skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
engineering
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Engineering

Engineering is the application of scientific and mathematical principles to practical ends, such as design, construction, and operation of efficient and economical structures, equipment, and systems. This guide lists some of the library sources useful for research in the area of general engineering, as well as specialized resources in industrial, electrical and civil engineering. 

Books  
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in many areas of engineering
Handbooks list of engineering handbooks in Skyline
Call number areas T - engineering & technology

 

The following are some of the encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries in the reference section, the first floor of Auraria Library:

Annual Book of ASTM Standards. REF TA401.A653
A comprehensive listing of formally approved ASTM standard and test methods, definitions, recommended practices, classifications and specifications.   

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering. Online &   REF TA9.M35
A listing of terms fundamental to understanding the basic principles of engineering.   

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering. REF TA9.M36 An interdisciplinary work designed to provide information on ten major branches of engineering.

Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.   REF TJ151.S82
Basic reference source for mechanical engineering. (Most current is located in Ready Reference.)   

Perry's Standard Tables and Formulas for Chemical Engineers.  REF QD65.S584

Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers. REF TK151.S8 Comprehensive reference source for electrical engineering.

Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers. REF TA151.S8 Comprehensive reference source for civil engineers.

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline , using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, (i.e. United States, National Bureau of Standards),  a WORD search (for subjects such as corps of engineers, robots, wastewater, reclamation, or stress and bridges), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as ENR or Journal of Hydraulic Engineering.

Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you  want considerable background information on your topic. For terms to use in a WORD search, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings .

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector .

Article databases and indexes  
 
Engineering major databases: Compendex, INSPEC, ScienceDirect
Engineering Graphics primary databases are IEEE Xplore, Computer Database
Business major database: Business Source Premiere, Business and Company Resource Center
 

Internet Sources

ANSI Standards

IEEE on the Web -- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

International Standards Organization

Science and Engineering Indicators -- From National Science Foundation.

U.S. Manual of Classification (Patents) -- Contains 400 classes of patents where you can determine the class of your idea by searching keywords. Once you have the class or class/subclass that seems relevant to your product, you can then switch over to the Manual of Classification to see the structure of the entire class to more accurately determine what class/subclass entry is most appropriate to your item. You can then retrieve all of the patent titles in that class/subclass.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office -- Check patent rules, guidelines for submitting patents, and the U.S. Patent Bibliographic Database (a free searchable database of U.S. patents issued from 1/1/76 to the present; all U.S. patents issued from 1976 to the most recent are full text), and the AIDS Patent Database (a free database of the full text and images of AIDS-related patents issued by the U.S., Japanese and European patent offices).

Lii.org (Librarians' Index to the Internet) is a well maintained source of quality web sites in many subject areas.

 

end of page