skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
education
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Education L Classification

L is the call letter assigned to the field of Education by the Library of Congress

The classification outline below may be used as a general browsing aid for studying resources on the shelf in the L area of the first floor Reference Collection and the second floor circulating collection of the Library. Auraria Library uses a unique classification system for the area of children's literature; all children's literature will be located in the LT section on the second floor.

For a more specific subject approach, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings volumes. Also ask reference librarians for assistance.

L Education (General):   For periodicals, congresses, directories, etc.

LA History of Education:

LB Theory and Practice of Education:
51-885: Systems of Individual Educators and Writers.
1025-1050: Teaching (Principles and Practice) Including programmed instruction, remedial teaching, non graded schools, audiovisual education, methods of study, reading (general).   1051-109: Educational Psychology.

NOTE: LB 1051-1091 is the call number block assigned to "Educational Psychology." Areas of general psychology, BF, are also pertinent to education students. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings for specific topics. See below.
 
1101-1139 Child Study, Physical Development
1140 Preschool Education
1141-1489 Kindergarten
1501-1547 Primary Education
1555-1602 Elementary of Public School Education
1603-1695 Secondary Education, High Schools
1705-2286 Education and Training of Teachers
2300-2430 Higher Education
2801-3095 School Administration and Organization
3201-3325 School Architecture and Equipment
3401-3499 School Hygiene
3525-3640 Special Days, School Life, Student Customs
 

LC Special Aspects of Education

8-59: Forms of Education including self, home, and private school education.  
65-245: Social Aspects of Education including education and the state, religious instruction in public schools, compulsory education, illiteracy, educational sociology, community and the school, endowments.  
251-951: Moral and Religious Education, Education Under Church Control.  
1001-1091: Type of Education including humanistic, vocational, and professional education.  
1390-5158: Education of Special Classes of Persons including women, Afro-Americans, gifted and handicapped children, orphans, middle class.  
5201-6691: Adult Education, Education Extension, Individual institutions; universities, colleges, and schools.

LD United States

LE  America, Except United States

LF  Asia, Africa, Oceania

LH  College and School Magazines and Papers

LJ Student Fraternities and Societies, United States

For other countries see LA, LE-LG

LT Children's and Young People's Literature

LT Teacher's Guides and Aids
1050-1099 Special Aspects of Education
1050 Remedial Teaching
1060 Bilingual Education
1090 Special Education
1140-1199 Kindergarten
1570-1999 Elementary Education
1555-1571 Teachers', Administrative Handbooks, Curriculum Planning
1572-1576 Language Arts (English)
1578-1579 Other Languages
1581-1584 History, Social Sciences
1585 Science
1587 Health, Physical Education
1589 Mathematics
1590 Penmanship
1591 Art
1591.5 Music
1591.7 Drama
1592-1595 Home Economics, Consumer Education, Vocational Education
1601 Library Skills (Elementary and Secondary)
1620-1699 Secondary Education
1607-1628 Teachers', Administrative Handbooks, Curriculum Planning
1631-1632 Language Arts (English)
1634 Other Languages
1640-1642 History
1643 Social Sciences
1643.3 Business Education
1644 Political Science
1645 Mathematics
1647-1670 Science
1671 Health
1672 Physical Education
1675 Vocational Education
1676 Home Economics
1677 Driver's Education
1694 Art
1694.5 Music
1694.6 Drama
 

LT Textbook Collection

2050-2099 Special Aspects of Education
2050   Remedial Teaching
2060   Bilingual Education
2090   Special Education
2140-2199  Kindergarten
2570-2999 Elementary Education
2572-2576 Language Arts (English)
2578-2579 Other Languages
2581-2584 History, Social Sciences
2585 Science
2587 Health, Physical Education
2589 Mathematics
2590 Penmanship
2591 Art
2591.5 Music
2591.7 Drama
2592-2595 Home Economics, Consumer Education, Vocational Education
2601 Library Skills (Elementary and Secondary)
2620-2699 Secondary Education
2620 Special Aspects of Secondary Education
2631-2632 Language Arts (English)
2634 Other Languages
2540-2642 History
2643 Social Sciences
2643.1 Minorities
2643.3 Business Education
2644 Political Science
2645 Mathematics
2647-2670 Science
2671 Health
2672 Physical Education
2675 Vocational Education
2676 Home Economics
2677 Driver's Education
2694 Art
2694.5 Music
2694.6 Drama
 

Children and Young People's Literature

3000-3034 Collections, General Works
3035-3079 Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
3080-3119 Auxiliary History, Biography Not Classed Elsewhere
3120-3229 History: General and Eastern Hemisphere
3230-3339 History: Western Hemisphere
3340-3399 Geography, Recreation
3400-3449 Social Sciences
3450-3477 Political Science
3478-3514 Law
3515-3639 Education
3540-3579 Music
3580-3639 Art
3640-3699 Science
3700-3724 Medicine
3725-3749 Agriculture
3750-3859 Technology
3860-3899 Military Science
3900-3949 Naval Science
3950-3999 Bibliography, Library Science
4000-4049 Languages
4050-4109 Children's Stories, Poetry, Drama, etc., in English
4050 Collections
4060 Early Works
4070 Modern Fiction
4080-4082 Fairy Tales, Folklore, Legends
4083 Poetry
4103 Animal Stories
4105 Children's Plays
4110-4999 Children's Stories, Poetry, Drama, etc., in Other Languages
 

NOTE: LB 1051-1091 is the call number block assigned to "Educational Psychology." Areas of general psychology, BF, are also pertinent to education students. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings for specific topics.

BF Psychology

231-299 Sensation
311-499 Cognition, Perception, Intelligence
511-593 Emotion
608-635 Will
636-637 Applied Psychology
660-687 Comparative Psychology
683 Motivation
698 Personality
699-755 Genetic Psychology, Child Psychology
695-839 Temperament, Character

 

end of page