This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on nursing
available in Auraria Library and on the Internet.
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
Looking through the Library's collection of nursing materials may
help you decide on a topic. Information about nursing can be found
in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government
documents, media and book collections. Books shelved on the second
floor can be checked out. Within each collection area, library
materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number
refers to a subject. Most of the library materials in the areas
of nursing, and other related areas are assigned the call numbers
as listed:
- R Medicine (General)
- R 131-684 History of medicine
- R 735-847 Medical education
- RA Public aspects of education
- RA 5-418 Medicine and state
- RA 421-790 Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine
- RB Pathology
- RC Internal medicine. Practice of medicine
- RD Surgery
- RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
- RT Nursing
- RZ Other Systems of medicine
Please also note that most of the library materials are located
and arranged first by type of materials, and then by call numbers.
For instance, many of the nursing journals will be shelved in the
periodicals collection area in the RT section while books are found
in the RT section on the second floor.
TIP- For a more specific approach, use the Library
of Congress Subject Headings, or ask reference librarians for
more information.
Reference Works
Once you have decided on your topic, you may want to find an overview
or a definition of your topic. A good place to start is with subject
encyclopedias or dictionaries. These resources are helpful
to you in understanding the usage of medical terms and concepts,
because they were written by experts in the medical, nursing
and allied health fields.
The following are some of the encyclopedias and dictionaries in
the reference
section of Auraria Library:
Access
Science (McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)
-- The online equivalent of the 9th edition of the print set, this
database contains full access to 7100-plus articles, 115,000 dictionary
terms, hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and
technology, and 2000 biographies of leading scientists.
Black's Medical Dictionary.
REF R121.B59
Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing.
REF RT21 .C487
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. Annual.
REF RC71.A14
Dictionary of Medical Syndromes.
REF RC69.M33
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research.
REF RT81.5 .P69
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
-- This online encyclopedia is a growing database of articles about
topics in the biological sciences such as biochemistry, ecology,
cell biology, plant sciences, microbiology, etc. This site has been
created for scientists, students, librarians, and other professionals
who wish to search and use the Embryonic Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
(ELS) material prior to official publication of the work in 2001.
Gray's Anatomy
Human Anatomy Online
International
Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences -- This online
version of the 24-volume printed encyclopedia contains nearly 4,000
signed articles by social science scholars from many disciplines.
Fully searchable, with integrated internal linking. Printed encyclopedia
was originally published in 2001; online version to be updated annually.
Medical
Dictionary at National Library of Medicine
Medical
Encyclopedia at National Library of Medicine
Merck
Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary.
2nd floor R121 .M89 2002
New Complete Medical and Health Encyclopedia. Four volumes.
REF RC81.N515
Nurses' Complete Medical Dictionary/Baillière's Nurses' Dictionary. REF RT21 .N8
Drug Reference Sources
DrugDigest
-- Reviews of over 1,500 drugs, vitamins, herbs, and articles about
common medical conditions.
Drugs and Medicine
-- Comprehensive information about more than 1,000 prescription
medications, including side effects and possible food and drug interactions.
RxList -- Internet Drug Index
U.S. Pharmacopeia
back to top
Books
Auraria Library Online Catalog
-- Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to locate specific books,
periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers), dissertations which
Auraria Library owns in its collection.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular item.
WorldCat -- This database contains records of nearly every library
in the United States, and many foreign libraries.
NetLibrary This is a database of online, full text books.
Other eBooks.
TIP - The methods listed will help you to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
- You may use ILL
(Interlibrary Loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector.
- You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own.
back to top
Find Articles
The most current information, as well as historical information,
can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles, which
tend to deal with more specific topics than books. Use the databases
listed below to locate full
text and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles in the field of nursing.
TIP The Find
Articles Guide provides information about locating journals
and magazines.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The Reference Desk can often help you
locate other suitable information on your topic if the Library does
not own the material you need. The librarian at the Reference Desk
can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic
if the Library does not own the material you need.
Recommended Starting Points
Databases
-- Go to this page for databases related to nursing, medicine, health
administration and management. Many of these databases contain full
text, scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals. Some excellent places to start are:
Medical and Nursing Collection Full Text (Ovid)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) (Ebsco)
Alt HealthWatch (Ebsco)
Medline
TIP: For indexes that do not contain full text of an
article remember to check Skyline,
Auraria Library's online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodicals
you are looking for!
back to top
Internet Resources
CPR | Diseases
| Drugs and Pharmacology | General Nursing Sites
| Medical Links at Auraria Library | Hematology
and Laboratory Medicine |
Guidelines
for Medical and Health Information Sites on the Internet from
the American Medical Association
CPR -- Learn
CPR [Quicktime] This site offers a basic guide to Cardiopulmonary
Resuscitation (CPR).
Diseases -- Classification
of Diseases | healthFinder
healthfinder® is a free guide to reliable consumer health and human
services information, developed by the U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services | MedicineNet
Disease information, ask-an expert, and medical reference materials.
General Nursing Sites -- AllNurses.com
| CINAHL: Links to Nursing and
Allied Health | HealthWeb Clinical
Nursing Links | NursingNet
| Virtual Nurse |
Health Sciences Library
Database Research at the Auraria Library
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main
level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference
Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications
office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster
by the Government Publications Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level,
Most Recent Issues in Current Periodicals
|