skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
maps
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Maps

This Guide suggests samples of resources available in the Auraria Library and on the Internet for maps and mapping.

Books and Maps

Search the Auraria Library Online Catalog (Skyline) by author, title, etc. to find books, tangible or electronic, owned by the library. You can restrict your results to cartographic data by using an advanced search on maps. Use the Periodical title search to find out if a certain periodical title is owned by the library.

Most oversized atlases, U.S.G.S. and Bureau of Land Management maps are located in the Maps area near the Reference section of the Auraria Library.

If the library does not own items you are looking for, you can use Prospector, the Colorado Unified Catalog, to find which other local libraries may have them, and request that they be sent to you.

If you do not find what you want in Prospector, you can request books or articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Article Databases  
The most current information, as well as historical information, can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles. Each link below will direct you to a list of resources on the article databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.
 
Multi-subject Fulltext General databases: Academic Search Premier and Expanded Academic Index have substantial full-text earth science coverage
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Primary databases are Georef, GEOBASE, and Science Direct
Geography Previous titles plus Wiley Interscience
Geology Previous titles plus Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
 

The Catalog of U.S.Government Publications can be used to identify useful government publications, including maps, published since 1994. Titles published earlier can be found in the print Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications in the Government Publications Index area near the Government Publications reference window.

Reference Books
 
Atlases
Earth Science Dictionaries
Earth Science Encylopedias
Call number areas:
  • G is the general number for earth sciences . It is further subdivided as follows:
  • G General Geography, Atlases, Maps and GIS
  • GA Cartography, Mathematical Geography
  • GB Physical Geography
  • GC Oceanography
  • GE Environmental Sciences
  • GF Human Geography
 

Internet Resources

Census Maps

DDViewer -- DDViewer lets you create maps and calculate statistics for 220 demographic variables from the 1990 U.S.Census and Tiger files. First-time users can view an Introduction and Demo, or access a Tutorial from this page.

Landview -- A collaborative efforts of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) to provide the public ready access to published Federal spatial and related data.

State of the Cities Data Systems Provides 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Census datasets for individual metropolitan areas, central cities, and suburbs. From the Dept. of Housing and Urban Development.

U. S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources

U.S. Gazetteer.Used to identify places by name or zip code to view with the
Tiger Map Server and obtain census data

Geographic Information Systems

ESRI -- The home of ArcInfo and other GIS products.

geoCOMMUNITY -- Maps, geospatial data,  tools, and software related to GIS; also includes a search engine which focuses on geographic-related Websites.

GISPortal -- One stop shopping for GIS companies, government agencies and other material.

Mapcruzin -- Create an environmental atlas, as well as look at environmental toxics maps. GIS data available and well as assistance on creation of maps.

Other Internet Resources

Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps

Color Landform Atlas of the United States

EarthExplorer Query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey

EarthObservatory From NASA

Earth View

Geodata.gov Your one stop for federal, state, and local geographic data

Geoscience Societies Lists university geoscience departments, societies, journals, and more

Great Globe Gallery

Green Map System

MapBlast

Map History/History of Cartography

MapMachine at National Geographic; create and view dynamic and atlas maps

MapQuest

.NationalAtlas.gov

National Climatic Data Center World's largest archive of climate data

National Geologic Map Database

National Satellite Remote Land Sensing Data Archive

U.S. Geological Survey

U.S.G.S. Scientific Publications Access title lists and online text of U.S.G.S. formal publications

 

 

end of page