skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
education
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Education

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research in education.

Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases  
 
Education major databases: ERIC, Education full text
Psychology primary databases are PsycInfo, ScienceDirect
Social Sciences Citation Index unique print index shows citation patterns for articles in the social sciences. Use for difficult to find topics or to track the influence of a paper.

Books  
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in many areas of education
Handbooks list of education handbooks in Skyline
Call number areas L - education, BF - psychology
Thesauri Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors - also available online through the ERIC database.

 

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline, using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, Department of Education),  a WORD search (for subjects such as home schooling, school violence or voucher system ), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as Phi Delta Kappan or Chronicle of Higher Education.

Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you  want considerable background information on your topic. For terms to use in a WORD search, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings .

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own.. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector.

Testing and Measurement

Mental Measurements Yearbook -- Contains descriptive information and full text critical reviews of commercially-available standardized assessments (English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests). This Skyline record provides information on the print edition in reference and a link to the online database.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures . Many psychological and educational tests are unpublished. This directory provides information on many of these sometimes difficult to find tests.

Style Manuals

Style Manuals for online versions of how to cite material.

Internet Resources

U.S. Department of Education

Education World   Database of 56,000 education sites on the Web.

The United States National Center for Education Statistics

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements

Federal Information by Subject

There are too many web pages to list every valuable source. Start with Lii.org (Librarians Index to the Internet) for a well maintained source of quality web sites. A search on education results in many valuable resources.

 

end of page