skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

American Flag
 
2008 Election

This guide recommends Internet, article database, print, and statistics resources for the 2008 election.

Internet Resources
The following links will take you to a variety of Internet resources that have information about the 2008 election.
Government Resources
Colorado Ballot Proposal Information  
Colorado's Legislative and Congressional Districts Includes interactive maps.
Elections Center (from the Colorado Secretary of State) Contains absentee voter request form and statistics, information on upcoming elections, and results information on past ones.
Elections...the American Way Information from the Library of Congress on the election process in the U.S.
Facts for Features: The 2008 Presidential Election A compilation of voting trends by demographics, compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Federal Election Commission Contains campaign finance reports and data.
Political Parties in the United States The State Department's guide to political parties in the United States.
U.S. Electoral College Provides background information about the electoral college as well as information about the 2008 presidential election.
Voting and Elections: Official information and services from the U.S. government Contact elected officials; learn about elections and voting; registering to vote and voting; volunteering and contributing to the election process.
Polls
Gallup Contains Gallup poll results for the 2008 election.
National Annenberg Election Survey Surveys by the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania that examine political attitudes about candidates, issues, and traits Americans want in a president.
Conventions
Democratic National Convention August 25-28, 2008 in Denver, Colorado
Democratic National Convention History Includes information on the 1908 convention in Denver. Photos
Republican National Convention September 1-4, 2008 in Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota
Colorado Resources
Colorado Ballot Proposal Information Green Party of Colorado
Colorado Democratic Party League of Women Voters of Colorado
Colorado Republican Party Colorado Libertarian Party
Other Internet Resources
Can I Vote? State level information on registration, polling places, candidates, volunteering.
Elections 2008 A guide to various election Web sites, compiled by the University of Michigan.
Open Secrets A guide to campaign contributions.
Politics 1--Directory of Political Parties A directory of political parties in the United States.
Presidential Money Race Interactive site .
Project VoteSmart An independent guide to candidate information.
Vanderbilt University Election 2008 Extensive links to candidates' sites, election statistics, political parties, news and media sites, "truthiness," and blogs.
WebJunction's Elections and the Political Process Some starting points for research into U.S. Elections and the U.S. Political Process.

 

Article Databases
You can search for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles about the election in our online databases. The Find Articles guide provides tips for locating information in these databases.
America's Newspapers (Newsbank) More than 600 U.S. newspapers, including 11 Colorado newspapers. Includes New York Times, Denver Post, and Rocky Mountain News.
Campaign 2008 News  from LexisNexis Academic Contains 2008 election stories from all the English, language full-text news sources in the combined source News, Most Recent 2 years.
CQ Politics News and analysis about U.S. domestic & foreign policy, including coverage of election issues and candidates.
CQ Researcher Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and political issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Full text.
Denver Post Most stories remain searchable (for free) for 60 days. Access to articles in the Denver Post archives which go back to 1993 are not free.
PAIS International Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources.
Political Science - Sage Complete online coverage of 23 journals published by Sage and participating societies, covering political science, American government and policy studies.
Rocky Mountain News Most stories remain searchable (for free) for 60 days. Access to articles in the archives, which go back to 1989, are not free.

 

Books
The catalogs listed below will help you find books about various election topics. For a more targeted approach, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings which offer very specific terms or phrases used by libraries to describe what a given book or article is about. A couple books that provide good overviews about elections and voting are U.S. Election System and The Right to Vote.
Skyline Skyline is the Library's catalog. It points you to the Library's books, DVD and VHS recordings, sound recordings, government publications, and more. There are several ways to search including Keyword and Subject searching.
Prospector If the book you want is not in Skyline, use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library has it. Campus students and faculty members can order the book at no charge through Prospector if it's available at another library.
NetLibrary The Library has access to this database of online, full text books. Find other e-books via the e-Books Guide.

 

Elections and Voting Statistics
 
America Votes Biennial election statistics, 1956 - 2006. REF JK 1967 .A8
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Statistics on U.S. politics, including voting records and elections. REF JK1 .C663.
FactCheck: Annenberg Political Fact Check. The site creators examine recent statements by politicians or political organizations from any political party, and print the claim, test its truthfulness, and cite their sources. 
Federal elections [electronic resource.  Federal Election Commission.
Statistics of the presidential and congressional election of ... Statistics from the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1920 to the present.
Roll Call Votes. Tally results for bills presented in the U.S. Congress.

 

 
end of page