skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
computer cables
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Health care management

This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on health care management and administration available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. It also suggests a research strategy or plan of action you can follow while doing intensive research or simply looking for information on a topic.

Choose your topic

It is important to remember that you should choose a topic which is not only interesting to you but also appropriate to your capabilities and to the time available.

Looking through the Library's various collections of health care management materials may help you decide on a topic. This information can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents, media and in the book collection on the second floor. Most materials in government documents, and all of those in the second floor book collection, can be checked out. Those in the other collections mentioned above cannot. Within each collection, materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Most of the library's materials in the areas of  health care management and other related areas are assigned the call numbers as listed:

  • R Medicine (General)
  • R 131-684 History of medicine
  • R 735-847 Medical education
  • RA Public aspects of education
  • RA 5-418 Medicine and state
  • RA 421-790 Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine

Many of the healthcare management and hospital administration books will be shelved in the RA section on the second floor.

For additional information, see the Library of Congress Subject Headings , or ask our Librarians at the Reference Desk for more information.

Books how to find books, videos and other materials
 
Catalogs Skyline (Auraria Library Catalog), Prospector (Colorado Unified Catalog), and other local, national and international library catalogs
 

TIP: Use Skyline to search for books, dissertations, videos, audiorecordings and other materials in the Auraria Libary. You may use Prospector and WorldCat to request materials that the Auraria Library doesn't own.

If the materials you want are not available through any of the above sources, you can order them through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Link to the Guide Find (e)books, videos, DVD's to learn more about how to find and request materials that are not available at Auraria Library.

Article databases and indexes subscription databases (paid for by the Library) and print indexes
 

DATABASES

Go to the following webpages for article databases related to healthcare management and administration (in some instances certain databases will be listed on more than one of these webpages). Many of these databases contain full text and/or scholarly, peer reviewed articles which appear in leading journals.  

Health Administration (Business) major database: Reuter's Business Insight
Business Administration major database: Emerald Full Text
Business major database: Business Source Premier
Nursing major database: CINAHL
 
 

TIP: For databases that do not contain full text of an article, remember to check Skyline, Auraria Library's online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodicals you are looking for! You may also use Goldrush to search for full text of these periodicals in other databases, or use ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own..

The Find Articles Guide provides additional information on locating journals and magazines.

PRINT INDEXES

To search for articles and/or periodicals more than 10 - 20 years old, use the following print periodical indexes. The Index section of the Library is located on the first floor.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. v. 22 (1977)-v. 46 (2001). LOCATION: INDEX RT41.C8

Hospital Literature Index. v. 37 (1981)-v. 50 (1994). LOCATION: INDEX A963 .H67

TIP: If the Auraria Libary does not have the materials you are looking for, ask at the Reference Desk. The Librarians at the Reference Desk can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic.

Internet sources free (non-subscription) databases
 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (formerly HCFA)

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care -- Brings together researchers in diverse disciplines and focuses on the accurate description of how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.

Healthcare Financial Management Association

HealthGrades.com -- Health care report cards covering hospitals, health plans, and physicians.

Health Hippo  --  A collection of policy and regulatory materials related to healthcare. 

Health Services Research Journal

Health System Information Page -- From Medline, at the National Library of Medicine.

Hospital Connect -- Links together the internet sites for dozens of organizations serving health care providers.

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations

Medical Group Management Association

Medicare.gov

National Centers for Health Statistics

To Err Is Human: Building a Safer Health System

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

 

end of page