skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
ebooks and digital repositories

An ebook has the full-text of a book available for reading online. This guide presents subscription ebook collections the Auraria LIbrary offers access to as well free offerings on the Web.

Related Guide: For information about available collections of audiobooks, digital downloads, and podcasts click here.

This symbol indicates a resource available via remote access only to students, staff & faculty of the Auraria Campus.

eBooks via the Auraria Library Catalog: Skyline
 
In addition to finding ebooks through the websites listed below, you'll find thousands of ebooks through Skyline, the Auraria Library's catalog. To pinpoint those ebooks try the steps below or follow our Using eBooks Tutorial.
  • Use the Book Search option on the Library's homepage.
  • Search as you would for a print book, i.e. by title, keyword, subject, whatever you wish.
  • Once the search is complete choose the Modify Search button at the top of the page and limit your search to Material Type: ebook
Need a reputable online reference book? An overview of a topic or a definition? Follow the steps below:
  • Use the Book Search option on the Library's homepage.
  • Search by keyword
  • Choose a keyword to describe your topic and combine it with the word encyclopedias, handbooks, or dictionaries. Examples: psychology encyclopedias; philosophy dictionaries; chemistry handbooks
  • Once the search is complete choose the Modify Search button at the top of the page and limit your search to Material Type: ebook

 

Multidisciplinary and Reference Collections.
Note: All titles contained in the Auraria-owned collections below (marked with an A) are integrated into Skyline. They can be located using the search method outlined at the beginning of this guide: 'eBooks via the Auraria Library Catalog: Skyline.'
 
Google Book Search. (Google) To locate full-text books online, not just excerpts, do an advanced search and choose to search 'full view only.'
Internet Archive. IA is a non-profit venture founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format, including text and media resources.
Books on the Internet. From the University of Texas at Austin.
Digital Book Index. This index is intended as a "Meta-index" since it searches most major eBook sites as well as thousands of smaller specialized sites.
Great Books Online Also known as Bartleby.com, "the preeminent publisher of literature, reference, and verse" ebooks free on the Web.
On-line Books Page. More than 30,000 English language etitles.
Project Gutenberg This collection is the 'grandfather of ebooks' having been the first major free ebook web site.
Munsey's. (Previously Black Mask) More than 20,000 ebooks in multiple formats.
Best Places to Get Free Books: The Ultimate Guide - From Friedbeef's Tech. This site lists both audiobooks and text only books. A mixture of great and marginal recommendations.
NetLibrary. (OCLC) Provides access to Auraria Library's largest purchased collection of e-books - more than 16,000 of them. Also includes a small collection of digital audiobooks.
Gale Virtual Reference Library. (GVRL). (Thomson-Gale). GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas.
Duke eBook Collection. From Duke University Press. About 100 new titles in the social sciences and humanities in ebook format as well as full-text access to 900 backfile titles.
ABC-CLIO ebooks. Collection of reference books on multiple disciplines.
Women Writer's Online. (WWO) From the Women Writers Project. WWO presents online editions of texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830. It also includes introductory essays by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics and supplies links to other textual databases and a collection of syllabi.
Greenwood Digital Collection. eBooks on all subject disciplines.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)

 

Literature and History
 
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts. This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web.
Complete Works of William Shakespeare. From MIT.
Library of American Civilization. Included in this book collection are biographies, fiction, letters, texts of public addresses, humor, songs, essays, guide books and other topics regarding life in America from colonial times up to World War I. Though a portion of this collection is still only available on microfiche, many of the titles are now digitized and included in the Auraria Library catalog. Browse titles here: Titles beginning with letters A - L and M - Z.
Early Americas Digital Archive. A collection of electronic texts (poems, prose, histories, diaries, journals, and letters) originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Electronic Text Archives and Plays Online.
Everyday Life and Women in America. This digital collection is a resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Internet Classics Archive. From MIT.
History Resource Center. Offers full text from more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for 135 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 57,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Literary Reference Center. Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
Making of America. From the University of Michigan. A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints.
The Nineteenth Century in Print. Texts dating mainly from 1850-1880. The full-text IS there but a little hidden. You may need to scroll down to see the link to the full-text once you've chosen a title. Searchable by subject, title, and author.
Online Children's Stories. From the University of Calgary.
Online Library of Liberty. Liberty Fund's Online Library of Liberty makes available at no charge to the public hundreds of full-length classic texts which have contributed to our understanding of the nature of individual liberty, limited and constitutional government, and the free market. The OLL has over 1,000 titles by over 350 authors from Ancient Sumeria to the present day in the following disciplines: economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, [and] religion."
Original Sources. Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion.
Oxford Text Archive. From Oxford University. The OTA collects, catalogues, preserves and distributes high-quality digital resources for research and teaching.
Perseus Project From Tufts University. " Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond."
SCETI: Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Images. Over 12,000 images from various collections of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music are available.
eServer Drama Collection.
Wright American Fiction. A collection of 19th century American fiction. Texts are browsable by author and word. Also includes advanced search capablities.

 

Science and Medicine
 
FreeBooks4Doctors.
Knovel Library (Knovel)
An extensive collection of reference eBook titles in science and engineering. Content includes data handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, monographs, conference proceedings and datasets. Many of the reference works are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools for data analysis.
National Academies Press. More than 4,000 books on this site are free. There are also ebooks for sale.
PubMed Bookshelf. (National Library of Medicine)
SpringerLink eBooks. Scientific, technical, and medical books and journals from Springer-Verlag, a major scientific publisher for over 150 years plus works from Urban and Vogel, Steinkopff, Kluwer and Birkhauser.

 

Non-English Language Texts

 
DAR: Digital Assets Repository at the at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina (the Library of Alexandria). Over 62,000 books are now available on DAR's website. For books that are out-of-copyright, their contents are fully available on the Internet. For books that are in copyright, Internet users can browse 5% of the book, with a minimum of 10 pages. Books are primarily in Arabic but other languages are included as well. Use the advance search to limit by language. http://dar.bibalex.org
LiTGloss. LiTgloss is a collection of texts of literary or cultural interest, written in languages other than English, and expertly annotated so as to facilitate comprehension by English-speaking readers. Use of LiTgloss is open to everyone who has an Internet connection and a fairly recent browser. Texts in the public domain are freely available, and copyright-protected texts are restricted to classroom use at the University of Buffalo, or at other educational institutions via password access by arrangement.

 

Digital Repository Search Sites
 
OAIster. (From the University of Michigan) An enormous collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.  Digital resources include: electronic books, online journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), and reference texts (e.g., dictionaries, directories).
OpenDoar: The Directory of Open Access Repositories. OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

 

 

 

 

 
end of page