skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

native american studies
 
Native American Studies

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research on Native Americans or Indians of North America.

Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases and indexes  
 
Native American Studies major databases: America: History and Life, Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Anthropology primary databases are Anthropological Index Online, America: History and Life
 

Also, try our Anthropological Literature on Disc, a CD-ROM next to the reference desk and  Abstracts in Anthropology, a print resource in our Index section. The HRAF collection, which we have in microfiche in Periodicals is also an excellent source.  The University of Virginia has a good site for assistance at: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/anthropology/hraf/hindexes.html.

There are print indices in reference:  Instructor's and librarian's guide to the HRAF archive Z5112 .L48 1988 , Outline of world cultures GN345.3 .M87 1983  and Outline of cultural materials GN345.3 .O95 1982 These materials are not current, but contain an unmatched historical collection. 

Books  
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias on Native Americans
Handbooks list of handbooks about Native Americans in Skyline
Call number areas E- History: America
 

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline , using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, Bureau of Indian Affairs),  a WORD search (for subjects such as Shoshoni, Pawnee, Kiowa Apache or Eskimos), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as American Indian Quarterly or American Indian Culture and Research Journal.

Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you  want considerable background information on your topic. For terms to use in a WORD search, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings .

Some Useful LC Subject Areas to Browse
 
E58 - E99 History, Customs, Education and Social and Economic Conditions of Native Americans
PS152 -PS628 Native American Literature
PS3501 - PS3575 Native American Theatre and Drama
 

Ways to find books we do not own or that may be checked out:

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector .

Reference Books

The Native American reference section located on the first floor of the Auraria Library is small but useful. Keep in mind, however, that relevant material may be found in other parts of the reference collection, Native American artists in the art section, actors or movies or theatrical productions in the drama section, athletes in the sports section, and so on.

Some useful reference books are listed below.

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian  REF E76.2 .R43 1995

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes  REF E77 .G15 1998

The Native North American Almanac: a Reference Work on native North Americans in the United States and Canada.  REF E77 .N37

Notable Native Americans    REF E89 .N67 1995

Also check the Biography page at Auraria Library for online access to biography-related databases

Internet Sources

American Indian Environmental Office -- At the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

American Indian Movement of Colorado (CO AIM)

Department of Anthropology -- National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.

Fourth World Center, UCD Political Science

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties

Indian Health Service

Native American Health

Native American Journalists Association

Native American Sites

Native American Student Association

NativeWeb

Native Elder Health Care Resource Center

Russell Means -- The first national director of AIM (American Indian Movement).

Transform Columbus Day

There are too many web pages to list every valuable source. Start with Lii.org (Librarians Index to the Internet) for a well maintained source of quality web sites. A search on native americans results in many valuable resources

 

 
end of page