This subject guide will lead you to a variety of learning materials
in the area of African-American studies. The materials in this guide
will lead you to reference books, circulating books, and Web Sites.
In Auraria Library, many of these materials are kept under the
call number E185 on the second
floor, but keep in mind that material about life, culture, issues,
and people may be located nearly anywhere in the library --musicians
in the music section, writers in the literature section, mathematicians
in the mathematics sections. Also remember that material about African-American
issues may be written from many standpoints; it may be liberal or
conservative or radical. As with information on any subject, you
have to consider the point of view of the author and how that affects
the value you will place on the information.
Library of Congress Classification and Library
of Congress Subject Headings
Within each collection area, library materials are arranged and
located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Most
of the library materials in African-American studies are assigned
the call numbers listed:
- E185 (History, Customs, Civil Rights, and
Social and Economic Conditions of African-Americans)
- LC 2701 - LC2853 (African-American
Education)
- PN1992 - PN2286 (African Americans
in Film, Television and Theatre)
To use Skyline, the Auraria Library
Online Catalog, to locate resources on specific topics, you
may use a subject heading. Subject
headings are the words or phrases used by the Library of Congress
to describe the main topic of books and/or articles. Phrases listed
below are examples:
African-American, Afro-American, Black Americans,
Africans Blacks Ethnology
For items published prior to 1970 (approx.) Negroes,
Colored People
You can use these headings, or terms similar to them, as WORD
searches within Skyline, the Auraria
Library Online Catalog. For additional subject headings,
consult the Library of Congress
Subject Headings books located near the Reference area on the
first floor,
or ask a Reference Librarian.
back to top
Reference Books
The African-American reference section located on the first
floor of the Auraria Library is small but useful. Keep in mind,
however, that relevant material may be found in other parts of the
reference collection, African-American artists in the art section,
actors or movies or theatrical productions in the drama section,
athletes in the sports section, and so on.
Some especially useful reference books are listed below. Other
reference sources may be found by using Skyline,
The Auraria Library Catalog.
back to top
Encyclopedias
Hine, Darlene Clark (ed.). Black Women in America: an Historical
Encyclopedia. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Carlson Pub., 1993 REF
E185.86 B542 1993
Salzman, Jack (ed.). David Lionel Smith and Cornel West.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history.
5 volumes. New York : Macmillan Library Reference, 1996. REF
E185 E54 1996
Smith, Jessie Carney, and Joseph M. Palmisano (ed.). Reference
Library of Black America. 5 volumes. Farmington Hills, MI :
Gale Group, Inc. ; [U.S.?] : Distributed by African American Publications,
Proteus Enterprises, 2000. REF E185 R44 2000
Almanacs
Ross, Leon T. African-American Almanac: day-by-day Black
History. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1997 REF E185 R815
1997
Statistical Record of Black America. Detroit: Gale Research,
1990-1997. REF E185.5 S83
Reader's Guide
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. G.K. Hall
Interdisciplinary Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies.
Detroit: Gale Group, 1995-1999. REF E185 S373
Biographical Materials
Robinson, Wilhelmena S. Historical Afro-American Biographies.
Cornwells Heights, PA.: Publishers Agency, 1978 REF E185.96
R56 1979
Hawkins, Walter L. African-American Biographies. Jefferson,
NC.: McFarland, 1992 & 1994 REF E185.96 H38 1992
Also check the Biography page
at Auraria Library for online access to biography-related databases.
back to top
Books
Books about African-American life and culture may be found on the
second floor
of the library under the call letters E185. Please keep in
mind that this is not the only section where such information
may be found. For example, information about African-American
feminism may be found in the Women's Studies section, information
about African-American writers in the literature sections. To find
in-depth information on your subject use Skyline:
The Library Catalog and do a word search using keywords related
to your topic.
Specific Databases to Locate Books and Other Materials
Use Skyline to find books as well as find out
if the Library subscribes or has access to specific journals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine which
major
Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat This database contains the book records of nearly every
library in the United
States, and many foreign libraries. Use to request items not found
through Skyline or
Prospector.
NetLibrary A database of online, full text books. Some
psychology books are included. Other eBooks.
Tip Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
- You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles
that Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate
in Skyline or Prospector.
- You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own.
back to top
Periodical Articles
Indexes provide citations. If you need relatively recent material
select one of the electronic indexes available from the Library's
homepage. For older or more in-depth lists of articles you may have
to consult one of the print-only indexes. To Find a Journal, Magazine
or Newspaper Article Consult the Find
Articles Guide to find information about locating journals and
magazines.
Online Indexes
Recommended Starting Points
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text
and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
America:
History and Life -- Index to over 2,000 journals covering the
U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book
and media reviews and dissertations. 1964 - present, updates
monthly.
JSTOR
(Dates of coverage vary.) -- Many African-American Studies journals
are included in this full text database.
Expanded
Academic Index ASAP 1980 --- A general index with material on
different topics, with many journals indexed. Includes full
text articles.
DIALOG@CARL -- Offers
access to nearly 300 commercial databases. The files come from renowned
content providers and cover nearly every subject area. Approximately
60% of the databases contain full text on a wide variety
of subject matter.
back to top
Internet Resources
Africabib.org -- Africabib.org
consists of two databases covering Africana periodical literature
and African Women's literature. A comprehensive bibliography on
women travelers and explorers to Africa is also at the site.
African American
Firsts -- A record of African American achievements and historical
events, listed by date, starting in the early 17th century and ending
in the late 20th century.
African
American History -- Department University of California,
Riverside. A Huge Site!
African American Journey
African
American Women of the 19th Century
African Music Encyclopedia
African
Studies Program --The African Studies Outreach program is at
the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Extensive links and African
country information.
Africana.com
-- The Digital Bridge AFRO-American
Almanac -- Contains history from the beginning of the slave
trade, through the Civil Rights movement, to the present.
AfroNet
Archives of African American
Music and Culture
Awesome
Library
"Been Here So Long":
Selections from the WPA American Slave Narratives This site
features a selection of seventeen interviews of former slaves conducted
by members of the Federal Writers Project of the Works Progress
Administration (WPA). As with the recollections featured at the
University of Virginia's American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology.
These narratives are from the 2,000 interviews with ex-slaves collected
during 1936-1938 by journalists and other writers employed by the
Federal Writers Project.
BLACK History Quest
Civil Rights Act
of 1964
Contemporary African Database
-- "Designed to provide easily accessible and current information
concerning prominent Africans, African organizations, and dates
in the African calendar."
Electronic African
Bookworm - A Web Navigator -- This Website is "specifically
designed for use by the book professions in Africa, and by African
writers and scholars."
The Emancipation
Proclamation
The
Faces of Science -- African Americans in the sciences.
From
Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909
Fugitive
Slave Law of 1850
Gateway to African-American
History
The Jackson
Davis Collection of African-American Educational Photographs
-- The Special Collections Department at the University of Virginia
began to digitize approximately 4,500 photographs taken by Jackson
Davis between 1915 and 1930, under the auspice of the General Education
Board of New York City. Davis's main interests were Southern education,
race relations, and education in the Belgian Congo and Liberia.
The collection primarily documents African-American education at
"colored schools" in the Southern United States and also
includes views of Africa. About two-thirds of the photographs are
currently available online.
John Henrik Clarke
Africana Library
The Martin Luther
King, Jr. Papers Project -- Dr. King's Letter from Birmingham
Jail and a number of full-text primary documents (including the
"I Have a Dream" speech and the "I've Been To The
Mountaintop" sermon), a general biography, and a chronology
of Dr. King's life are some of the features of the Website.
Melanet -- Melanet calls
itself the "Uncut Black Experience."
Montgomery
Bus Boycott
NAACP Online
National Civil Rights
Museum
National Museum
of African Art
Rosa
Parks
Schomburg Center
for Research in Black Culture
Timeline of the American
Civil Rights Movement
Underground
Railroad -- Results of a study by the National Park Service
of the Railroad.
Universal Black Pages
W.E.B. Du
Bois Virtual University
Women of
Color Health Data Book -- In this report the term "women
of color" encompasses four major groups of women-Native, Hispanic,
black, and Asian Americans-with subgroups within each of the major
groups. The health of adolescent and elderly women of color receives
separate attention as well. Search for life expectancy, demographics,
tobacco use, violence and other factors.
Women of Color
Web
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|