of information on nations in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and Latin America, including economic data, environmental reports, gender issues, and more. The site will eventually be expanded to include other continents.

Emerging Markets Directory-- Provides selected links related to the emerging markets of Asia, Latin America, Europe, Africa, and the Middle East.

Europa -- Information on the European Union's history, goals, and policies.

European Integration Online Papers  -- Archive of peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary working papers in the field of European integration research, including legal studies, political science, economics, and history. Most are in English; some in German.  

Foreign Embassies of Washington, D C -- Lists all foreign embassies in Washington DC along with their addresses, phone, fax numbers, and Web sites.

Indiamart -- Guide to Indian (India) companies, importers, exporters, associations, and other trade information of interest.

LANIC [Latin America] -- Links to sites for art, culture, business, economics, education, government, libraries, network and information services, news and electronic forms, travel, tourism and general information for Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, The Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, Trinidad & Tobago, and other Caribbean countries.

The Middle East Information Network -- Links to sites for news, business, religion, education and country information for the nations of the Middle East.

Middle East Studies -- Links to sites for ancient history/archaeology, art/culture, business/finance/economics, government/country profiles, maps/travel, news media/news groups, religion, science and technology and more for Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. 

Portals to the World --Contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about nations and other areas of the world.

Strategis -- Canadian business and consumer information.

World Factbook   -- The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) supplies dozens of facts for countries around the world, including data on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, and defense forces.

International Economic and Marketing Data and Statistics

IMF Finances -- Information about IMF (International Monetary Fund) financial organization and operations, resources, interest rates, lending practices, and much more.

Trade Information: Opportunities, Procedures, Policies, Contacts and Statistics -

There are two classification systems you may encounter as you use resources for international trade: the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS codes), which is the same as the Schedule B Commodity codes, and the Standard International Trade Classification (SITC). The HS codes is an international, product-based, classification system. The SITC is a United Nations created classification system which was the basis for the HS codes. To find HS codes, see the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the U.S . The SITC can be found in the reference collection[LOCATION: REF HF1041.U56]. This volume also lists the comparable HS code for each SITC code.

Foreign Trade Statistics -- Presents current and historical trade statistics, including reports on trade balances and top trading partners, from the U.S. Census Bureau, Foreign Trade Division.

International Trade Administration (ITA) -- Part of the United States Department of Commerce, the ITA offers trade advice and data. This site contains foreign trade highlights, metropolitan area exports, state exports to countries and regions, and much more.

SICE: Foreign Trade Information Systems -- Contains the full text of trade agreements and investment treaties made between countries of the Western hemisphere, trade flow data, and links to other trade data sites on the Web.

USA Trade Online -- Provides detailed import and export statistics by commodity.

U.S. Customs Service -- Links to U.S. commercial importing procedures and requirements, exporting documentation procedures, and trade rulings and regulations.

 
end of page