skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc


asian american studies
 
Asian American Studies

This subject guide will lead you to a variety of learning materials in the area of Asian-American studies.

Each link below will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases and indexes  
 
Asian American Studies America: History and Life, Digital Dissertations, JSTOR, Amache Digital Collections Project
Bilingual/Bicultural Education & ESL Education Full Text, LLB(Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)
Ethnic Studies additional databases: JSTOR, Historical Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts
Culture/Ethnic Groups additional databases: Background Notes, Country Profiles, Country Studies
Anthropology primary databases are Anthropological Index Online, America: History and Life
 

Also, try our Anthropological Literature on Disc, a CD-ROM next to the ref desk and  Abstracts in Anthropology, a print resource in our Index section. The HRAF collection, which we have in microfiche in Periodicals is also an excellent source.  The University of Virginia has a good site for assistance at: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/anthropology/hraf/hindexes.html.

There are print indices in reference:  Instructor's and librarian's guide to the HRAF archive Z5112 .L48 1988 , Outline of world cultures GN345.3 .M87 1983  and Outline of cultural materials GN345.3 .O95 1982 These materials are not current, but contain an unmatched historical collection. 

Books  
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias on Asian Americans
Reference Books specialized books in reference on Asian Americans in Skyline
Call number areas E- History: America, E184
 

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline, using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, Bureau of Census), a WORD search (for subjects such as Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, Japanese Americans, Vietnamese Americans, or Chinese Americans), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as Amerasia Journal or Critical Asian Studies.

In Auraria Library, many materials on Asian Americans are kept under the call number E184 on the second floor , but keep in mind that material about life, culture, issues, and people may be located nearly anywhere in the library --musicians in the music section, writers in the literature section, mathematicians in the mathematics section. Also remember that material about Asian-American issues may be written from many standpoints; it may be liberal or conservative or radical. As with information on any subject, you have to consider the point of view of the author and how that affects the value you will place on the information.

Library of Congress Classification and Library of Congress Subject Headings

Asian-American for items published prior to 1980

Asian Studies --- Orientals

Asians See also names of specific Asian-American groups - Chinese-American, Japanese-American, Vietnamese-American etc.

 
Some Useful LC Subject Areas to Browse
E184 History, Customs, and Social and Economic Conditions of Asian-Americans
LC2632 - LC2633 Asian-American Education
PS153 - PS628 Asian American Literature and Drama
 

Ways to find books we do not own or that may be checked out:

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector .

Reference Books

Reference Library of Asian America   REF E184.O6R45

Asian American Almanac   REF E184.O6S73

Statistical Record of Asian Americans REF E184.S73

Notable Asian Americans REF E184.O6 N67

Also check the Biography page at Auraria Library for online access to biography-related databases.

Internet Sources

Asian-Nation: The Landscape of Asian America

Asian American History

Department of Anthropology -- National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.

There are too many web pages to list every valuable source. Start with Lii.org (Librarians Index to the Internet) for a well maintained source of quality web sites. A search on Asian Americans, Chinese Americans, Japanese Americans, Vietnamese Americans, and others results in many valuable resources.

 

 
end of page