This subject guide will lead you to a variety of learning materials
in the area of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies (GLBT).
The materials in this guide will lead you to reference books, circulating
books, and Web Sites. In Auraria Library, many of these materials
are kept in the HQ area on the
second floor, but keep in mind that material about GLBT life,
culture, issues, and people may be located nearly anywhere in the
library --musicians in the music section, writers in the literature
section, mathematicians in the mathematics sections. Also remember
that material about GLBT issues may be written from many standpoints;
it may be liberal or conservative or radical -- it may be activist
or homophobic or neutral. As with information on any subject, you
have to consider the point of view of the author and how that affects
the value you will place on the information.
Library of Congress Classification and Library
of Congress Subject Headings
Books shelved on the
second floor can be checked out. Within each collection area,
library materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The
call number refers to a subject. Most of the library materials in
the GLBT are assigned the call numbers as listed:
HQ74 - HQ78 Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,
and Transgender
To use Skyline, the Auraria Library
Online Catalog, to locate resources on specific topics, you
may use a subject heading. Subject
headings are the words or phrases used by the Library of Congress
to describe the main topic of books and/or articles. Phrases listed
below are examples:
| Afro-American lesbians
Aged lesbians -- Social conditions
Children of gay parents -- United States
Gay athletes
Gay college students
Gay fathers
Gay Liberation Movement
Gay libraries
Gay marriage
Gay men -- Cross-cultural studies Gay men's' writings
Gay parents
Gay teenagers
Gay youth
Homosexuality
----Bibliography
----California
----History
----Law and legislation
----United States
----Public opinion |
Homosexuality and employment
Homosexuality in literature
Homosexuality
Male Lesbian couples Lesbian feminism Lesbian mothers
-- Legal status
Lesbian nuns
Lesbianism
Lesbianism
-- China
-- History
Lesbianism in literature
Lesbianism
-- Latin America
Lesbianism
-- Political aspects
Lesbianism
-- Religious aspects
Lesbians
Lesbians' writings
Mexican American lesbians |
These terms may inspire you to think of similar ones, which you
might try as WORD searches within Skyline, the Auraria
Library Online Catalog. For additional subject headings,
consult the Library of Congress
Subject Headings books located near the Reference area on the
first floor,
or ask a Reference Librarian.
back to top
Find Articles
The most current information, as well as historical information,
can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles, which
tend to deal with more specific topics than books cover.
The "Find Articles"
Guide provides information about locating journals and magazines.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The Reference Desk can often help you
locate other suitable information on your topic if the Library does
not own the material you need.. The librarian at the Reference Desk
can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic
if the Library does not own the material you need.
back to top
Online indexes
Recommended Starting Points
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text
and scholarly, peer
reviewed article which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
TIP For indexes that do not contain full text of an article,
remember to check Skyline,
Auraria Library's online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodicals
you are looking for!
Contemporary
Women's Issues -- Contemporary women's issues on health
and human rights, some full text. 1992 - present,
updates every two weeks.
back to top
Reference Books
The GLBT reference section located on the first
floor of Auraria Library is small but useful. Keep in mind,
however, that relevant material may be found in other parts of the
reference collection, GLBT artists in the art section, actors or
movies or theatrical productions in the drama section, members of
ethnic groups in the American ethnic/racial section, GLBT athletes
in the sports section, and so on.
Encyclopedias
Dynes, Wayne R. Encyclopedia of Homosexuality. 2 volumes.
New York: Garland, 1990. Alphabetical listing of subjects relevant
to GLBT culture, such as "Boston Marriages," "Churches,
Gay," "Coming Out," "Faggot," and "Homophobia".
There are some biographical articles. Articles are a paragraph to
four pages long. REF HQ76.25 K53 1990
The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures.
New York: Garland, 2000. The encyclopedia is divided into 2 volumes:
Gay Histories and Cultures, edited by George E. Haggerty,
REF HQ75.13 G37 2000 and Lesbian Histories and Cultures,
edited by Bonnie Zimmerman, REF HQ75.5 L4395 2000. The encyclopedia
as a whole is an excellent first place to look for GLBT-related
information. Both volumes contain articles on people, geographic
areas, religions, concepts (such as literary images) and terms (such
as leather). Entries average about 2 pages; bibliographies and cross-references
are included.
Almanacs
Schlanger, Neil, ed. St. James Press Gay and Lesbian Almanac.
Detroit: St. James, 1998. This useful source is divided into 23
categories, including chronology, organizations, significant documents,
coming out, labor and employment, politics, law, military, health,
various arts, religion and spirituality, science, sports, travel
and leisure, and local and regional views. Articles are often several
pages long and usually include fairly extensive references.
REF HQ76.3 U5 S75 1998
Witt, Lynn, Sherry Thomas, and Eric Marcus, eds. Out in All
Directions: The Almanac of Gay and Lesbian America. New
York: Warner, 1995. Less formal than the almanac listed above, this
almanac uses quotes and "Did you know?" sidebars to enhance
relatively short entries. The book is divided into 10 categories:
"We Are Everywhere," "How We Are Seen, How We See
Ourselves," "Reinventing History," "Finding
Identity," "Coming Together, Building Community,"
"Myths and Facts," "Our Very Queer Lives," "Ensuring
Our Survival," "Wanna Have Fun?," and "The Material
World." Many illustrations. REF HQ75.6 U5 W57 1995
Reader's Guide
Murphy, Timothy F. Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. The book is divided into categories,
such as "Aging: Gay Men," "AIDS: Community Effects,"
and "Mystery and Detective Fiction." Under each category
is a list of books using that category as a theme, followed by an
essay reviewing the listed books. At the front of the book is an
alphabetical list of entries, and, perhaps more helpfully, a thematic
list of entries by category. REF HQ75.15 R43 2000
Biographical Materials
Aldrich, Robert, and Garry Wotherspoon, eds. Who's Who in Contemporary
Gay and Lesbian History: From World War II to the Present Day.
New York: Routledge, 2001. Various nations and occupations are represented.
Entries are short, usually less than two pages; emphasis is on the
subject's contribution to GLBT life and culture, whether or not
the subject is/was gay, lesbian, or bisexual. REF HQ75.2 W46
2001
Aldrich, Robert, and Garry Wotherspoon, eds. Who's Who in Gay
and Lesbian History: From Antiquity to World War II. New York:
Routledge, 2001. "This book contains those figures of importance
to gay and lesbian history, whether themselves homosexual, heterosexual,
bisexual, or none of the above." -- from the introduction.
Includes theorists, such as Freud, and "prominent homophobes
such as St. Paul." Subjects vary in nationality and occupation;
emphasis is on the subject's contribution to GLB life and culture.
REF HQ75.2 W47 2001
Tyrkus, Michael J. Gay and Lesbian Biography. Detroit:
St. James, 1997. Most subjects are American or British, there are
representatives of several other nations. Typical entries are two
to three pages long, each with a short reference list. Articles
are focused on accomplishments and on how being G/L/B/T affected
the subject's life. Indexed by nationality and occupation, as well
as by general subject. REF HQ75.2 G39 1997
Also check the Biography page
at Auraria Library for online access to biography-related databases.
back to top
Circulating Books
Books about homosexuality and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender
life and culture may be found on the
second floor of the library under the call letters HQ76.5-HQ78.
Please keep in mind that this is not the only section
where such information may be found. For example, information
about lesbian feminism may be found in the Women's Studies section,
information about GLBT writers in the literature sections.
Auraria Library Online Catalog
-- Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to locate specific books
at Auraria Library.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat
-- This database contains records of nearly every library in the
United States, and many foreign libraries.
NetLibrary
This is a database of online, full text books. Other eBooks.
Tip Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
- You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline
or Prospector.
- You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own.
back to top
Internet Resources
Most of the web sites in this list were taken from "Library
Q: The Library Worker's Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender
Resources" (see below) by Ellen Greenblatt.
Dictionaries
A
Brief Dictionary of Queer Slang and Culture
-- A short dictionary compiled by Rebecca Scott.
Robert Scott's
Gay Slang Dictionary -- Purported to be the first gay dictionary
on the Internet, this extensive site is the creation of self-identified
independent writer-researcher, Robert Scott. Also includes links
to other gay dictionaries on the web. Contains sexually explicit
language.
Organizations
National
and International Gay and Lesbian Organizations and Publications
-- Al Fritz, the Gay and Lesbian Studies Coordinator at the University
of Washington Libraries, has put together this amazing web resource
which "lists non-profit and/or information-providing organizations
and publications with reasonably up-to-date web sites having numerous
full text resources and links." Many of the web sites give
directory information for related organizations without web sites
as well as for associated regional and local chapters.
National Directory of
Lesbian and Gay Community Centers -- Browseable directory of
community centers by state and by budget. Contact information for
each organization is provided.
The Book Garden --
Denver's Women's Bookstore Reader Reviews, Online Book Club, Community
News and Events, Books, Gifts, and shopping
Hotline
Gay and Lesbian National Hotline
-- Free information, referrals, and peer counseling for members
of the LGBT community. Available nationwide.
Search Engines and Directories
Cybergrrl -- Collection
of resources about women -- Geared more towards lesbian issues.
Freeality Internet Search:
Gay and Lesbian Resources -- Megadirectory of LGBT search engines
and searchable LGBT sites, with links to major LGBT organizations.
GayZoo -- Wide range of community
and personal pages - easy to add sites.
Homorama
-- Directory of sites with reviews. Searchable. Browseable by region
and topic.
PrideLinks! -- Directory
of over annotated 8700 links. Site is searchable and browseable
by topic.
Rainbow Query -- Searchable
and browseable directory of annotated links, with many adult sites
included.
WWWomen:
Lesbians -- Lesbian section of a women-oriented directory. Categories
contain annotated links to web sites. Site is searchable.
Yahoo!
-- Unannotated directory of web sites from the Gay, Lesbian, and
Bisexual Cultures and Groups section of Yahoo!, with some annotated
links for general LGBT sites.
Award Winning Books and Writers
American Library
Association Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Book -- Awards Oldest
award for LGBT books (since 1971). Currently divided into two categories:
literature and nonfiction. Awarded by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,
and Transgendered Round Table of the American Library Association.
Award-Winning
Gay and Lesbian Writers -- Alphabetical listing of writers
who have won a variety of awards compiled by Cal Gough. The award,
title of the work, and year awarded are listed.
Lambda
Literary Awards -- Sponsored by the Lambda Book Report, these
awards recognize excellence in gay and lesbian writing and publishing.
The amazon.com list of winner is more current than the official
Lambda site.104-6223236-4532729
(Amazon site).
Triangle
Awards -- Sponsored by the Publishing Triangle, an association
of gay and lesbian publishers, these annual awards recognize lifetime
achievement, fiction, non-fiction, and drama.
Library Subject Guides and Resource Lists
Tip Auraria Library may or may not own materials on these
lists. Check Skyline, the Auraria
Library Online Catalog or Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog for availability.
Austin Lesbian Herstory Sites -- Herstory
Site Links compiled by the Austin Lesbian Activism in the 70's
Herstory Project (often called the ALA's). The ALA's are a small
group of lesbians engaged in the work of collecting, organizing,
preserving and teaching the herstory of Austin's lesbian community
during the decade of the 1970's.
Bobst Library (New York University): "Lesbian,
Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies Resources" --
Unannotated list of links to non-NYU Internet resources.
Colorado State University Libraries: Gay,
Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Studies -- Directory of
resources available at CSU and on the Internet. Some resources are
annotated.
Cornell University: Sexuality
Research Guide & FAQ From the Cornell University Library's Human
Sexuality Collection -- An annotated guide to researching
LGBT topics, with links to pertinent resources.
Middlebury College Library: "Gay
and Lesbian Studies: A Library Guide" -- Minimally annotated
list of resources grouped by subject. Alternative subject headings
for searching for additional resources are suggested.
New York Public Library: "Gay
and Lesbian Studies: A Research Guide" -- Extensive annotated
research guide for core LGBT research resources available at the
NYPL.
Princeton University Libraries: "Library
Research in Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgender Studies" --
Extensive unannotated list of resources available at Princeton,
arranged by type of resource.
Schlesinger Library (Radcliffe College): "Lesbians,
Gays, Bisexuals" -- This unannotated list of resources
is arranged by subject area.
Stanford University: "Beginning
Library Research on Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual Studies" -- An
annotated list of core resources, periodicals, and bibliographies.
University of California, Irvine: "Lesbian,
Gay and Queer Studies" Last updated 1998, this unannotated
guide of resources also includes a list of subject headings for
LGBT materials.
University of California, Los Angeles: UCLA
Library Collections and Internet Resources in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,
Transgender (LGBT) Studies -- This unannotated list of
Internet resources is arranged by subject format. Also lists notable
LGBT people whose papers are available in special collections.
University of California, San Diego: "Gay
and Lesbian Studies" -- This annotated list includes print
and electronic resources and has linked a subject heading list to
the library's catalog so that searches will run automatically.
University of California, Santa Cruz: "Gay,
Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgendered Studies" -- This
unannotated list of resources provides links to catalogs and suggests
appropriate subject headings.
University of Chicago: "Gay
and Lesbian Studies" -- This excellent annotated list of
resources includes a link to an extensive annotated guide of materials
in the university libraries.
University of Colorado, Boulder: "Lesbian,
Gay, and Bisexual Studies: Selected Resources" -- This
unannotated list provides location information for resources in
the CU-Boulder library.
University of Colorado, Denver: "Library
Q: The Library Worker's Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender
Studies Resources" -- In addition to the links on this
Auraria Library Subject Guide, this excellent site links to numerous
library/librarian sites, activist sites, and much more.
University of Kansas: "Gay,
Lesbian and Bisexual Resources" -- This richly annotated
extensive list of resources starts with a thoughtful introduction
about terminology and searching tips. See also: Selected
Resources in Gay and Lesbian Literature
Vassar College: "Gay
and Lesbian Studies Resources" -- A brief partially annotated
list of Internet resources arranged by scope.
Yale University: Library
Research Guide in Gay and Lesbian Studies -- An extensive annotated
list of resources arranged by subject. Wide variety of topics are
covered.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|