This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on Computer
Science available through Auraria Library and on the Internet. It
also suggests a research strategy or plan of action you can follow
while doing research or simply looking for information on a topic.
You may choose to use this suggested action plan in other libraries
as well, because some of the resources listed here can be found
in other libraries.
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
It is important to remember that you should choose a topic which
is not only interesting to you but also appropriate to your capabilities
and to the time available.
Looking through the Library's collection of computer science materials
may help you decide on a topic. Information about computer science
can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals,
government documents, media and book collections, all located on
the first floor
of Auraria Library. Books shelved on the second
floor can be checked out. Within each collection area, library
materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number
refers to a subject. Most of the library materials in the areas
of computer science, and other related areas are assigned the call
numbers as listed:
QA73-QA76.95 Computer Science (many aspects)
QA76.75-QA76.765 Computer Programming TK7885-TK7895 Computer
engineering & hardware
For a more specific approach, use the Library
of Congress Subject Headings, or ask reference librarians for
more information.
back to top
Find Journal Articles
The most current information, as well as historical information,
can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles which tend
to deal with more specific topics than books .
The "Find Articles"
Guide provides information about locating journals and magazines.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The Reference Desk staff can often help
you locate other suitable information on your topic if the Library
does not own the material you need. The librarian at the Reference
Desk can often help you locate other suitable information on your
topic if the Library does not own or have access to the material
you need
back to top
Online Indexes
Use these online indexes to find citations to journal articles
on computer science topics. The following online indexes (databases)
are located on the Auraria
Library Homepage.
Computer Science-Specific Databases
Faculty, computer science majors, and students in upper division
science courses are most likely to use these databases.
Applied
Science & Technology Abstracts (ASTA) -- Citations to magazine
and journal articles on the applied sciences from 1983 - present.
Abstracts available 1994 - present. Updates monthly.
INSPEC -- The major database that indexes scientific and technical
journals and conference proceedings in the fields of physics, electrical
engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information
technology. Includes abstracts. 1968-present.
Engineering Village
2 -- Provides access to over 5 million abstracts from
Compendex, plus access to evaluated web sites, patents, and industry
standards. Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of
engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000
engineering journals and conference proceedings.
MathSciNet --
MathSciNet is the online version of the American Mathematical Society
publications Mathematical Reviews, from 1940 to the current
issue, and Current Mathematical Publications.
General Databases
Databases
-- Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple
subjects, contain full
text and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
back to top
Full Text Journal Article
Databases
ACM Digital Library -- Provides
access to bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and
full text articles published in ACM journals, transactions and
conference proceedings since the founding of ACM in 1947, together
with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Computer
Database -- Index to articles and reviews, many full text,
on computer-related topics. 1997 - present.
IEEE Xplore -- IEEE
Xplore provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals,
magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all
current IEEE Standards.
arXiv.org e-Print archive -- Includes
full text of research papers. Covered areas include physics
and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences and computer
science.
EbscoOnline
-- EbscoOnline provides access to full text of many of the
journals Auraria Library subscribes to. It provides tables of contents
and abstracts of many more. Search by journal title or keyword,
or browse the list of journal titles.
Highwire Press -- A
large database of back issues of selected scholarly journals in
the sciences and medicine. Many of the articles are full text
and freely available, while some require a subscription. Most
of the journals are published by not-for-profit scholarly societies
and publishers.
ScienceDirect
-- Provides indexing, abstracts and full text article access to the Elsevier
Science journal collection online. Auraria Library's subscription
includes access to all the journals held by the CU-system libraries,
approximately 900 titles. The collection includes journals
in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and
a few in the fine arts and humanities. Most journal coverage
begins with 1996, although coverage.
back to top
Reference Books
Once you have decided on your subject, you may want to find an
overview or a definition of your topic. A good place to start is
with subject encyclopedias or dictionaries, located in the Reference
section of the Library, the first
floor.
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Random House Webster's computer & internet dictionary.
Ref QA76.15 .M37 1999
Internet terms and computer acronyms : a useful guide.
Ref TK5105.875.I57 B754 1998
A dictionary of computing.
Ref QA76.15 .D526 1997
Encyclopedia of microcomputers (updated regularly).
Ref QA76.15 .E52 1988
back to top
Search for Books
Auraria Library Online Catalog
Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to find books in the library
and to find out if the Library subscribes or has access to specific
journals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You
may also request a book that Auraria Library does not own, and it
will be delivered to the Auraria Library for you to pick up.
NetLibrary
This is a database of online, full-text books. Quite a few
computer science books are included. Other eBooks.
National Academy Press
Read over 2000 books on a variety of science and technology topics
published by the National Academy of Sciences, free online, full
text.
WorldCat This database contains the book records of nearly every
library in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use
this database to request items not found through Skyline or Prospector.
Tip: Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
You may use ILL
(Interlibrary Loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector. You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own. This service is free to all Auraria
students, faculty, and staff.
back to top
Internet Resources Computer
Science
General web sites
Computer Science
resources - CollegeView
Computer
Science student resource site
Resources
of scholarly societies - Computer Science
Artificial intelligence
The WWW virtual
library - Artificial intelligence
Yahoo!:
Science: Computer Science: Artificial Intelligence
Expert
Systems
Programming web sites - General
dmoz:
open directory project Collected information on
approximately 2350 computer programming languages
Programming
Language Research A collection of information and resources
for research in programming language theory, design, implementation,
and related areas
Programming web sites - Selected languages
Ada Home
The All Basic Code Home
Page
C/C++
The Source for Java Technology
Dictionaries
Free Online Dictionary of
Computing: An online glossary, with cross-referencing
Webopedia An online dictionary
for terms in computer science and internet technology
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF= Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|