skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Investments

This Guide consists of a list of selected investment resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet.

Choose your topic

It is important to remember that you should choose a topic which is not only interesting to you but also appropriate to your capabilities and to the time available.

Looking through the Library's various collections of investment resources may help you decide on a topic. This information can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents, media and in the book collection on the second floor. Most materials in government documents, and all of those in the second floor book collection, can be checked out. Those in the other collections mentioned above cannot. Within each collection, materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Most of the library's investment resources are assigned the call numbers as listed:

Area Starting Call Number Section
Investments HG 4501
Stock Brokerage HG 4621
Stock Exchanges, U.S. HG 5131.A
Stock Exchanges, Foreign HG 5151

 

Go to the following databases for articles and information pertaining to investment resources .

Article Databases  
Business Major database: Business Source Premier
Economic Data Major database: STAT-USA
Finance Major database: Reuter's Business Insight
Securities Major database: Lexis/Nexis
Stocks, Bonds, and Mutual Funds Major database: Valueline Investment Survey

 

Books, Encyclopedias and Yearbooks found in the Auraria Library's collection.

Books

 
Bond Prices Yearbooks having to do with bond pricing
Investment Dictionaries dictionaries and encyclopedias about investments
Mutual Funds Current mutual fund information in the library
Stock Market Current books regarding the stock market
Stock Prices Information on stock prices and forcasting
Value Line Investment Survey Latest issue at Reference Desk

 

Internet Sources regarding investing

BOND INFORMATION: Bond Markets.com

ECONOMIC INDICATORS:Economic Statistics Briefing Room| Economic Statistics from the Dismal Scientist

EDUCATION INVESTMENT SITES: Bloomberg Online | CNN Money ||Global Investor| GreenMoney Journal |internetnews.com-Business | Investing Online Resource Center|Investment FAQ |InvestorGuide|Investor's Business Daily | Investor's Business Daily Learning Center |InvestorWords |Kiplingers Online| Motley Fool| MSN Money| National Association of Security Dealers| Quicken.com| Stock Research Sites on the Web| Yahoo! Finance

FUTURES TRADING:Commodity Futures Trading Commission | Futures Trading Introduction | FuturesWeb | Links to Agricultural and Investing Sources [Futures] |National Futures Association

INDICES: Dow Jones Indexes| Index Funds.com| NASDAQ 100 Index| Russell Indexes| S&P Indexes|STOXX Indexes (Dow Jones STOXX Indexes)| TrustNet World Indices|Wilshire Indexes

MERGER & ACQUISITIONS AND IPO (INITIAL PUBLIC OFFERING) NEWS: Findlaw Mergers & Acquisitions Primer | IPO Central| IPO Data.com| IPO Home| IPO Summary|M&A Online| Mergers & Acquistions Report| NASDAQ IPO's |

MUTUAL FUND INFORMATION: Brill's Mutual Funds Interactive | CBS MarketWatch: Mutual Funds| Dian's Fund Freebies| Mutual Fund Investor's Center| Mutual Funds Net |Quicken.com -- Mutual Funds|

STOCK MARKET INFORMATION: Stock Markets of the World| Big Charts| MarketGuides's NetScreen| Yahoo Finance Stock Screener

 

 
end of page