Find Articles
Quick Search of 12 core library databases.
Databases in Public Administration/Public Affairs
TIP For indexes that do not contain full text of an
article, such as those listed below, use the GR Linker icon to connect to GoldRush which will tell you if the journal is in another of the Auraria databases. You can also check a Skyline Periodical Title Search ,
to see if Auraria owns the periodicals
you are looking for either online or in paper or microform. See Find a copy of a journal article for help.
You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or Prospector.
|
|
|
You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order dissertations that Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or Prospector.
|
Access from Off-Campus is available for the above licensed databases as well as access anywhere on the Auraria campus. Students, faculty and staff will be asked to enter their name and ID number when accessing from off campus.
back to top
Finding Older Articles in Print Indexes Many older articles (generally, beyond ten years) are not indexed
online. Print indexes that lead to articles include:
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science,
1866-1974. Washington, Carolloton Press. LOCATION:
REF INDEX JA1. C18
Index to Current Urban Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1972 2000. REF INDEX HT 101.U72 This multi-volume set is an index to local government publications issued by almost 300 of the largest North American cities and counties. All Colorado documents, which include Aurora, Colorado Springs, Denver, Lakewood, and Pueblo, are full-text on the Urban Documents Microfiche Collection.
International Political Science Abstracts.
Paris: International Political Science Assoc. 1977 1999.
LOCATION: REF INDEX JA36.I5
Sage Public Administration Abstracts. Beverly Hills, CA:
Sage Publications, 1974 2003. LOCATION: PASCAL OFFSITE
JA1.S27
Sage Urban Studies Abstracts. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage Publications,
1973 present. LOCATION: REF INDEX HT123.S2
Social Sciences Citation Index. Philadelphia: ISI, 1977
2005. LOCATION: REF INDEX: HI.S63. Continued by Web of Science online database.
Social Sciences Index. New York: H.W. Wilson. 1974
1998. LOCATION: REF INDEX H1.S62
Urban Affairs Abstracts. Washington, D.C.: National League
of Cities, 1972 1994. LOCATION: REF INDEX HT123.U7
back to top
Newspaper Databases and Indexes
Indexes pre-dating those listed above:
The New York Times Index [REF INDEX AI21.N44] 1913-present
Index to the Denver Post [REF INDEX AI21.C57] 1979-1986
The Washington Post Index [REF INDEX AI21.W33
O54] 1989-1999
back to top
Books
Information about public affairs and public administration can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government publications, media and book collections. Books shelved on the second floor and in Government Publications can be checked out. Within each collection area, library materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Most of the library materials in the areas of public affairs and other related areas are assigned the call numbers as listed:
- J General Legislative and Executive Papers
- JA Political Science (General)
- JC Political Theory, Theory of the State
- JF Political Institutions and Public Administration
- JK Political Institutions and Public Administration: United States
- JL Political Institutions and Public Administration: America Outside the U.S.
- JS Local Government
- K Law (General)
- KF Law (United States)
Auraria Library Online Catalog Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to find books in the library
and electronically; also use Skyline to find out if the Library
subscribes to, or has access to specific journals or magazines. You can search by known author, title, periodical title or by keyword to find out books on your topic. Then try the Library of Congress subjects shown in the record to find more. These are standardized subject used to describe books and other publications.
Explanation of Location Codes
REF STACKS= Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
REF INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB U.S. or FICHE = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues in Current Periodica
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You may
request materials from Prospector and have the materials sent to
Auraria. Typically the books are delivered in 2-3 business days.
WorldCat
This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use to request
items not found through Skyline or Prospector. Use the Interlibrary Loan link.
Tip You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order books that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector.
Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
back to top
Government Publications
Auraria Library is a federal and Colorado state depository library. These publications are cataloged in the Skyline and Prospector catalogs. For additional resources and databases click on Government Information and Government Research Databases. These selected databases most useful for public administration/public affairs are open access. Pre 1976 government publications, back to
1895, are indexed in the print Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications [GOVPUB INDEX GP3.8]
Code of Federal Regulations -- Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions. Full text.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks -- Each study deals with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social and national security systems and institutions. Over 80 countries are featured. From the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
CyberCemetery (University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office)
The University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office, as part of the Federal Depository Library Program, created a partnership to provide permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions (e.g. National Bioethics Advisory Commission).
Coverage: 1995-
Environmental Protection Agency
Federal Register -- Full text.
General Accountability Office (GAO)
GPO Access -- Includes the Budget of the United States, Congressional publications, bills, public laws, the Code of Federal Regulations, Economic Indicators, the Economic Report of the President, the Federal Register, the Government Information Locator Service, Supreme Court Decisions from 1937-1975, the Unified Agenda of Federal Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions, the United States Code, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents.
Library of Congress American Memory Project American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
NCJRS Virtual Library -- Search NCJRS' Justice Information Center web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the While House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
Open CRS (Center for Democracy & Technology)
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service ($100 million/yr) yet only a portion of these reports are released to the public and there is no systematic collection of them that is publically accessible. Through the cooperation of several unofficial collectors Open CRS provides citizen access to CRS Reports already released into the public domain. CDT encourages Congress to provide systematic public access to all CRS Reports.
Office of Management and
Budget
Thomas Legislative Server -- Find the status of bills, roll call votes, Congressional Record,
committee information and historical documents.
DRCOG
Auraria Library holds many documents published by the Denver
Regional Council of Governments (DRCOG), a regional planning
agency representing six counties and thirty-seven municipalities
in the greater Denver metropolitan area. DRCOG publications can
be located through Skyline.
back to top
Special Collections
All-America Cities Award Program Records Collection. 1949
present. ARCHIVES AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS This award recognizes
citizen teamwork in ten local communities each year. To be selected
as an All-America City, a community must show noteworthy accomplishments
though continuing citizen/city government participation. This collection
contains information on the administration of the awards program
and profiles of the winning communities. Archives
and Special Collections is located in the second
floor of the Library.
National Municipal League/Civic League Archives ARCHIVES
AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS The collection includes the records and
research files of the National Municipal League (now called the
National Civic League) from the early 1900s through the present.
Extensive subject files and geographic files document activities
of the League through its involvement in municipal policy, state
constitutional revision, and reapportionment. Included are all publications
of the League, including its renowned series of model statements
for charters and constitutions. Archives
and Special Collections is located in the second
floor of the Library.
back to top
Internet Resources
ACLU Congressional Scorecard
American Enterprise Institute for
Public Policy Research
American Society for Public Administration
Brookings Institution
Cato Institute
Colorado State Publications (Government state agency and related sites links)
Congress Watch -- From Public Citizen.
Denver Area Organization Directory -- A listing of thousands of clubs, associations, and groups in the six county Denver metro area.
Findlaw -- Search Findlaw on a variety of legal subjects including cases, courts, international law, and legal forms.
GuideStar -- Directory of more than 700,000 charities and non-profit organizations. Search by name, keyword, category, location, or revenue.
Heritage Foundation -- Conservative think tank.
Hoover Institution on War, Revolution
and Peace (Stanford University)
Hubert H. Humphrey
Institute of Public Affairs -- Home of PUBPOL Listserv.(University of Minnesota)
Institute for Policy Studies
John Locke Foundation
Kennedy School of Government (Harvard University)
Lobbyists
Database
Manhattan Institute for Policy Research
Meet the Mayors
(U.S. Conference of Mayors) -- Search the Mayors at a Glance database, which allows users to
search for mayors by last name, city, state, or population.
Moving Ideas: the Electronic Policy Network.
National Academy of Public Administration
National Center for Policy Analysis
National Conference of State Legislators
National Congress for Community
Economic Development
PollingReport.com
-- A bimonthly public opinion monitor, offering a very frequently
updated polling results and data. The site is updated whenever a
new poll is released.
Public Agenda Online
-- This site provides succinct, nonpartisan information on social
issues ranging from abortion to Social Security to free speech and
privacy on the Internet.
RAND Corporation -- RAND (a contraction
of the term research and development) is the first
organization to be called a "think tank." Originally a military
contractor, RAND performs research into all aspects of public policy.
The Record of American
Democracy, 1984-1990 (ROAD)
Resources for the Future
Stateline.org -- The Pew
Center on the States runs this Website providing "a set of
tools" that apprise state policy makers, the public, and the
media of important developments occurring in the capitols of all
50 states. Features of the site include current and past news items
on state government, statistical data and background information
for every state, a library of updated data tables, and developments
for major political issues.
Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy (University of Arizona) -- The catalog contains citations to books, reports,
and periodicals on all aspects of public policy, with special collections
on U.S.-Mexico border issues, environmental conflict resolution,
environmental policy in the Southwest (climate change, environmental
health, and water resources), and American Indian policy. All of
the materials in the catalog are available at the Udall Center library
in Tucson, Arizona.
Urban Institute
Western Governor's Association
Woodrow
Wilson International Center for Scholars
back to top |