skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

computer cables
 

Medicine


This guide consists of a list of selected resources on medicine available in Auraria Library and on the Internet.

Choose Your Topic

Perusing through the Library's collection of medical and health related materials may help you decide on a topic. Information about medicine can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents, media and book collections. Books shelved on the second floor can be checked out. Within each collection area, library materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Most of the library materials in the areas of medicine, and other related areas are assigned the call numbers as listed:

  • R Medicine (General)
  • R 131-684 History of medicine
  • R 735-847 Medical education
  • RA Public aspects of education
  • RA 5-418 Medicine and state
  • RA 421-790 Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine
  • RB Pathology
  • RC Internal medicine. Practice of medicine
  • RD Surgery
  • RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
  • RT Nursing
  • RZ Other Systems of medicine

For a more specific approach, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings, or ask reference librarians for more information.

Reference Sources

Once you have decided on your topic, you may want to find an overview or a definition of your topic.A good place to start is with subject encyclopedias or dictionaries

The following is a selection of some of the encyclopedias and dictionaries in the reference section of Auraria Library and on the Internet:

Access Science (McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology) -- The online equivalent of the 9th edition of the print set, this database contains full access to 7100-plus articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology, and 2000 biographies of leading scientists.

Black's Medical Dictionary . 37th edition. Lanham, MD: Barnes & Noble, 1994. REF R121.B59 1994 Black's well illustrated dictionary was first published in 1906 and remains a standard ready reference for authoritative definitions of medical terms. Editions are frequently revised and updated.

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment . Norwalk, CT: Appleton & Lang. Annual. REF RC71.A14 This excellent source covers all fields of internal medicine as well as important topics of concern to primary care physicians and others interested in up to date information on various disorders and diseases.

Dictionary of Medical Syndromes . Third edition. New York: Lippincott, 1990. REF RC69.M33 1990 An easy reading reference book that gives synonyms, symptoms, signs, etiology, pathology, diagnostic procedure, therapy and prognosis of various diseases. Bibliographies are also provided.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences -- This online encyclopedia is a growing database of articles about topics in the biological sciences such as biochemistry, ecology, cell biology, plant sciences, microbiology, etc. This site has been created for scientists, students, librarians, and other professionals who wish to search and use the Embryonic Encyclopedia of  Life Sciences (ELS) material prior to official publication of the work in 2001.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Prentice Hall International, 1995. REF QH332 .E52 1995

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences -- This online version of the 24-volume printed encyclopedia contains nearly 4,000 signed articles by social science scholars from many disciplines. Fully searchable, with integrated internal linking. Printed encyclopedia was originally published in 2001; online version to be updated annually.

Medical Dictionary at National Library of Medicine

Medical Encyclopedia at National Library of Medicine

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

New Complete Medical and Health Encyclopedia . Four volumes. New York:   Lexicon, 1996.REF RC81.N515 1996 Gives answers to health care questions. Major diseases such as AIDS, cancer and heart problems and their treatments are discussed. This is a good source for background information, a handy guide to first aid, and a reference on where to get further information.

Spanish-English, English-Spanish medical dictionary = Diccionario médico, español-inglés, inglés-españo l. Boston : Little, Brown, 1996. REF R121 .M488 1996

Atlases, Images & Pathology
B rainWeb
Gray's Anatomy

Heart Preview Gallery

Human Anatomy
Online
Vesalius Images of the human body in color that may be downloaded for free, non-commercial use.
Neuroscience Tutorial
At the Washington University School of Medicine;  illustrated tutorial on clinical neuroscience.
Visible Human Project
At National Library of Medicine.
WebPath
Pathology database and images; includes images with text, tutorials, and laboratory exercises that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.
Whole Brain Atlas
A Web-based educational resource for basic neuroanatomy. The Website has examples of how strokes, tumors, and degenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's appear in the brain and contains images that illustrate disease state.

Diagnostic Tests
Argo descipher
Essentials of diagnosis & treatment [NetLibrary electronic resource] 2nd edition.New York: Lange Medical Books/McGraw Hill, 2002.
Genetics Home Reference
at the National Library of Medicine.
Harvard Medical School Family Health Guide: Diagnostic Tests
The Patient's Guide to Medical Tests : Everything You Need To Know About The Tests Your Doctor Orders . Facts on File. REF RC71.3 .S424 1998
WebMD: Medical Tests

Disease Information
Classification of Diseases
HealthFinder Healthfinder® is a free guide to reliable consumer health and human services information, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
MedicineNet
Disease information, ask-an expert, and medical reference materials.
Medlineplus
Look up a disease, treatment by category or letter .
QuackWatch
Guide to health fraud, quackery, and intelligent decisions.

Drug Information
ClinicalTrials.gov
DrugDigest Reviews of over 1,500 drugs, vitamins, herbs, and articles about common medical conditions.
Drugs and Medicine Comprehensive information about more than 1,000 prescription medications, including side effects and possible food and drug interactions.
Drug Information
@ National Library of Medicine.
RxList: Internet Drug Index
U.S. Pharmacopeia

Article Databases

Databases -- Go to this page for databases related to all aspects of medicine and diseases. Many of these databases contain full text, scholarly, peer reviewed articles in leading journals.

TIP For indexes that do not contain full text of an article,  remember to check Skyline , Auraria Library's online catalog to see if Auraria owns the periodical and Goldrush to locate the full text of an article within a database.

Other Useful Sources

Bioethics Information Retrieval Project -- A " unique interdisciplinary source of references to information on the ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of health care, the professional patient relationship, and biomedical research." The database is produced for the National Library of Medicine (NLM) by the Bioethics Information Retrieval Project at the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University.

Centerwatch -- Designed for both patients and researchers, this site offers a large collection of resources on clinical trials. Patients interested in participating in a clinical trial may browse a listing of trials organized by disease category and then broken down by state

ChemScope: FDA Alerts -- Searchable database of the Food and Drug Administration Alerts

Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report

NLM (National Library of Medicine) Gateway -- A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, Health Services Research Meetings, HSRProj, MEDLINEplus and DIRLINE.

Remember--

  • You may use WebZAP to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or Prospector. 
  • You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and you cannot locate through Prospector.

Print Indexes

For a more historical search, use print periodical indexes and abstracts.

Selected periodical abstracts and indexes in Auraria Library are listed as follows:

Abridged Index Medicus . Bethesda: National Library of Medicine. V. 1- (1970-). Monthly INDEX R129.I422 The monthly index, cumulated annually, covers about 120 English-language clinical journals. Most articles included are of immediate interest to practicing physicians and health professionals. Articles are arranged by subject and author.

Bibliography of Bioethics. Washington, DC : Kennedy Institute of Ethics.1975- Index QH332 .B53

Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature . Glendale, CA: Medical Glendale Adventist Center. V. 22- (1977-). (Formerly Cumulated Index to Nursing Literature. V. 1-21. (1956-1976.) Bimonthly, with annual cumulation. INDEX RT41.C8
The index covers all major nursing journals published in English that pertain to nursing care as well as to the following allied health areas: cardiopulmonary technology, health education, laboratory technology, nutrition and dietetics, physical therapy, social service in health care, surgical technology, and several other topics in allied health.

Hospital and Health Administration Index (formerly Hospital Literature Index ). Chicago: RA American Hospital Association in cooperation with the National Library of Medicine. V. 39- (1983-). INDEX RA963.H67 Quarterly, annual and five year cumulation. Basic author-subject index to hospital literature concerning administration, planning and financing of hospitals and related health care institutions. It does not include articles on clinical patient care.

Psychological Abstracts . Arlington: American Psychological Association. V. 27- (1953-). Monthly. INDEX BF1.P65 A comprehensive compilation of non-evaluative summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related disciplines. Each monthly issue contains abstracts listed under 16 broad subjects. It is imperative to use. The Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms , (call no. INDEX BF1 .P65) to find the terminology that is used in the subject index section of the Psychological Abstracts . Please consult the Library Use Guide for Psychological Abstracts if help is needed.

Books

TIP: Link to the Guide Find Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request  materials that are not available at Auraria Library.

 

eBooks

Complete Home Medical Guide From Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

emedicine Online Textbooks Eventually eight medical textbooks in the following areas will be available free of charge through emedicine: dermatology, emergency medicine, medicine and surgery, neurology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology and facial plastics, pediatrics, and plastic surgery

Encyclopedia Disease Reference at NLM

FreeBooks4Doctors

Medical Reference for Non-Medical Librarians

Merck Manual of Medical Information  | Merck Manual of Geriatrics

University of Iowa Family Practice Handbook

Virtual Hospital Home Page

Yale University School of Medicine Heart Book

Internet Resources

AIDS/HIV | Alternative Medicine | Animal Testing |    Bioethics | Cancer/Oncology | CPR | Disabilities | Emerging Diseases | General Medical & Health Sites | Guides and Textbooks  | Heart/Cardiology | History of Medicine | Nutrition | Sexually Transmitted Diseases | Sports Medicine

Guidelines for Medical and Health Information Sites on the Internet from the American Medical Association [.pdf]

AIDS/HIV -- AIDS Knowledge Base | amfAR HIV/AIDS Treatment Directory Offers authoritative drug-related resources for people who are HIV-positive and their physicians.| Global HIV/AIDS & STD Surveillance | HIV/AIDS Epidemic

Alternative Medicine -- Alternative Medicine |    | Alternative and Complementary Therapies | HealthWorld Online Contains information on conventional western medicine and alternative therapies.| Herbal Index Guides to the uses of more than 100 different plants used by herbalists. | HerbMed "An interactive, electronic herbal database" that provides scientific and general information on the biochemical action of herbs.

Animal Testing -- All for Animals | Animal Welfare Information Center | The Body Shop | Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing | Johns Hopkins Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing | People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) | Scientists Center for Animal Welfare

BioEthics -- AMA Code of Medical Ethics | Annenberg/ACPB Medical Ethics Site   | Center for Bioethics and Human Dignity | Hastings Center for Bioethics Kennedy Institute of Ethics/Georgetown | National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature at Georgetown.

Cancer/Oncology -- Cancer Disease Information at NLM Medlineplus | Cancer Genome Anatomy Project | Cancer Rates and Risks | Cancer Statistics Review | ClinicalTrials.gov | M.D. Anderson Oncolog | National Cancer Institute | OncoLink From the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Center for Drug Evaluation and Research; offers information related to cancer and approved cancer drug therapies.

CPR -- Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation | Learn CPR [Quicktime] This site offers a basic guide to Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR). 

Disabilities -- Index of Specific Disabilities At Yahoo

Emerging Diseases -- BSE Inquiry Home Page BSE (bovine spongiform encephalopathy), more commonly known as "mad cow disease," has been linked to at least 30 human deaths from CJD | Centers for Disease Control (CDC) | Monkey Pox | National Institutes of Health | National Center for Infectious Diseases | Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases | SARS | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services | West Nile Virus | World Health Organization

General Medical & Health Sites -- Achoo! Internet Health Care Directory EurekAlert! Medical and Science News | HealthLink Plus   A comprehensive consumer health web site | HealthSeek HealthScout   Short, easy-to-understand articles on a variety of medical and health topics in the news | HealthWeb Medical dictionaries, directories and statistics! |   Martindale's Virtual Medical Center | Mayo Clinic.com MedWeb: Biomedical Internet Resources | Reuters Health Information

History of Medicine -- Asclepion devoted to the study of ancient medicine | History of Biomedicine | History of Medicine Resources At National Library of Medicine

Nutrition -- American Dietetic Association Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2000_, 5th Edition [.pdf] You will need Acrobat | International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database Links users to citations to scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamin, mineral, herbal, and botanical supplements | The New 4 Food Groups

Sexually Transmitted Diseases -- Guidelines for the Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Disease | Sexually Transmitted Disease Page at Yahoo | Sexually Transmitted Diseases Statistics  | Sexually Transmitted Diseases At MEDLINEPlus.

Sports Medicine -- American Journal of Sports Medicine | Physician and Sports Medicine | SportsMedicine.com | Sports Medicine at About.com | Sports Medicine at Yahoo

 
end of page