Auraria Library has a wide variety of learning materials in the
area of Women's Studies. These learning materials can be divided
into four major groups:
- reference books,
- circulating books and media,
- articles and article databases and indexes, and
- archival material on microfilm.
This guide is intended as an introduction to materials that might
be called women-centered or feminist, which are kept in a particular
location, usually under a call number beginning with "HQ."
Information about women appears throughout the Reference section
located on the first
floor of the Library: the HQ section contains information
about sexuality, marriage and divorce, children, adolescents, and
the aging. Information about women appears in each of these
sections. Information about women who are members of American ethnic
groups is located near the end of the E (American History)
section, and material on women writers appears in the P (Literature)
section. Information about lesbians is included in the homosexuality
section as well as the women's studies section. Two examples are:
Dynes, Wayne R. Encyclopedia of Homosexuality. New York:
Garland, 1990. REF HQ 76.25 E53 1990
Schlager, Neil, ed. St. James Press Gay and Lesbian Almanac
Detroit: St. James (Gale): 1998. REF HQ 76.3 U5 S75 1998
Be sure, also, to be aware of the date of your information.
The date of statistical information is always important; in addition,
laws change, attitudes change, new issues become important.
Feminist style and rhetoric have changed. To understand older
feminist material, even older second-wave material, you must be
aware of its historical and cultural background.
Keep in mind that material about women may be located nearly anywhere
in the library -- women musicians in the music section, women writers
in the literature section, women mathematicians in the mathematics
sections. Also remember that material by or about women may be written
from many standpoints; it may be feminist or liberal or conservative
or radical. As with information on any subject, you have to consider
the point of view of the author and how that affects the value you
will place on the information.
If you have difficulty finding information, you might be using
terminology that is different from that which the library is using.
Please ask at the Reference Desk for assistance if you are not finding
what you need. Librarians will be happy to show you how to use the
Library of Congress Subject
Headings, which may lead you to other searches. Women in
LC's Terms: A Thesaurus of Library of Congress Subject Headings
Relating To Women (REF Z 695.1 W65 D53 1988) is another
helpful source. Words and phrases from these sources should be used
as SUBJECT searches.
Any time you can not find what you need, ask a librarian at the
Reference Desk for assistance.
back to top
Reference Books
Reference books can be useful in locating background information
on a topic, biographical data, lists of key articles on a topic,
or statistics. Listed here are a few of the important sources that
are available in the reference collection. Browse the REF
HQ 1101 - HQ 1900 area on the first
floor for similar books.
Encyclopedias
Code, Lorraine. Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories.
New York: Routledge, 2000. This is arranged by categories,
such as "oral history," "hierarchical models of decision
making," and "ecofeminism," about which feminists
have theorized. Most entries describe the kinds of criticism/theory
that the particular category has attracted; some entries describe
the work of individual theorists. References and further reading
suggestions are included. HQ1190.E63.2000
Culler-Dupont, Kathryn. The Encyclopedia of Women's History
in America. New York: Facts on File, 1996. Information about
organizations founded, speeches given, documents written and signed,
conventions held, and more. Most women listed here were leading
figures. Has a 25-page appendix of documents, including the
U.S. Constitution, the Married Women's Property Act of 1848, Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and a list of women who have
served as U.S. Senators and Representatives. REF
HQ 1410.C85 1996
Kramarae, Cheris, and Dale Spender, eds. Routledge International
Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge.
4 volumes. New York: Routledge, 2000. An excellent starting
place for information about issues as they affect women. Cross-references.
References and Further Reading lists provided. REF HQ 1115.R69.2000
Nelson, Barbara J., and Najma Chowdhury. Women and Politics
Worldwide.New Haven:Yale University Press, 1994. This 818-page
encyclopedia took nine years to prepare and involved 61 scholars
writing about 43 countries. Coverage is from the early 1960s to
the early 1990s, depending on women's political activities in that
country. Each chapter is prefaced by a chart of political,
demographic, and economic information. REF HQ1236.W6363.1994
Schenken, Suzanne O'Dea. From Suffrage to the Senate:
An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics. 2 volumes.
Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999. Mostly biographical,
also contains information about law cases, organizations, and issues.
Sources and cross-references provided. REF HQ 1236.5.U6.S32.1999
Slavin, Sarah, ed. U.S. Women's Interest Groups: Institutional
Profiles. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1995. Lists many groups,
including: political, educational, religious, liberal, conservative
groups. Provides contact information, brief description, and
sections describing organization and development, funding, policy
concerns and tactics, electoral activities, and further information.
Entries are brief to several pages long. REF HQ 1904.U2.1992
Stromquist, Nelly P. Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia
of Contemporary Issues. New York: Garland, 1998.
The encyclopedia is divided into ten major areas: 1) Conceptual
and theoretical issues, 2) Political and legal contexts, 3) Sex-role
ideologies, 4) Demographic and health, 5) Marriage and the family,
6) Women and production, 7) Women and the environment, 8) Enabling
conditions for change, 9) Movements for Change, and 10) Geographical
entries. Each section contains articles on that theme, often
by women from the area. The bibliography is annotated.
REF HQ 1870.9.W6548.1998
Tierney, Helen, ed. Women's Studies Encyclopedia. New York:
Greenwood Press, 1989- . This is an excellent source for locating
background information on a wide variety of women's studies topics.
Volume I covers Views from the Sciences; Volume II looks at Literature,
Arts, and Learning; and Volume III deals with History, Philosophy,
and Religion. REF HQ 1115.W645 1989
Dictionaries
Humm, Maggie, comp. Dictionary of Feminist Theory. Columbus:
Ohio State University Press, 1990. This dictionary provides explanations
of words and phrases used in contemporary feminist thought. REF
HQ 1115.H86 1990
Webster's Dictionary of American Women. New York: Smithmark,
1996.More than 1500 biographies of women who have shaped American
life. REF HQ 1412. W43 1996
Bibliographies/Biographies/Statistics
American Women: Who they Are and Where they Stand. Ithaca:
New Strategist Publications, 1997. REF HQ 1421. A486
Brakeman, Lynne, ed. Chronology of Women Worldwide: People,
Places and Events that Shaped Women's History. Detroit: Gale,
1996. REF HQ 1121.C617 1997
Commire, Anne, ed. Women in World History: A Biographical
Encyclopedia. Detroit: Yorkin/Gale. This is a multi-volume
work in progress; over half was complete in 2000. Biographical
information is provided for women in all fields and from all nations.
Entries vary in length from a paragraph to several pages.
Quotations, sources, suggestions for further readings, and media
may be given. Photographs are often included. REF
HQ 1115.W6.1999
Neft, Naomi, and Ann D. Levine. Where Women Stand: An International
Report on the Status of Women in 140 Countries, 1997-1998. New
York: Random House, 1997. REF HQ 1154. N39 1997
Taeuber, Cynthia, ed. Statistical Handbook on Women in America.
Phoenix, AZ: Oryx, 1996.This is an excellent source for statistical
information on a wide variety of topics concerning women. REF
HQ 1420.T34 1996
Watson, G. Llewellyn, ed. Feminism and Women's Issues: An Annotated
Bibliography and Research Guide. New York: Garland, 1990 REF
HQ 1206.Z9 W37 1990
back to top
Finding Books and Media
Auraria Library Online Catalog
-- Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to locate specific books
and other materials at Auraria Library.
You can search for books and other materials in Skyline by word
(such as "women writers") or by title, author and a number
of other methods. For information about how to search in each category,
see the hints that appear on the screen right under the search box.
You may also ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
To find a videorecording, use a WORD search, typing in the
topic and word videorecording. For example:
women's spirituality videorecording
Here are some ways to narrow a search, along with examples:
WOMEN paired with another word to describe a subject:
- employment women
- business women
- religion women
- folklore women
WOMEN paired with a geographical location:
- Colorado women
- Great Britain women
- Russia women
WOMEN paired with another subject:
- Native American women history
- European women history
- Colonial women history
WOMEN paired with a media format:
- videorecording women
- sound recording women
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat
-- This database contains records of nearly every library in the
United States, and many foreign libraries. Currently more
than 19,000 libraries. {Scroll down the "W"
databases to WorldCat.
NetLibrary
This is a database of online, full text books. Online access
to full text scholarly, reference and professional electronic books
from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
Locate e-books through either Basic Search or Advanced Search or
try the Browse by Subject, Browse by Title, or Browse by Author
options. E-books may be viewed online or "checked out". There is
a charge for most book viewing. The Free Reading Room area has a
sizable collection of public domain e-books. Other eBooks.
- You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector.
- You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own. {Scroll down the "W"
databases to WorldCat}
Tip Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
back to top
Finding Articles
To find articles and citations to articles choose one of the indexes
listed.
Online Indexes
Contemporary
Women's Issues (CWI) Provides access to information on women
in more than 150 countries. Sources include journals, newsletters,
research reports from non-profit groups and government agencies,
and fact sheets. Disciplines included are sociology, psychology,
health, education and human rights. Coverage is from 1992-to the
present. The database is updated every two weeks. Though full-text
may be available for a particular article, it may not be immediately
available, that is, it may be emailed to you up to 24 hours later.
Check the terminal screen for options.
More general databases useful for Women's Studies: Depending
on your topic, you may want to consult the following:
America
History and Life. A comprehensive bibliographic reference
to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to
present. This database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide,
and includes citations of book and media reviews and dissertations.
Over 90% of the articles are published in English-language journals;
all abstracts are written in English. 1964 - present. Updated
monthly. Published by ABC-CLIO.
Art
Abstracts -- Index to and abstracts of leading English
language publications in the arts. 1984 - present (indexing), 1994
- present (abstracts), updates monthly. Includes information
compiled by specialists with expertise in all fields of art to provide
an international perspective on many art subjects.
Arts
& Humanities Search -- Citations from many of the world's
leading arts and humanities journals. 1980 - present, updates
weekly.
Historical
Abstracts. A reference guide to the history of the world
from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada,
which are covered in America: History and Life, see above).
The database covers more than 2,000 journals, and includes citations
to historical books and dissertations. 1960 - present. Updated
monthly. Provided by ABC-CLIO.
Sociological
Abstracts -- Also available in print at INDEX HM 1.S67
Print (paper) subscription CANCELLED in 1996. The online version
covers journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association
paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations in
theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science
from 1963-present.
Uncover (Ingenta)
-- This index lists more articles from journals, fewer from magazines.
Auraria Library owns about 40 percent of the journals indexed, and
there are no online full-text articles. Articles not owned by Auraria
Library may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan at little or no
cost. They may also be directly ordered from Uncover, but tend to
be somewhat expensive.
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text
and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
Print Indexes
As Women's Studies is a multi- and inter-disciplinary field, articles
on this broad topic can be published in a wide variety of journals,
ranging from specialized women's studies journals to those in the
arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. For Women's Studies,
one of the best is: Women Studies Abstracts. Rush, NY: Rush
Publishing. (Quarterly) Journals indexed in this source relate directly
to the study of women in all subject areas. Also includes book and
media reviews. Abstracts are included for many of the citations.
INDEX HQ 1101.W65
back to top
Specialized Microfilm Collections
The Auraria Library is fortunate in having two major microfilm
collections of women's studies materials -- History of Women
and Herstory. The collections are housed in the microforms
area in the Periodicals/Microforms Department. History of Women.
New Haven, CT: Research Publications, 1975.This is a valuable research
tool for anyone interested in the study of women's history. It contains
microfilm copies of primary materials (monographs, pamphlets, periodicals,
manuscripts, selected photographs) from prominent women's history
archives, including the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College,
the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, the Jane Addams Hull
House Library, the New York Public Library, the Boston Public Library,
the Scripps College's Mcpherson Collection, and the private collection
of Miriam Y. Holden. Its emphasis is on material published prior
to 1920. MICRO HQ 1121.H5
To access the information contained in this large collection, which
contains over 900 reels of microfilm, consult the following index:
History of Women: A Guide to the Microfilm Collection. Woodbridge,
CT: Research Publications, 1983. INDEX HQ 1121. H522
Herstory. Wooster: Bell and Howard, 1973- . This collection
contains information which is of interest to researchers studying
the resurgence of the feminist movement dating from 1956. It contains
the full text of journals, newspapers, and newsletters of women's
groups (liberation, civic, religious, professional, peace) from
throughout the world. MICRO HQ 1410.H47
To access this important collection, consult the following index:
Herstory: Microfilm Collection. Berkeley, CA: Women's History
Research Center. INDEX HQ 1410.H472
back to top
Internet Resources
200
Annotated Women's Issues and Gender-Related Links!
300 Important
Women Artists: Medieval to Modern
American
Women's History
Biographies
of Women Mathematicians -- and a related link: Past
Notable Women of Computing and Mathematics which honors
the close connection between mathematics and computing, by providing
information on pioneers in both areas."
Celebration
of Women in Engineering
Celebration of
Women Writers
Contributions of 20th
Century Women to Physics
Diotima: Women and Gender
in the Ancient World
Distinguished Women
of Past and Present -- This site, by Danuta Bois, has biographies
of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways.
There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians,
civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Some
were alive hundreds of years ago and some are living today. We've
heard of some of them, while many more have been ignored by history
book writers.
Documents from the
Women's Liberation Movement
Domestic Violence Against
Women and Girls -- A UNICEF site.
Emma Goldman Papers:
Selected Documents and Papers
Emory
Women Writers Resource Project -- A collection of women's writing
from the seventeenth through nineteenth centuries, the Emory Women
Writers Resource Project offers students the opportunity to edit
primary texts.
Feminist Majority Foundation
Online
gender
Inn: Women's and Gender Studies Database -- A searchable bibliographic
database that contains records describing over 5,000 works on "feminist
theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing
on English and American literature" from 1950 to the present.
GenderReach -- This new
Website from USAID "describes the agency's gender strategy
and its many critical gender projects."
Images
Of Women In Ancient Art
Ladyslipper.org -- Ladyslipper
is a non-profit organization which has been involved in many facets
of women's music since 1976. The website includes a catalog
and resource guide of recordings by women.
Lesbian
Herstory Sites -- Links compiled by the Austin Lesbian
Activism in the 70's Herstory Project (often called the ALA's).
The ALA's are a small group of lesbians engaged in the work of collecting,
organizing, preserving and teaching the herstory of Austin's lesbian
community during the decade of the 1970's.
Mary Cassatt: Modern
Woman -- This online exhibition consists of approximately twenty
paintings and prints by American Impressionist woman artist Mary
Cassatt; the online exhibit also features background information
on each work of art, and a gift shop with online ordering that offers
the exhibition catalogue and Mary Cassatt note cards, tote bags,
and posters.
Medieval
Feminist Index -- Covers journal articles, book reviews, and
essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle
Ages.
National Museum of Women in the
Arts [QuickTime, Windows Media Player]
National Organization for Women
National Women's History
Project
National Women Studies Association
-- Supports and promotes feminist/womanist teaching, learning, research,
and professional and community service at the pre-K through post-secondary
levels. NWSA also serves as a locus of information about the inter-disciplinary
field of Women's Studies for those outside the profession.
NOEMA,
Collaborative Bibliography of Women in Philosophy -- This project
is a collaborative scholarship, replete with a database now containing
over 15,000 records representing the work of over 5,000 women.
Senior Women Web
Sources
in the History of Gender, Science, and Medicine -- An excellent
meta-site prepared by Dr. Marjorie Levine-Clark, University of Colorado
at Denver History Department. It was prepared as a resource
guide to accompany a class entitled "Gender, Science, and Medicine:
1600 to Present."
Sources
in the History of Gender and Women in Europe, 1750-Present --
Another excellent meta-site by Dr. Marjorie Levine-Clark, University
of Colorado at Denver, History Department. Contains many links
to Auraria Library resources as well as Internet sites.
The Varo Registry of Women
Artists
Witchcraft Bibliography
Project -- Compiles and disseminates information about witchcraft
in early modern Europe and America.
Women
2000: Gender Equality, Development, and Peace for the 21st
Women and Social Movements
in the United States 1830-1930 -- A collection of learning
modules on specific topics, such as African-American Women and the
Chicago World's Fair, 1893, Women's Peace Mission to European Capitals,
1915, and Pacifism vs. Patriotism in Women's Organizations in the
1920s.From the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Women
in Cinema
Women of
Color Health Data Book -- In this report the term "women
of color" encompasses four major groups of womenNative,
Hispanic, black, and Asian Americanswith subgroups within
each of the major groups. The health of adolescent and elderly women
of color receives separate attention as well. Search for life expectancy,
demographics, tobacco use, violence and other factors.
Women of the West Museum
-- Explore the continuing role of women in the development
of the American West. The museum is the brainchild of Toni Dewey,
the first woman corporate officer at Motorola, Inc.
Women's
Health Information Center -- From the Journal of the American
Medical Association (JAMA).
Women's
Historical Text Archive -- Links to a variety of women's history
sites. Prepared by Don Mabry, a History professor at Mississippi
State University.
Women's
History
Women in Politics
-- Provides references to "books, reports and journal articles
on all aspects of women's participation in political life worldwide."
Women's International Center
-- Established in 1984, WIC seeks to inform and educate through
the Internet. A permanent information and educational home
for women, worldwide, to learn, teach and create.
Women of Color
Web
Women's Speeches from Around the
World -- Gifts of Speech is a project to preserve and create
access to speeches by contemporary, influential women from around
the world. Copies of all the Nobel Lectures by female laureates
will be digitized during 1999; many historic speeches given by women
dating back to the 1800s are also included at the site.
Women's
Studies at the University of Maryland -- The award-winning University
of Maryland women's studies database, begun in 1992, contains information
about conferences, bibliographies, calls for papers, syllabi, film
reviews, information about gender issues, links to other websites,
lists of gender-related listservs, and other information.
Women's
Studies on the Internet -- Sites selected by Ruth Dickstein,
Women's Studies Librarian, University of Arizona. These links
connect to sites which are very useful for conducting Internet research
in women's studies
WomenWatch -- The UN
Internet Gateway on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women.
Women with Disabilities
Women Writers Project --
Located at Brown University; the Project consists of an online
textbase, a collection of pre-Victorian (1450-1850) literature written
by women. The initial release of the textbase will include over
200 texts, and 50 to 100 texts are expected to be added in
the first year.
WSSLinks --
The Women's Studies Section (WSS) of the Association of College
and Research Libraries (ACRL) was formed to discuss, promote, and
support women's studies collections and services in academic and
research libraries. Areas of interest include: Women
& Gender Studies websites; Core Lists of women's studies resources:
Serials and books; Publication of research findings; Electronic
access to materials; Cooperative collection development; and Working
with publishers of women's studies materials.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|