THE COURT SYSTEM
The court system in the United States consists of 51 jurisdictions
(fifty states, plus the federal system). Each of the fifty states
has courts at three levels:
Trial Courts
Intermediate Appellate Court
Court of Last Resort
While every state has courts at these 3 levels: trial, appellate
and court of last resort, the actual names of the courts
may be different in different states.
In Colorado:
- the Trial court is the county district court
- the Appellate court is the Colorado Court of Appeals
- the Court of last resort is the Colorado Supreme Court.
The trial court is the first level in the court system. In actual
operation, the trial court may have numerous subdivisions and special
branches (e.g., probate, family court, small claims court, etc.)
but every jurisdiction has a trail court of general jurisdiction
at which most disputes are initially adjudicated. A trial judge's
ruling on an issue of law can be appealed to the court at the intermediate
level. In some cases, after the determination of an appeal in the
intermediate appeal court, a second appeal may be taken, this time
to the court of last resort.
The federal system has courts which are parallel to those in the
fifty states.
At the Federal Level:
- Trial courts are U.S. District Courts
- the Appellate courts are U.S. Courts of Appeals
- the Court of last resort is the U.S. Supreme Court.
back to top
COLORADO COURTS
DISTRICT COURTS
Publication of Cases in Colorado Courts
Colorado, like most states, DOES NOT publish decisions from its
trial court level (District Court.) Trial court proceedings are
filed with the clerk of the court, where you may obtain a transcript
for a fee.
COURT OF APPEALS AND SUPREME COURT
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe Select Legal Research, State Case Law and
then Colorado. Provides access to the Colorado Court of Appeals,
1891- and the Colorado Supreme Court, 1864- .
Pacific Reporter 2d- (title varies) St. Paul: West Pub.
Co., 1931- REF KF 135 .P2 .P2
The Pacific Reporter published by West Publishing Company
is a regional reporter which includes Colorado decisions as well
as decisions from fourteen other western states. In addition to
the full report of each decision, West Publishing Company editors
prepare detailed head-notes (abstracts of the legal issues in the
case.)
---USING THE PACIFIC REPORTER---
- Pacific Reporter: Case finding by citation:
When you have a citation to a case (i.e., the volume and page
number,) as in the following example:
Austin v. Stephen 300 P. 364 (Colo. 1931)
Find the decision in volume 300, on page 364 on the first series
of books published as Pacific Reporter.
In this example:
Andretti v. Johnson 779 P.2d 382 (Colo. 1989)
Find the decision in volume 779, on page 382 of the second series
of books published as Pacific Reporter. Volumes in the second
series bear the imprint "2d series" on the spine.
- Pacific Reporter: Case Finding
by Name: When you know the name of the case (i.e., the
name of the plaintiff and defendant) use the "Table of Cases"
of one of the digests listed below to find the reference.
If you do not know the year of the case, use the digest from all
editions.
- West's Pacific Digest. Beginning 101, P2d. St. Paul:
West Pub. Co., 1962-1972 REF KF 135. P21 W4
West's Pacific Digest, Beginning 376, P2d. St. Paul: West
Pub. Co., 1979-
REF KF 135. P21 W42
Example:
City of Grand Junction v. Eichelberger
The "Table of Cases" volume provides this reference:
City of Grand Junction v. Eichelberger 334 P.2d 1095 (Colo.
1959)
- Pacific Reporter: Case Finding
by Subject: When you need subject access to legal decisions
use the "Descriptive Word Index" of one of the digests listed
in Pacific Reporter: Case Finding by Name
The "Descriptive Word Index" is a detailed subject index to the
contents of the digest. Before consulting a "Descriptive Work Index,"
analyze the problem to be searched, and draw from it very specific
words or phrases which may be searched.
For example, if you want to research "Change of venue" for a criminal
case.
Find the phrase in the index and select the most appropriate subheading.
With the topic and subheading are key numbers. Use these to find
the digest volume which covers those Key Numbers there you will
find a listing of cases related to that topic. You may wish to study
the outline for that topic in the introductory material at the beginning
of the appropriate volume to ensure that you find the most relevant
cases. To do an exhaustive search you should consult the digest
topic and appropriate key number in each digest.
back to top
FEDERAL COURTS
U.S. DISTRICT COURTS
The United States District Courts are the trial courts at the federal
level. Colorado has one United States District Court, located in
Denver. This court hears cases which are appealed from the Supreme
Court of Colorado.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe Select Legal Research, Federal Case Law and
then within the pull-down menu for Court, select District Courts.
Provides access to cases heard by all U.S. District Courts from
1789- .
West's Federal Supplement. (title varies) St. Paul: West
Pub. Co. 1933- REF KF 105 .F44
---FINDING A CASE IN THE FEDERAL SUPPLEMENT---
- Federal Supplement: Case Finding by Citation: When
you have a citation to a case (i.e., the volume and page number),
as in the following example:
Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Samson 471 F. Supp.
1041 (1979)
Find the decision in volume 471, on page 1041 of the Federal
Supplement.
- Federal Supplement: Case
Finding by Name: When you know the name of a case (i.e.,
the name of the plaintiff and defendenvt), use the "Table of Cases"
volume of one of the digests listed to find the reference.
If you do not know the year of the case, use the digest from all
editions.
- Modern Federal Practice St. Paul:
West Pub. Co., 1960-1971
- REF KF 127 .M6
- West's Federal Practice Digest 2d. St.
Paul: West Pub. Co., 1976- 1978
- REF KF 127 .W28
- West's Federal Practice Digest 3d.
St. Paul: West Pub. Co., 1984- 1987
- REF KF 127 .W4830
- West's Federal Practice Digest 4th.
St. Paul: West Pub. Co., 1989-
- REF KF 127 .W484
- Federal Supplement: Case Finding by Subject:
Use the "Descriptive Word Index" of one of the digests listed
in Federal Supplement: Case Finding by Name for subject
access.
Using digests for subject access is discussed in Pacific Reporter: Case Finding by Subject.
You will find a that the discussion relates to decisions in the
state court system, but you can follow the same steps to find
cases in the Federal digests.
back to top
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
The United States Courts of Appeals are the appellate courts on
the federal level. The U.S. Courts of Appeals consist of thirteen
judicial circuits. The 10th Circuit Court of Appeals hears cases
which are appealed from the U.S. District Court, for Colorado as
well as from the U.S. District Courts of Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma,
Utah and Wyoming.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe Select Legal Research, Federal Case Law and
then within the pull-down menu for Court, select Court of Appeals.
Provides access to cases heard by all U.S. Circuit Courts, dates
available vary by court.
West's Federal Reporter. Second Series. (title varies)
St. Paul: West Pub. Co., 1925-. REF KF 105 .F42
---USING THE FEDERAL REPORTER---
- Federal Reporter: Case Finding by Citation: When
you have a citation to a case (i.e., the volume and page
number), as in the following example:
Colorado High School Activities Association v. National Football
League, 711 F 2d. 943 (1983). Find the decision in
volume 711, on page 943 of the second series of books published
as Federal Reporter. Volumes in the second series bear
the imprint "2nd" series" on the spine. Auraria Library does not
own any volumes published in the first series of the Federal
Reporter.
- Federal Reporter: Case Finding by Name:
When you know the name of a case (i.e., the name of the plaintiff
and defendant), use the "Table of Cases" of one of the digests
listed in Federal Supplement: Case Finding by Name to find
the reference. if you do not know the year of the case,
use the "digest from all editions.
Example:
Dennis v. Charnes
The "Table of Cases" volume gives the Reference:
Dennis v. Charnes, 805 F.2d 339 (1984).
- Federal Reporter: Case Finding by Subject:
For subject access use the "Descriptive Word Index" of
one of the digests listed in Federal Supplement: Case Finding
by Name.
Follow the steps in Pacific Reporter: Finding Cases by Subject for
a discussion of using digests for subject access.
back to top
Internet Resources
10th Circuit Court
Opinions -- Part of the FindLaw, mega-law site, this provides
access to recent cases heard by the Court of Appeals, 10th Circuit.
Colorado Courts
Colorado Supreme
Court Library
Duhaime's Law Dictionary
Federal and State Courts
Finder
Federal Courts
Law Review -- An electronic law review specializing exclusively
in legal scholarship relating to federal courts.
Findlaw
International Court of Justice
-- International Court of Justice. The International Court
of Justice (ICJ), which has its seat in The Hague, is the principal
judicial organ of the United Nations.
Internet
Library of Law and Court Decisions -- "...features extensive
summaries of court decisions shaping the law of the web; providing
facts, analysis and pertinent quotes from cases of interest to those
involved in New Media addressing copyright, trademark, dilution
and other intellectual property issues, jurisdiction, linking, framing,
meta tags, clip-art, defamation, domain name, e-mail, encryption,
gambling, click-wrap agreements, shrink-wrap licenses, spamming
and other subjects.
National Center for State
Courts
Nolo Legal Encyclopedia
and Nolo Legal
Dictionary -- Nolo Press sponsors this online legal encyclopedia
and dictionary. They make every effort to minimize "legalese"
and target the day-to-day non-lawyer user. The dictionary
provides definitions and the encyclopedia more in-depth information.
State and Local Government
on the 'Net -- Links to over 7,288 law/legal sites.
Arranged by state.
Supreme Court of the United
States -- information about the Supreme Court. Cases are
not covered here. See Findlaw or Lexis-Nexis
for cases.
U.S. Supreme Court
Opinions -- Part of the FindLaw, mega-law site, this provides
access to recent cases heard by the Supreme Court, as well as the
text of Selected Cases.
Supreme Court Reports 1967-1995
-- free Internet access to 18,274 cases dating from 1892.
Includes a 2,800 subject term index which is searchable by letter
of the alphabet.
back to top
U.S. SUPREME COURT
The U.S. Supreme Court serves as the final level of appeal in any
federal dispute. Only a small percentage of the cases appealed to
the Supreme Court are accepted for consideration. The Court typically
writes opinions on less than 150 cases per term.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe Select Legal Research, Federal Case Law and
then within the pull-down menu for Court, select Supreme Court.
Provides access to the U.S. Supreme Court Lawyers' Edition,
1790- . United States. Supreme Court.
United States Reports. Washington, D.C.: Supt. of Docs.
REF KF 101 .U5a
Commonly referred to as United States Reports (abbreviated
for citation purposes as U.S.) This version is the official reporter
for the Supreme Court of the United States. It is an accurate, well-indexed
compilation of the full official text of all decisions of the Supreme
Court of the United States. The Auraria Library's set begins with
Volume 410 beginning October 1972. The advance sheets and volumes
of the U.S. Reports tend to appear quite slowly.
United States Supreme Court Reports. Lawyers' Edition.
Rochester, N.Y.: Lawyers Co-operative Pub. Co., 1926-. REF KF
101 .U52
An unofficial compilation, the Auraria Library holds the complete
set. The Lawyers' Edition is published faster than the
United States Reports. Besides including a totally accurate
printing of all Supreme Court decisions this provides short summaries
of the briefs of counsel. In addition, the publisher includes annotations
on a few of the more important cases in each volume.
---USING THE LAWYERS' EDITION---
- Lawyers' Edition: Case Finding by Citation: When you
have a citation to a case (i.e., the volume and the page number),
as in the following example:
Keyes et al v. School District No. 1, Denver, Colorado, et al,
413 U.S. 189, 37 L.Ed 2d 548, 93 S.Ct.
2686 (1973)
Find the decision either in volume 413, on page 189 of the U.S.
Reports, or volume 37, on page 548 of the second series of
books published as Lawyers' Edition.
The above citation is called a parallel citation and it refers
you to the location of the decision in the official reporter as
well as two unofficial reporters. The third reporter in the above
citation is the Supreme Court Reporter, published by West
Publishing Company. Auraria Library does not own the Supreme
Court Reporter in its collection.
If the citation you have follows the next example:
Milheim v. Moffat Tunnel Improvement District, 262 U.S.
710, 67 L.Ed. 1194, 43 S.Ct. 694 (1923)
Find the decision in volume 67, on page 1194 of the first series
of books published as Lawyers' Edition or in volume 262 of
the U.S. Reports, (which Auraria Library does not own.)
- Lawyers' Edition: Case Finding by Name:
When you know the name of the case (i.e., the name of the plaintiff
and defendant), use the digest. Digest of United States Supreme
Court Reports. Lawyers' Edition. Rochester, N.Y.: Lawyer's
Co-operative Pub. Co. REF. KF 101.1 .U52
Example:
Colorado v. New Mexico
The digest provides the following reference:
Colorado v. New Mexico, 467 U. S. 310, 81
L. Ed.2d 247, 104 S. Ct. 2433 (1984)
Find the decision either in volume 467, on page 310 of the U.S.
Reports, or in volume 81, on page 247 of the second series
of the Lawyers' Edition.
- Lawyers' Edition: Case Finding by Subject: When you need
subject access to legal decisions use the digest listed in Lawyers'
Edition: Case Finding by Name
- In Pacific Reporter: Case Finding by Subject you will find a discussion
of digests and how to use them. This can be related to using the
U.S. Supreme Court Digest Lawyers' Edition for subject
access. The U.S. Supreme Court Digest divides the legal
issues into some 400 topics and numerous subdivisions of those
topics. These topics and subtopics are different from those used
by West Publishing Company, but they like those by West, are keyed
to the head-notes and annotations in the United States Supreme
Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|