Tools and techniques for tracking down work that has been borrowed.
- Identify a unique string of words in the paper. Use different
search engines. You should usually search for the phrase using
quotes. A successful search will typically display very few results.
- Search for the title, again using quotes. If the student hasn't
changed the title, you may find it listed on a term paper site.
- Search full-text databases: LexisNexis,
Expanded
Academic, or ScienceDirect.
Change the default search method to “search article text”.
Most databases default to citation searching
- Utilize a plagiarism detection site, most charge a fee. An
example is Turnitin by
iParadigms. A free one may be found at a resource site by Lou Bloomfield at the University of Virginia.
- This subject guide is available
via the Library home page. It provides links to many resources for both preventing and detecting
plagiarism.
Internet search engines:
- Search phrases using advanced search options or quotes.
- It is recommended that one search multiple search engines since
they use different algorithms to scan the Web. A list is available
from the library home page at http://library.auraria.edu/guides/general/searcheng.html.
I would start with one favorite search engine and branch out if
it does not find results.
- Search Usenet groups separately.
- Weblog or Blog searches: These can show up in a regular Web
search or use a blog search engine: Blogdigger,
feedster.
- Internet translation through search engines: student can pull
up an essay only available in French (for example), use the internet
translation service to change it to English and copy the document.
PaperMills:
Cheating
101: Internet Paper Mills A list of paper mill sites.
There are many of these lists, one unusual one categorizes mills
by subject:
Cheating
101: Internet Subject Specific Paper Mills.
example: Things
fall apart essays for students writing essays on Chinua Achebe's
novel
Library Databases:
Selected* (most commonly used) library databases
that allow searching within article text:
- Academic
Search Premier Advanced search mode: select all fields double
quotations marks, the exact phrase is searched.
- Expanded
Academic Select bullet choice for full text. No quotes needed
for phrases (ex. assessment w/2 schools).
- JSTOR
Full-text is the default.
- LexisNexis
Select full text in pull down.
- ScienceDirect
Select full text in pull down.
*Check specialized databases within your discipline
for full-text searching. Many support this function.
Other References & Links:
What
is Plagiarism? / Georgetown University Honor Council
Plagiarism: What it is and how to avoid it / Indiana University
Writing Centers
Plagiarism
and how to avoid it / David Gardner, University of Hong Kong
Plagiarism:
Its nature and consequences / Duke Libraries
Suggestions to Prevent Cheating / Student Honor Council, University
of Maryland
Preventing Academic Dishonesty and Designing Assignments / VAIL
Copy these strategies to stop plagiarism by students / Gary M. Galles
Detecting plagiarism / University of Alberta
Detection tools and methods / VAIL
Free detection / NCHS
Probing
for Plagiarism in the Virtual Classroom / Lindsey S. Hamlin and
William T. Ryan
Also view:
|